Fixture 2025 AFL Fixture

I wouldn't be surprised if the gambling loving AFL were using bookies odds along with the ladder.

The 6 favourites with the bookies are Brisbane, Pies, Carlton, Hawthorn, Giants, Geelong. We only have one double up amongst them (against the team I think is most likely to not be a top 6 side). Overall it is 4 home games (including all of the top 4 favourites) and 3 away games against this group of 6.

Sydney, Freo, Dogs and Port are in the next bracket with the bookies. This is where most of our double ups are and it seems fair enough.

Saints and WC are bottom 6 (bookies) double ups.

All I see is a fixture where we should be 16-7 (or thereabouts) and finish top 4. No excuses. It looks like a good fixture to me.
Agree. No way Collingwood will be a top 6 side and there's a high risk of Sydney not being one.

On other aspects, no trips to the NT or Tassie and only one to Qld, where we were always headed at least once having avoided it this year. The problem children are the away games against GWS and Footscray - we never beat those sides at those venues.

They aren't top 4 though. Brisbane finished 1st and we play them once at home. GWS were out in straight sets so they are 5th.

Other top 8
Hawks - Once at home
Dogs - Twice.
Carlton - Once at home.

We got it pretty good. I recon Adelaide, Gold Coast and maybe even North could jump up and we seem to avoided those teams twice as our weaker match up. Although I would happily swap out Saints for North.
I was talking about the ladder, not including finals.

We literally have one of the hardest draws. North might rise ever so slightly, but lets not pretend we "avoided" them.

It's a good fixture travel wise and prime time wise, but it's also a hard fixture.

Agree. No way Collingwood will be a top 6 side and there's a high risk of Sydney not being one.

On other aspects, no trips to the NT or Tassie and only one to Qld, where we were always headed at least once having avoided it this year. The problem children are the away games against GWS and Footscray - we never beat those sides at those venues.
We beat them both away in 2022 so I don't think it's a hoodoo yet.

I was talking about the ladder, not including finals.

We literally have one of the hardest draws. North might rise ever so slightly, but lets not pretend we "avoided" them.

It's a good fixture travel wise and prime time wise, but it's also a hard fixture.
I know you were but the ladder isn't the correct metric to use, it's not a micky mouse award. Like the draft, you use the final finishing position of teams from the previous season to determine where they finished & how fair it is.

Would be pretty happy to play Melbourne twice. Like I've said for the last 3 years, they're average

Yeah it's a shame we didn't get them twice. We're 4/5 over the last couple of years from memory, with a couple of great MCG wins.

At least we've avoided TIO/Trager park though. Great chance to go for the hattrick at the G.

Would love to see more games at MCG but i understand the AFL is after making money not a FAIR Fixutre.

The number one criterium for AFL is TV Rights and Crowd attendence is second.
LAst on their list is FAIRNESS

So big name clubs who get highest viewing will get 2 games per year.
Two state teams will get 2 games per year.

As insterstate clubs usually get lower crowds and TV viewers they will normally play esch other twice more often.

So definitely not fair. but we highly unlikely to ever get a 36 week season for 18 clubs and 40 week season for 20 clubs one day.

The suggested top 6 mid 6 and bottom 6 system of 2 matches would make it fairer but then loses the TV rights issues and Crowd attendance.

Im sure even the palyers would not be happy if a fairer fixture meant less money to go around therefore less money in their Salary.

Oh surprise carlscum getting the AFLs easiest draw again*
coupled with playing the bottom 3 sides all in the first 6 and on top of absolutely will be getting the AFLs umpiring no1 silver service position again.

How many years that now in a row where the AvFL has anointed those flogs the “fairytale” team of the season again?

* and no surprise their favourite child the swannies also getting looked after - after another diabolical GF effort , can’t have those NSW theatre going supporters Losing interest in that “Victorian” game!’

With that said yeah pretty stoked with the draw tbh .
Think those complaining about our draw are missing the point .
The number 1 thing the club has campaigned for is reduced travel and this has to be our least travelled fixture for as long as i can remember !

