Fixture 2025 AFL Fixture

I honestly don’t get the love for the “less travel” of this fixture, it’s still 10 interstate games, that’s exactly the same as we traveled pre gather round, sure moving from back from 11 the last two years makes it feel better but it’s the same as 3 years ago.
5 vic games (2x G, 2x docklands, 1 geebung)
2 SA games
2 NSW games
1 QLD (GC is literally the longest trip there is)
Sure it’s nice to avoid Tas, I didn’t mind the NT game, was shorter trip than Melbourne.
We still spend double or triple the time in the air as most vic teams. they screwed us on the 2 double ups from each group of 6 you are supposed to get if you finish middle of the table.

I agree with the “anyone, anywhere” mantra and think we should make the 8, hoping for top 4, but this isn’t a nice fixture. It just feels better than the last two years.

Is this being facetious ?

A little but let's look at it as there's truth to the work Garlic put in and the result we've ended up with

We still have 1 x 5 day break (WCE has 0)
We have the 5th hardest draw (afl article today)
A number of Sunday evening timeslot and Thursday evening which isn't ideal for our country supporters

Sure no tassie, but neither does WCE

Sure no Darwin, but neither does WCE

Sure another home game, but so does WCE. And the AFL didn't make this happen - Norf, WA tourism did all the work

So what did the AFL actually do in response to all this lobbying?

Not to mention the double ups we have been given, we miss the 8 but get this?

Did Garlic complain too much? AFL putting him back in his box because in my mind, we've been given breadcrumbs

I honestly don’t get the love for the “less travel” of this fixture, it’s still 10 interstate games, that’s exactly the same as we traveled pre gather round, sure moving from back from 11 the last two years makes it feel better but it’s the same as 3 years ago.
5 vic games (2x G, 2x docklands, 1 geebung)
2 SA games
2 NSW games
1 QLD (GC is literally the longest trip there is)
Sure it’s nice to avoid Tas, I didn’t mind the NT game, was shorter trip than Melbourne.
We still spend double or triple the time in the air as most vic teams. they screwed us on the 2 double ups from each group of 6 you are supposed to get if you finish middle of the table.

I agree with the “anyone, anywhere” mantra and think we should make the 8, hoping for top 4, but this isn’t a nice fixture. It just feels better than the last two years.

Have we ever had a fixture that has the team at home for the blocks of time that this one does? That is the huge win from this fixture IMO, they are basically at home for an entire month in the middle of the season.

Oh surprise carlscum getting the AFLs easiest draw again*
coupled with playing the bottom 3 sides all in the first 6 and on top of absolutely will be getting the AFLs umpiring no1 silver service position again.

How many years that now in a row where the AvFL has anointed those flogs the “fairytale” team of the season again?

* and no surprise their favourite child the swannies also getting looked after - after another diabolical GF effort , can’t have those NSW theatre going supporters Losing interest in that “Victorian” game!’

With that said yeah pretty stoked with the draw tbh .
Think those complaining about our draw are missing the point .
The number 1 thing the club has campaigned for is reduced travel and this has to be our least travelled fixture for as long as i can remember !

We’ve actually been listened too!(somewhat)

The bottom 3 often come out of the gates quickly.

You are a lot better to get them in the last 6 weeks.

I don’t understand their rating of 13 th easiest draw. It’s the best draw for us I can recall.
We should legitimately be reckoning on top four finish.

Fremantle: Collingwood, Port Adelaide, St Kilda, Sydney Swans, West Coast Eagles, Western Bulldogs (2x top 6, 3x middle 6, 1x bottom 6)

1 bottom 6 double up is probably the big difference. Playing North, Richmond, GC at home would make a big difference.

I can see St Kilda dropping off, but Collingwood, Western Bulldogs, Sydney and Port are all pushing to play finals. No easy games.

A start of Geelong Away, Sydney Home, Eagles Home, Western Buldogs home is a tough start. You really want to get one of the first 2, can't afford to drop both of them.

The last 4 games will be tough. Carlton, Port, Brisbane, Western Buldogs. Ideally we need to well ahead of the ledger by that time of year.

Having said all that, I expect top 4

We're always a lock for the unenviable kilometres travelled + flight hours top 4 and we'll have always have a higher portion of interstate fixtures than Victorian teams. It's just a reality of being in a competition where 10 sides are all located in a city that's 3500kms away.

The only thing that would significantly reduce the travel load would be blocking our away games even more. Spend a couple of 2-3 week stretches in Melbourne, 2 weeks in Sydney or Adelaide etc. Similar to the East/West coast road trips NBA sides go on, but over a longer period given we obviously can't play a game every 2 days.

