B-Broad, Balta, Vlastuin
HB-Short, Gibcus, Brown
C-Ralphsmith, Prestia, Banks
HF-Rioli, Bauer, Campbell
F-Mansell, Lynch, Lefau
R-Nankervis, Taranto, Ross
B-McAuliffe, Blight, Green, Trezise
Sub-Green

I’ve left out the draftees based on the fact that we obviously don’t know enough about them yet. A safe bet that Lalor and probably Smilie will be there, but you don’t know until you know.

I assume Lefau won’t be ready to go round 1, so that potentially opens the door for one of these young keys to debut.

Spots are wide open for some of these new Draftees if they have a good preseason. Our mid & KPF stocks are bare bones. Other than Taranto & Hopper in the center and Lynch at FF, every other spot in the front half is up for grabs if they're good enough.

Been thinking about how we may change things up given the way the draft played out and I'm of the opinion that we're going to see a big change in how we line up.

IMO we will see us structuring up with 3 KPP at each end, with 2 being bigger gorilla types and then a more mobile 3rd tall type. That would be the only way we can fit everyone in across both the AFL & VFL sides to get the development into the younger players.

I can also see a different mix through the midfield as we again look to put development ahead of short term results.

How is Short on everyone's half back, he was not good there last year. Played with no team ethos/discipline at all.
He had a down year but he's still the most experienced running half back on our team and our vice captain. Most mock 23s without him look too tall and slow.

I'd move him to the wing or bench rotating through wing/mid even half forward. His work off half back last year did more harm than good, so why keep him there. I still think he's best 22, but use him where his assets, long kicking would do the most damage. We need another half back with speed, I want Mansell, but could be Trezise or Smith, who are both quicker.

2027, 28 and 29 three peat team

Smith Miller Bauer
Trainor Balta Clark
Banks Lalor Ralphsmith
Campbell Fawcett Ross
Rioli Faull Green
Sims Smile Hopper
Gibcus Brown Mcauliff Mansell

Trezise Armstrong Ryan Alger

Here is my 2025 Round 1 best 22.

Zero Hanger website has a cool template you can use!

I would much prefer to see Jayden Short play midfield in the 2`s for next season thank you.
He is a leader of the team and a multi premiership player and he spent the entire season chasing kicks and stat padding.
His tackling efforts were rare and nothing less than deplorable.

My 2027 onwards team (nobody 32yo+):

B. Tresize. Balta. Brown
HB: Short. Gibcus. Trainor
C: Campbell. Smillie. Banks
HF: Hotton. Armstrong. Clarke
F: Mansell. Faull. Lefau
R: Sims. Lalor. TT
I/C: McAuliffe. Hopper. MRJ. Ross

E: Ryan. Hugo. Kosi. Green

This doesn’t include the 2 x likely top-6 picks from 2025 draft. Doesn’t include developing youngsters like Smith, Alger, Fawcett, Gray, Blight, Sonsie or Bauer. Doesnt include regular senior players like Miller or Young. Doesn’t include Broad, Vlastuin or Nank who may well still be going. And doesn’t include any free agent acquisitions.

Our list is in very healthy shape from a positional and age profile standpoint.

2027, 28 and 29 three peat team

Smith Miller Bauer
Trainor Balta Clark
Banks Lalor Ralphsmith
Campbell Fawcett Ross
Rioli Faull Green
Sims Smile Hopper
Gibcus Brown Mcauliff Mansell

Trezise Armstrong Ryan Alger
Damn, Hotton and our draft crop next year must have been busts

Injury free Ross wins the b&f by round 7 .
What Are You Doing Reaction GIF

I'd move him to the wing or bench rotating through wing/mid even half forward. His work off half back last year did more harm than good, so why keep him there. I still think he's best 22, but use him where his assets, long kicking would do the most damage. We need another half back with speed, I want Mansell, but could be Trezise or Smith, who are both quicker.
In Shorts defence our forward line was completely rooted. Midfield half rooted. Backline was under the pump. We just need to compete better for the down the line kick. Witts vs Kosi, Ryan & Naismith in ground zero. The only game I saw. Rowell destroyed us around those packs.

How do we replace Rioli? 193 Brown back from injury? Gibcus & Broad often run 15kms a game. Banks can run well as can Hugo. Neither been sprinting as much as Rioli. Hugo played half back in 2021. Not that well, he got promoted in 2024 for great footy at half back in the VFL he then played well in the AFL. I reckon he gets the nod.

But there was no plan B until Brown, I think, started taking some kick ins late in the year.

Lost our whole half fwd line which was doing a lot of midfield rotation. I'd be giving MRJ that task, Taranto, Hopper and Prestia might have to rotate with Smilie, KMac2 there. Lalor when fit at half fwd.

Alger might be needed for the rotations.

We had 2 talls plus cooked Dusty up fwd. Last round we had Bauer, Kosi & Kmac off the bench. Our mids got it inside 50; 60 times, for 10 goals.

See what the new fwd line up is. Lynch, I'd love Bauer to stay in. He's good ~ when fit. Sims/ Kosi back up ruck? one of the new KPFs.

B-Broad, Balta, Vlastuin
HB-Short, Gibcus, Brown
C-Ralphsmith, Prestia, Banks
HF-Rioli, Bauer, Campbell
F-Mansell, Lynch, Lefau
R-Nankervis, Taranto, Ross
B-McAuliffe, Blight, Green, Trezise
Sub-Green

I’ve left out the draftees based on the fact that we obviously don’t know enough about them yet. A safe bet that Lalor and probably Smilie will be there, but you don’t know until you know.

I assume Lefau won’t be ready to go round 1, so that potentially opens the door for one of these young keys to debut.
it’s clear how stitched up we got last year with injuries. This team really isn’t that bad on paper.

we are going to be a problem in 2-3 years time!

it’s clear how stitched up we got last year with injuries. This team really isn’t that bad on paper.

we are going to be a problem in 2-3 years time!
Thats what I thought when making it. Took a minute to look at it and thought it really isn’t that bad. Just rare you can get your best 23 on the park all at once.

Still a few that could come in and play a role too, Miller, Sonsie, Kozi etc

One of Sonsie Campbell Green or MRJ need to start in the midfield to try to provide speed or at least lateral movement. Which means that Smillie is out at the moment I would guess.
Considering he's just been drafted that's a fair assumption.

I'm not expecting any of our draftees to be playing early in the season.

In Shorts defence our forward line was completely rooted. Midfield half rooted. Backline was under the pump. We just need to compete better for the down the line kick. Witts vs Kosi, Ryan & Naismith in ground zero. The only game I saw. Rowell destroyed us around those packs.

How do we replace Rioli? 193 Brown back from injury? Gibcus & Broad often run 15kms a game. Banks can run well as can Hugo. Neither been sprinting as much as Rioli. Hugo played half back in 2021. Not that well, he got promoted in 2024 for great footy at half back in the VFL he then played well in the AFL. I reckon he gets the nod.

But there was no plan B until Brown, I think, started taking some kick ins late in the year.

Lost our whole half fwd line which was doing a lot of midfield rotation. I'd be giving MRJ that task, Taranto, Hopper and Prestia might have to rotate with Smilie, KMac2 there. Lalor when fit at half fwd.

Alger might be needed for the rotations.

We had 2 talls plus cooked Dusty up fwd. Last round we had Bauer, Kosi & Kmac off the bench. Our mids got it inside 50; 60 times, for 10 goals.

See what the new fwd line up is. Lynch, I'd love Bauer to stay in. He's good ~ when fit. Sims/ Kosi back up ruck? one of the new KPFs.
As you say we had problems all over the park, so yes perhaps harsh on Short. But it didn't stop Rioli, Vlastuin or Broad from having very good years.

We will be better this year than last I predict. Besides the obvious injuries, we had players like Martin barely going. His defensive work was non-existent, Bolton not much better. Even Baker said he had slightly checked out. Then we played Pickett and MacIntosh forward as well, no wonder the ball rebounded so fast. Lefau was the only one with any presence, and he was in his first few games.

Brown is 190cm max, so capable of being much more mobile. He was a noted rebounder as a junior. Trezise has good defensive game and his offence is coming on well. Smith has great rebound and a good all round game, so he could take Rioli or Shorts place. Hugo could go back but we have finally found a real wingman so why move him. I want Mnasell there because his is seasoned enough, tough and time to give him more responsibility. He is a natural half back anyway.

Mansell was good as a half forward because he was the only one that applied defensive pressure. He kicked 20 goals which wasn't bad but a long way off the best small forwards in the comp. We will have a swag of options across half forward this year, Campbell, Green, MRJ, Clarke, and resting mids like Ross, Taranto, even Short himself. Lalor and Smillie, and maybe Alger.

With luck Lynch has a good year. Faull will be putting his hand up as a second forward. Bauer has serious talent and is due some luck. He towelled up Sisily last year. We could swing Blight down there if need be, he can mark a ball. Lefau is running already and seems ahead of schedule. Gray might surprise after his first ever proper preseason.

I think the energy level will be far greater this year than last. Sure Rioli and Bolton are great players, but on 2024, none of those that have left will be greatly missed other than Rioli.

AFL team
FB Vlastuin Balta Broad
HB Short Gibcus Brown
C HRS Prestia Ross
HF Lalor Bauer Rioli
FF Mansell Lynch LeFau
Foll Nank, Taranto, Smillie
Int Hopper, Campbell, McAuliffe, Trainor , Hotton

VFL team
FB Young Blight Miller
HB Trezise Koschitzke Smith
C Banks Dow McIntosh
HF Gray Fawcett Green
FF Alger Armstrong Faull
Fol Ryan, Sonsie, Clarke
Int Gray, OHB, Sims

Definitely short of outside run, but can't plug every hole in one draft.

Rd.1
FB Vlastuin Balta Broad
HB Mansell Miller Brown
C HRS Prestia Banks
HF Bauer (Fawcett or Faull) Campbell
FF Green Lynch Lalor
Foll Nank, Taranto, Ross

Int Hopper, McAuliffe, Short, Trezise, Sims

Not sure Lalor will have the tank to play half forward yet.
Fawcett or Faull or Grey or whomever has best preseason form - hope it is Faull
Short wing/half forward rotation.
Sims for ruck relief

6 knee reco's will all ready early to mid season so good to add some new talent as we go.

The below team is not what i think is best but what i think the club will do for Round 1, purely on the fact that there will be a lot of external noise regarding the draftees and the media spotlight, which we won't have much of in 2025 due to less primetime than what we have been exposed to recently. It is also our home game for Round 1 so they may want to expose some of the young guys to a home (majority) crowd.

B: Broad - Balta - Vlastuin
HB: Brown - Gibcus - Short
C: Ralphsmith - Hopper - Ross
HF: Rioli - Faull - Lalor
F: Mansell - Lynch - Armstrong
Foll: Nankervis - Taranto - Smilie

INT: Mcauliffe - Banks - Ryan - Campbell
SUB: Trainor

5 out of the 8 draftees featured in some capacity.

2025 Best 23