Training 2025 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc

Here I am thinking that Walsh is a defensive minded midfielder first and foremost. I sometimes lament that he expends so much energy getting back, that he has no power left when going forward. One of us needs to watch more closely. Which one though?

Hopefully the answer is Walsh watching his opponent more closely than the footy.

The prosecution rests.

Queensland - The Pissing Down Rain state

This summer has been an absolute shocker. It's usually pretty bad December/January, but this year October/November wasn't very good either. Still can't believe they moved the Gabba Cricket Test to December. Lunancy.

Two hour session. Wet weather drills not easy to watch among the gloom. Lights were on throughout.
Newy back with the mids today. Young was involved in some ruck drills, but called up from the backs to do so, rather than staying with the mids. Doc with mids. Like earlier reports can confirm HOK is now a very big unit, probably has Pitto covered for size now

SSP wise Durdin and Carroll were there and heavily involved, pretty sure White was wearing 44, 47, I assume was McMahon finishing the session with the forwards kicking at goal, leaving 48 as D G-B or Phillips. Not much to report performance wise. Not an easy session to shine in.

Would like to report more, but “analysis” not easy with multiple groups doing drills mixed with some solid running when whistled up. Very wet so some mixed handling skills on display. The majority of the group was very committed and competitive regardless. A couple were a bit more “cruisey” than most, but not deserving of singling out.

Have some photos to upload from “the big camera” when back home, but did have an interaction (very polite) with media manager concerned that I was “media”. Mentioned might upload a couple to Big Footy and was suggested if I did, “they were from yesterday” as it is a closed session. She was very pleasant to talk to, so certainly not put out. Apparently Richmond have a session there this arvo.

Two hour session. Wet weather drills not easy to watch among the gloom. Lights were on throughout.
Newy back with the mids today. Young was involved in some ruck drills, but called up from the backs to do so, rather than staying with the mids. Doc with mids. Like earlier reports can confirm HOK is now a very big unit, probably has Pitto covered for size now

SSP wise Durdin and Carroll were there and heavily involved, pretty sure White was wearing 44, 47, I assume was McMahon finishing the session with the forwards kicking at goal, leaving 48 as D G-B or Phillips. Not much to report performance wise. Not an easy session to shine in.

Would like to report more, but “analysis” not easy with multiple groups doing drills mixed with some solid running when whistled up. Very wet so some mixed handling skills on display. The majority of the group was very committed and competitive regardless. A couple were a bit more “cruisey” than most, but not deserving of singling out.

Have some photos to upload from “the big camera” when back home, but did have an interaction (very polite) with media manager concerned that I was “media”. Mentioned might upload a couple to Big Footy and was suggested if I did, “they were from yesterday” as it is a closed session. She was very pleasant to talk to, so certainly not put out. Apparently Richmond have a session there this arvo.
Thanks for the report and going down. Promising that HOK is putting on size so easily. Most rucks at his age are still pretty skinny. DGB has been wearing 48 so probably him.

I'd like posters who want teenagers to be given a run "to blood them" - also post who they would drop/replace to make room - every time they post the old 'play the kids' line. I think that is only fair and woudl improve discussion quality imo.

Slotting out a list of kids says nothing about who they are replacing and why.

Intriguing actually

Some have added 1 or 2 kids to their best 23 (which i admire, despite disagreeing) , while others haven't, yet questioning whether Voss will trust the kids.

If it's more about rotations, managing workloads, fair enough, but with continuity being one of the most Important factors, it's a tad confusing

Just a couple of random observations for the content starved masses. I don’t get interaction with the group, so as I said “random” 16-18 of the boys didn’t come over “our side” so a few are missing from “assessment”.

The sometimes “fat farm” boys Motlop, Williams and McGovern look in excellent shape, even Gov who is reported to be on “light duties”, signs of recent “cupping” on his shoulders. Motlop and Williams look EXTREMELY fit, genuinely expect big years.

Wry smile and affirmation from Zac when I suggested the Maroochydore ground may not be his favourite venue.

Asked Durds about his shoulder and assured me it was finally right.

HOF stands out a bit, being so lean and rangy, but clearly in decent shape. Reckon will end up in the 2 metre range and will take some filling out.

I reckon Weiters has trimmed down and like others are reporting, Walshy does seem among the more heavily set in the group ATM.

Cowan looking strong and fit. Shared a chuckle when I stated I had a Tassie T-Shirt in my bag, if he wanted to sign it. (I actually did).

Kempy and Ashton caught the eye along with Lord, young Coop seemed chuffed when I pointed out (for my wife’s benefit) “here is the young bloke getting all the rave reviews, keep it up mate”. He was genuinely grateful and humble at the unexpected “notoriety”.

The last casual observation is draftee Lucas Camporeale, wasn’t sure which Campo we had until he signed LC21. Thought Ben was the more robust, but Lucas looks physically game ready, much more than I expected.

Hopefully more relevant game/performance related stuff after tomorrow’s session. Hope the weather holds, think it will be a big one.

Very, very happy about Motlop and Williams... fingers crossed!

Cow's a beast, reckon he'll become a (close to) star this year...

Jack Ison (42) looks a good prospect. I didn't see much of McMahon (47), though.
And, I didn't notice Phillips (49, I think?) at all except for him standing on the sidelines.

Why do we have so many players in their 40s?

I'm as bullish on Cow as almost any other player. Personally I guess I'm in a bit of a win win situation as in a few years time you'd think he'll either still be a Blue or a Tassie Devil...

Step back , pause have a think for a sec - Walsh has been recoverng from a broken back. He has gone from elite running capcity back to only abo average with restricted mobilty below his knees.

That type of injury is not easilly fixed iand certainluy nto in quick time - he is doing well to be playing as well as he did. Adding strength will only help him but it has to be balanced against his ability to do what he does best and that is run. cerra is just as mcuh a fingers crossed situation - veery few players can get over repeat hamstring issues of the severity he has gone through. In both cases these blokes are going to have modify quite a bit of what comes naturall to them if they want to have a long and productive career.
His running ability is def back to his best

The thing that's impressed me is the increased power and tempo in his running. He's now able to spread from the contest to follow up for multiple possessions in a chain of play. It takes the emphasis away from him being purely an inside mid to potentially being able to take on a more balanced role like Walsh and Cerra. We're still early in the preseason so there's a lot of water to go under the bridge, but I like what I'm seeing.
Hi-res frame-by-frame photos or it didn't happen! :p

CARLTON has extended the trials of all four train-on players – Denver Grainger-Barras, Liam McMahon, Sam Durdin and Matt Carroll – into 2025, while injured Werribee captain Dom Brew will be provided more time to audition for a contract at the Western Bulldogs.

Delisted Hawk Grainger-Barras and former Collingwood listed forward McMahon have travelled with Michael Voss' squad to train on the Sunshine Coast this week, along with Durdin and Carroll, who were both cut by the Blues at the end of last season.

Hopefully the answer is Walsh watching his opponent more closely than the footy.

The prosecution rests.

Ladies and gentlemen of the jury ... I submit that the prosecution have not proven their case by providing one single example of an error in judgement from the accused, but in fact, have proven the defence case by showing that the accused was indeed in the defensive part of the ground at the time the error was made. This does not display the characteristics of a one way runner.

In the spirit of the production of singular examples to make one's case, the defence would like to enter into evidence the following:

As the prosecution has prematurely rested your honour, I request a dismissal of all charges, restitution granted, and the prosecution to be summarily flogged.

The defence sits back in quiet condescension and a smattering of mirth.

Training 2025 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc