Position 2025 Fantasy Midfielders

I also think it'll be Green and Callaghans midfield, with Bedford and Kelly still getting a lot of CBAs, but I dunno what Callaghans ceiling is with Green being the #1 guy.

I'd have liked to see Callaghan vs better opponents. Pies midfield is pretty average.
A good game in a more prominent role without Green, vs a relatively weak midfield that was comprised of a small outside runner who cramped up after a half of footy, a 37 year old who can't keep up with the younger guys, and a guy who wasn't good enough to be a mid at GWS.
Was an ideal game for him.

I need to be able to justify why he is a better pick than Oliver, Day, Cerra, etc who are all at that same price point.
Also Cogs didn’t see a single CBA too

Love Callaghan, followed him closely for a couple years and thought he could become one of the best players in the comp. But, I'm worried his impact is much higher then his fantasy scoring will be. Can definately see him making a big jump this year with the higher cbas, just not sure if that's low 90s or high 90s yet.

He's the type who can be bog with an 80 though, similar to day. In that price bracket I think I have day>cerra>Callaghan but wouldn't talk you out of any.
Day is also the clear no 1 mid too

Agree with Finn, bloody good player but I reckon he’s a much better pick in SC where you don’t need to pig up to score high

I dont rate them tbh

Ill start NOD probably, but the rest feel pretty meh to me. Maybe that changes after round 1
That’s part my point though. Going these guys I’m now fading them all. Avoid the sheldrick situation and happy to see if any present as an option. Between Garcia, nod, Peatling, hollands someone will be an option if these 700k guys drop off (and already banked the cash)

Finn was great yesterday but 110 for 33 and 2 goals is not awe-inspiring in terms of fantasy scoring.

A performance like that should be at least 130+

He's a top liner but maybe he does not have that pig tendency.

Still think he can go about 95+

NOD vs Garcia.
ATM have NOD and Rankine f2.
But could have Garcia in mids and keep Rankine
Or have Garcia in fwds and another 800k mid option. Have added Day and FoC this week, so could get Cerra back.

Is anyone thinking Rankine a must start?

I have both and Rankine F2. I've only got one 1m prem in my team though.

I just worry about Rankine not getting those crucial midfield minutes some weeks

His floor is iffy too

100% agree, that is why I am keen to avoid Adelaide mids in general. That said, hard not to start him as if he does get ample time on the ball he will be an 85-100 guy.

IMO it's out of him and Moore for than F2 spot. Both have good ceilings but low floors. Ain't that the story of the forward line.

NOD vs Garcia.
ATM have NOD and Rankine f2.
But could have Garcia in mids and keep Rankine
Or have Garcia in fwds and another 800k mid option. Have added Day and FoC this week, so could get Cerra back.

Is anyone thinking Rankine a must start?
Must? No. Compared to the mids, there are much better options in the midfield.

Would say Izzy is close to a must start in the forward line, but equally could see Baker scoring similar and a lot cheaper. Probably less of a floor than both Rankine and Moore, but less of a ceiling.

Baker won't be averaging 90-95 for us

I just worry about Rankine not getting those crucial midfield minutes some weeks

His floor is iffy too

Agree with this. He’s too potent up forward to spend large chunks in the midfield to be a reliable scorer IMO. Think he’ll be similar to last year with bursts and a lot of 70/80s mixed with the odd 100 with bursts through the middle.

Gets a lot of quick handballs or receives out of the stoppage but don’t think he’s enough of an accumulator to score consistently 90+.

Im looking at fitting all those you’ve said alongside him but probably means no perryman (I can fit him too but the rookies I think suffer too much)
"It was late at night on the open road, speeding like a man on the run, a lifetime spent preparing for Fantasy
and when the rain came down, he heard a wild dog howl, there were voices in the night {don't do it}
voices out of sight {don't do it} too many midfielders have failed before, whatever you do, don't play the Perryman,
don't even pick at that price, don't play the Perryman until he's out of sight"! :winkv1:

I recall last year there were a few podcasters who were using data of how much each team's midfield averages. For example, data points like the 3rd mid at Geelong averages 75. Anyone got that data for Geelong?

I'm trying to weigh up whether it's worthwhile starting Knevitt over Peatling.

I recall last year there were a few podcasters who were using data of how much each team's midfield averages. For example, data points like the 3rd mid at Geelong averages 75. Anyone got that data for Geelong?

I would. A lot cheaper and don't expect their scoring will be very different. Peatling probably just edges Knevitt in points, but the 200k cheaper price tag is a no brainer.

I'd have Hollands and Fletcher above Peatling.

Will Knevitt be the 3rd mid?

Bowes, Holmes, Stewart

DFS publishes 'market share' analysis here

When you combine that with DFS's CBA figures,

You can figure out that that Geelong's third highest CBA player was Brandan Parfitt earlier in the season and then Tom Atkins / Jack Bowes later in the season.

Looking at those players in the market share stat when those players were in the CBAs:
  • Bowes was roughly 5%
  • Parfitt roughly 5%;
  • Atkins roughly 4%

So i'd say a fair guess is around 4-5%

DFS publishes 'market share' analysis here

When you combine that with DFS's CBA figures,

You can figure out that that Geelong's third highest CBA player was Brandan Parfitt earlier in the season and then Tom Atkins / Jack Bowes later in the season.

Looking at those players in the market share stat when those players were in the CBAs:
  • Bowes was roughly 5%
  • Parfitt roughly 5%;
  • Atkins roughly 4%

So i'd say a fair guess is around 4-5%
Cheers mate, that's the data I was looking for!
Will Knevitt be the 3rd mid?

Bowes, Holmes, Stewart
Sorry, wasn't suggesting Knevitt would be the third mid, was just an example of the type of data I was chasing.

Position 2025 Fantasy Midfielders

Write your reply...