2025 Attendances

1733915604933.png

Gather Round tickets snapped up in record time

The AFL is pleased to announce that more than 195,000 Gather Round…Festival of Footy tickets have sold… with five of the nine games sold out, 20,000 more than this time last year.

Member on sale on Tuesday saw a significant uplift in demand for tickets this year, selling more than 100,000 tickets in the first four hours, in comparison to the same amount in 24 hours last year.

This year there are an extra 47,000 tickets on offer for fans with the two Saturday matches being ticketed separately.

Tickets still remain for Collingwood vs Sydney Swans on Friday night, Carlton vs West Coast on Saturday afternoon, Melbourne vs Essendon on Saturday night and a very limited number of restricted view tickets and tickets for the Pepsi Collective for Port Adelaide vs Hawthorn on Sunday evening.

AFL CEO Andrew Dillon said it was clear Gather Round momentum was not slowly down.

“The demand for tickets this year was significantly higher than the first two Gather Rounds, with more than 195,000 tickets being purchased in the first two days,” said Mr Dillon.

“A ticket to the matches at the Barossa Park was always going to be one of the hottest tickets in town and the fans have certainly illustrated that by selling out both matches so quickly.”

South Australian Premier Peter Malinauskas said: “Gather Round continues to exceed all expectations.

“We are honoured that so many footy fans from around the country are making the commitment to travel to our beautiful state to experience this event like no other.

“They’ll be truly welcome.

“If you haven’t got a ticket already – get in quick!”

Tickets for the remaining matches can be found here.

Interesting you say that, I have a few friends that immigrated from places like Ireland and India in the early 2000s, all hawks fans.

There was some research into the fact that supporter bases of clubs rarely change over time as the core is so strong and the compounding from family raising kids of the same creed keeps the big clubs always bigger and the small clubs always smaller. The hawks with their huge success over 40 years appear to have been the one that has bucked the trend though.
Look at the population population trend of Australia from 1980 to 2008 not a big jump I believe that's the core of our supporter bases then look at it from 2008 till now.😳

If the Bombers or Blues don't snag a premiership soon were gone the Tiges on the hand better thank Benny Gale because they would've been worse off.

Interesting you say that, I have a few friends that immigrated from places like Ireland and India in the early 2000s, all hawks fans.

There was some research into the fact that supporter bases of clubs rarely change over time as the core is so strong and the compounding from family raising kids of the same creed keeps the big clubs always bigger and the small clubs always smaller. The hawks with their huge success over 40 years appear to have been the one that has bucked the trend though.

It might be different in the city, but out in Country Vic there is the ‘big 4’ and daylight. It’s 99% passed down.

Look at the population population trend of Australia from 1980 to 2008 not a big jump I believe that's the core of our supporter bases then look at it from 2008 till now.😳

If the Bombers or Blues don't snag a premiership soon were gone the Tiges on the hand better thank Benny Gale because they would've been worse off.
I genuinely fear for the Bombers, starved of any success, not even finals win in over 20 years! A whole generation has skipped the bombers when deciding on a team to support. We are in real trouble.
I will even struggle to get my young kids (4 & 3 respectively) to like Essendon when they start following the games more I reckon.

I genuinely fear for the Bombers, starved of any success, not even finals win in over 20 years! A whole generation has skipped the bombers when deciding on a team to support. We are in real trouble.
I will even struggle to get my young kids (4 & 3 respectively) to like Essendon when they start following the games more I reckon.
That's on you Raz. That's where strong parenting comes to being. I was always told by my father if I wanted to change teams I would need to find somewhere else to live 😂

I believe the core supporter has not changed until now but some changes i've noticed apart from the Demons are I feel St Kilda have lost fans they used to be huge they pulled some monstor crowds in the early 90's and the Cats have a lot kids following them in Melboune.

Shame it didn’t crack 80k, great effort.
Thats just about the peak that any MCG game featuring the Dogs, North, Lions or Swans could get surely? I doubt there would be enough MCC or AFL members to fill the reserves. An outstanding crowd, similar to the North v Pies 125 year crowd in 1994.

Fun Fact: North Melbourne and Collingwood actually drew two 70,000-plus crowds in 1994 (72,934 and 72,216) making it probably the least expected highest draw (for a season) in history.

Thats just about the peak that any MCG game featuring the Dogs, North, Lions or Swans could get surely? I doubt there would be enough MCC or AFL members to fill the reserves.

An outstanding crowd, similar to the North v Pies 125 year crowd in 1994.

AFL Members was 95% sold. MCC was less full than the rest of the ground but not too bad.

No reason we can’t get 80k to one of these games at some point. Would require planets to align but exceptional crowds always need this.

Thats just about the peak that any MCG game featuring the Dogs, North, Lions or Swans could get surely? I doubt there would be enough MCC or AFL members to fill the reserves.

An outstanding crowd, similar to the North v Pies 125 year crowd in 1994.

Fun Fact: North Melbourne and Collingwood actually drew two 70,000-plus crowds in 1994 (72,934 and 72,216) making it probably the least expected highest draw (for a season) in history.
Another unexpected huge crowd was North v Blues in 1996 68,000 attended with MCG staff struggling to cope with the crowds. Anyway kudos to the Bulldogs and Pies for breaking their H/A record.

Thats just about the peak that any MCG game featuring the Dogs, North, Lions or Swans could get surely? I doubt there would be enough MCC or AFL members to fill the reserves. An outstanding crowd, similar to the North v Pies 125 year crowd in 1994.

I’d make my usual argument that if it was a Saturday or Sunday 1pm it could crack 80k.

Better to take kids to and bulldogs families could more easily get back him to the west during the day then late at night on a Friday.

Collingwood as the away team is genius but bullshit that they get another home game.

I’d make my usual argument that if it was a Saturday or Sunday 1pm it could crack 80k.

Better to take kids to and bulldogs families could more easily get back him to the west during the day then late at night on a Friday.

Collingwood as the away team is genius but bullshit that they get another home game.
Even if there is no real reason - rivalry or 1925 scheduling - for the Pies to actually be the club 😆

Another unexpected huge crowd was North v Blues in 1996 68,000 attended with MCG staff struggling to cope with the crowds. Anyway kudos to the Bulldogs and Pies for breaking their H/A record.
There are heaps of great North Melbourne crowds from the 90s.

Heaps of 55,000 plus crowds against Collingwood and Essendon too. Its really sad how far they’ve dipped - they should have been given an MCG Friday Night game for their 100 year game

Was at the game tonight. Reckon Pies had the crowd split 65/35. But I saw heaps of Dogs fans there tonight, similar to Saints against the Dons in 2023 for their anniversary clash. Good job to both supporter bases!

There are heaps of great North Melbourne crowds from the 90s.

Heaps of 55,000 plus crowds against Collingwood and Essendon too. Its really sad how far they’ve dipped - they should have been given an MCG Friday Night game for their 100 year game
Yeah come to think of it great crowds against the Tiges, Cats and Hawks too!

That crowd felt like a final. Atmosphere was rocking. Very Collingwood dominated in the AFL Reserve but a fair bit of blue in public seating.

Good on dogs cashing and taking a [emoji[emoji6]][emoji[emoji6]]K crowd to the bank but I can’t help think they were a - goal better side at Marvel.

2025 Attendances

Write your reply...