- Oct 19, 2012
- AFL Club
- Port Adelaide
- Other Teams
- Liverpool FC, AEK FC
gotta compete with NRL man, can't let them be in the spotlight.Surely we aren’t seeing opening round again after the crap that was
Why can't we just start the full season earlier? I don't get it.gotta compete with NRL man, can't let them be in the spotlight.
hopefully its an absolute brutal draw and we mimic 2022's 0-5 start.Who really cares about the draw while Donuts is still here.
The real stuff starts in September and we all know how that ends.
Rinse and repeat.
Who knows man, agreements in place with MCG? **** knows, the AFL just seem to make shit up as they go. Shit organisation.Why can't we just start the full season earlier? I don't get it.
I want Kane Cornes bashed.hopefully its an absolute brutal draw and we mimic 2022's 0-5 start.
i want boos and I want tears
ANZAC Day in 2025 is a Friday, so either Port or Freo with their Len Hall game will get the home Friday night game after Collingwood and Essendon, and the team that doesn't get Friday night, will get Saturday night.
As discussed in this TV deal thread, we will get 3 Saturday arvo games that are exclusive on Fox Footy in the first 8 rounds.
Opinion - Are you really ready for the 2025-2031 TV Broadcast deal conditions?
Its dawned on me the last few weeks, that footy fans in WA and SA, but also in NSW and Qld who don't have Fox Footy via Foxtel or Kayo, only watch the footy on 7, are in for a bit of a shock at the start of next season. Kane moving to 7 for 2025 today reminded me of this. The first 8 rounds of...www.bigfooty.com
Too many $$$ involved to shorten the season. Never going to happen.Just shorten the season and take away the double up games. Solves so many problems.
Less is more.
In the short term yeah. Long term, I'm of the opposite view. I think a shorter season has the potential to increase the value of the product.Too many $$$ involved to shorten the season. Never going to happen.
Why can't we just start the full season earlier? I don't get it.
The NFL have that set up.In the short term yeah. Long term, I'm of the opposite view. I think a shorter season has the potential to increase the value of the product.
AFL decided late last year, after the success of Gather Round in a heartland football state, they have to do something to help out the northern states, especially with so little NRL to compete with because they played in Vegas.Why can't we just start the full season earlier? I don't get it.
They will probably make it 28 games as they will allow for double up games for the local derbies in WA, SA, NSW and Qld, so they can then set in stone double up games involving the 10 Vic teams.Once Tassie comes in completely do away with the pre season games and have a 27 game season. Play every team once and half the teams twice. The teams that you don't play twice in one year you play twice the next and so on.
I did think that too, but thought for the sake of integrity that playing every team 3 times over a 2 year period would be enough even for rivals.They will probably make it 28 games as they will allow for double up games for the local derbies in WA, SA, NSW and Qld, so they can then set in stone double up games involving the 10 Vic teams.
There is too much money at stake not to play 2 derbies per season in WA and SA and starting to get that way in NSW. Plus it allows for 2 double up games of Coll v Ess, Rich v Carl and Haw v Geelong which are big drawing crowd games and $$$ generation. The 4 smaller Vic clubs have to just wear playing each other twice, for no big $$$ gain.
If it was possible to play every side and home and away each season that would be the fairest way of doing things, they could easily start the season earlier and have bigger lists to rotate players more but I doubt we would get all parties to agree to that. I think February and October provide enough holes in the Australian sporting calendar to make it happen if people wanted it.
Have a 20 round H&A season. Everyone plays everyone once plus one extra derby/showdown. Next season just reverse the fixture. If they want more games, bring the stupid final knockouts (or whatever 9-10 is called). It's too fair, would never happen.They will probably make it 28 games as they will allow for double up games for the local derbies in WA, SA, NSW and Qld, so they can then set in stone double up games involving the 10 Vic teams.
There is too much money at stake not to play 2 derbies per season in WA and SA and starting to get that way in NSW. Plus it allows for 2 double up games of Coll v Ess, Rich v Carl and Haw v Geelong which are big drawing crowd games and $$$ generation. The 4 smaller Vic clubs have to just wear playing each other twice, for no big $$$ gain.