We’ve actually been listened too!(somewhat)

Looking at the positives IMO:

1. We play well in Geelong. Plus Geelong is coming off a bruising first round encounter away against Brisbane where all of their late pre-season prep will go. Ripe for the picking.
(Brissie week before)
2. Sydney coming off a bruising first round encounter away against Brisbane will then have to back up that loss against us at home. After the embarrassment of another GF smashing, they will as usualy take weeks to get their mental state back in it. Ripe for the picking.
(Brissie week before)
3. WC - haha Bolton and who ever doesn't have McGovern to have a field day. That fruit is already rotting. Also coming off a Brissie loss.
(Brissie week before)
4. Bullies - always strong against us but having just come off a bye against the witches hats and at home, whereas Bullies have just had to play against Carlton and the 4 umps which is always infuriating. Good chance.
(Carlton week before)
5. Richnond - don't like to beat up kids but here we are (also coming off a Brissie loss)
(Brissie week before)
6. Melbourne are our btches now and they know it
(Essendon week before)
7. Adelaide at home. The W should be pencilled in. They are also coming off a GWS loss
(GWS week before)
8. Saints in Melb - it's these kinds of games we drop when looking elsewhere. But our big Friday night game and they are coming off a Brissie loss so it's ours to lose.
(Brissie week before)
9. Pies at home - when you get to their age, any kind of flying is hard on the sciatica. Not sure they will even send everyone over, especially after getting beaten up by the cats the week before
(Geelong week before)
10. GWS - normally a L but given we have a 9 day break and they have Geelong to get past, our best chance of beating them at that stadium which is a long way from their bay-side houses
(Geelong week before)
11. Port at home. Another Cats victim from the week before. Ripe for picking.
(Geelong week before)
12. GC you would hope after a 11-0 start we can do this one too.
(Saints week before)
13. bye - can't lose
14. haha North (off WC in Bunbury). Thank goodness not a hard game off a bye which we typcially lose.
(WC in Bunbury week before)
15. Essendon on a Thursday after they lost to Geelong
(Geelong week before)
16. Saints at home after beaten by collingwood
(Pies week before)
17. Sydney - probably our first loss. away, them coming off Bullies at SCG
(Bullies week before)
18. Hawthorn at home (them coming off Saints) Hawks will be us in '23 after a strong '22 once people had put effort into them. Win
(Saints week before)
19. collingwood (MCG) - finals practice on the ground. Showing the old boys they're old and we're not doing ties anymore (GC week before)
20. giggle WC who are already booking holidays and a replacement for McQuarterpounder after McGovern ate him
(Richmond week before)
21. Carlton and the umps at home - always hard playing 26 but they are coming off Hawthorn so could even be somewhat fair?
(Hawks week before)
22. Port in Adelaide - will be see Port Jekyll or Port Hyde next year. Who's to say. But, they also are coming off Geelong the week before
(Geelong week before)
23. Brisbane at home. We beat them last year in this game and they are coming off the GF rematch the week before and will still have their heads in that game I'm sure.
(Sydney week before)
24. Bullies at Marvel which will depend on whether or not they are heading for finals.
(WC week before)

therefore, take home messages:
1. probably only lose R10, 17, and 22 for a 20-3

But more interestingly:
2. 5 teams play Brissie the week before they play us
3. 5 teams play Geelong the week before they play us
4. 5 teams play another '24 top 8 the week before they play us
5. in the first 11 rounds, only Melbourne comes off a bottom 10 team and they r our btches anyway
6. of the other 8 games, it includes, Melb (our btches), GC (A), North (H), Saints (H), Hawks (H), Pies (A), WC (H), and Bullies (A)

I like those apples

Honestly? **** em, the fixture double ups are hard sure, but you can tell the boys deep down have the hunger and drive to get the job done, I have this serious gut feeling that next year is the year that it all clicks, I may be wrong, and I'm happy to admit I'm wrong if it doesn't go well, but next year just feels different.

They can put their ducks in a row all they like, we're gonna knock each and every ****in one of them down, they haven't seen what we're made of yet, what we've shown is only a ****in glimpse.

Flagmantle is on the ****in table again baby.

Fixture 2025 AFL Fixture