There are financial and player welfare considerations to balance but at least giving the club flexibility to more frequently do what we did with gather round last year would be nice.

FREMANTLE​

Thursday night: 2 games
Friday night: 2 games
Timing: 7 day, 1 twilight, 6 night
Marquee match-ups: Shai Bolton v Richmond (R5), Friday night Len Hall tribute match v Adelaide (R7), Western home derby v West Coast (R20).
Plays twice: Coll, PA, STK, Syd, WC, WB
Scheduled byes: OR, R13
What’s hot: Fremantle will play three consecutive prime time weeknight games for the first time in club history between rounds 7-9, lining up against Adelaide in the club’s Len Hall tribute match, Collingwood at home on Thursday night and St Kilda, led by former Dockers boss Ross Lyon, on Friday night.
What’s not: Fremantle fans are still recovering from the Dockers losing their last four games to fall out of the top eight this year. It won’t get any easier next year with a final month featuring Carlton, Port Adelaide, Brisbane and the Western Bulldogs.
Fixture difficulty rating: 6/10
What we say: This is a draw that can put Fremantle in the top four conversation. The Dockers tackle three 2024 finalists twice (Port Adelaide, Sydney, Western Bulldogs). Fremantle has also been blessed with two blocks of three consecutive games at Optus Stadium (R2-4 and R14-16) and one block of back-to-back games (R20-21), the AFL responding to the club’s desire for fixture equality. Games against Geelong and Sydney in Fremantle’s first fortnight is a tough start and could put pressure on out-of-contract coach Justin Longmuir.

Difficulty:
Adelaide - 4/10
Brisbane - 9/10
Carlton - 4/10
Collingwood - 8/10
Essendon - 7/10
Freo - 6/10
Geelong - 5/10
Gold Coast - 6/10
GWS - 7/10
Hawthorn - 8/10
Melbourne - 2/10
North - 7/10
Port - 9/10
Richmond - 1/10
Saints - 7/10
Sydney - 7/10
WC - 6/10
Bulldogs - 5/10

It’s very similar to last year, 4/6 double ups are the same teams. The ones that changed look harder (Pies, Saints vs Tigs, Demons) but I don’t think those changes are terrible.

Also we play Carl, Lions, GWS, Crows all at the exact same venues as last year.

Positives are we play bogey teams Hawks and Ess at home which is a huge win for us. And a good batch of away games vs GC, North, Rich, Demons, Saints where we should aim to win at least 4 of those.

Home games look tough though so if we can’t turn Optus into a fortress then it will be difficult.

Considering all that it’s not a terrible draw and the expectation should be better than last year.

Positives are we play bogey teams Hawks and Ess at home which is a huge win for us. And a good batch of away games vs GC, North, Rich, Demons, Saints where we should aim to win at least 4 of those.

Don't underestimate GC at home. They will be tough to beat there.

The other 4 should be wins. 90% each game.

At first glance I was frustrated at having what seemed liked a far more difficult draw than we deserve for finishing 10th. The more I look at it I see we get good commercial exposure which is great for the finances, and although it's no doubt a tough draw I like that we play majority of the 50/50 games or games against teams I would consider better than us at HOME which I see giving us the advantage to overachieve. I'm glad we don't "waste" a home game against a team like Richmond who I think we should comfortably beat anywhere anytime. I'd rather play the Lions, Hawks, Blues, Crows and Bombers at home without the return fixture. These are the teams we are competing with for top 4/8.

As part of the new broadcast deal, the Saturday games in the first 8 rounds will be delayed on Free-to-Air.
R1 vs Geelong @ GMHBA
R6 vs Melbourne @ MCG

Damn.

I know some people are doom and gloom, but no Tassie, no NT, fixture structured in such a way they don't need to fly for up up to 4 weeks, the extra home game because of North Melbourne, notable sides are not double ups.

Got to say this isn't that bad a fixture, plus a smattering of Thursday and Friday night games for TV viewership.

Here's to trying to be negative and finding it increasingly hard to do so with the evidence in front of me! :beercheers:

Three straight weeks of primetime games is huge for us, I think the game with Adelaide would be a Fox Footy broadcast though because Collingwood vs Essendon will be earlier in the day.

pdf version of the fixture suggests it’s a 7 game

2x Thursday and 2x Friday night games in the first 16 rounds is unheard of for us, that 3 week stretch will be massive! Need to go at least 2/3 there.

Also anyone else heard that Collingwood are contracted to play at least 5 away games at the MCG per year? Something about a deal with the AFL and the Vic government and money for the MCG redevelopment.

Fixture 2025 AFL Fixture