Training 2025 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc

It's been very noticable this pre season and again yesterday. Smith Binns L.Campo Wilson O'Keefe Lord are standing out and pushing for spots and I think it is pushing a few senior players to step up

The most impressive for me so far is Williams. Looks a new player around HF and is very fit. He is like an extra mid, can find the goals and plays like a smaller CHF. Very good overhead and just finds space. Hope he can stay fit as he really makes us more dangerous
Think some of our supporters are going to be amazed what Zac brings. If he stays fit, big chance for AA. Things are aligning.

My biggest questions are over how Kemp, Moir and maybe Lemmey fit in. Is Lem as impressive in match sim as in reports and a few snippets Soapy V ? Saw him do a rotation of ruck work at Maroochydore. Having him and HOK developing as forward/ruck and ruck/forward respectively is a great list management outcome.

I hope so, not as sold on Kemp up forward as others are just yet.
Love Kempy, but also not convinced as a full time forward. Wanting him rebounding or defensive wing ultimately with the scope to impact forward or more defensively when needed. Wish he was as smart as he is talented…

I do wonder how we'll go about replacing Charlie and H up forward though. We have nobody on our list capable of producing the stuff they do.
We have time. Won’t be like for like with two “generational types”.

Moir, Kemp, Lemmey and to a lesser extent O’Keeffe offer pieces of an effective structure who can potentially co-exist with H and Charlie while developing. With those pieces in place, unless Durds and/or Motlop step up dramatically, surely adding some smaller firepower comes first. Gun small/mediums only need serviceable keys potentially.

Lucas Koutoufides kicking some goals at a lower level, maybe he steps up, who knows. What is Arli Walker’s position?

It's been very noticable this pre season and again yesterday. Smith Binns L.Campo Wilson O'Keefe Lord are standing out and pushing for spots and I think it is pushing a few senior players to step up

The most impressive for me so far is Williams. Looks a new player around HF and is very fit. He is like an extra mid, can find the goals and plays like a smaller CHF. Very good overhead and just finds space. Hope he can stay fit as he really makes us more dangerous
This is good to hear, we need forwards and Williams is a high quality general footballer with good skills and IQ. It's what we need. Smaller players who are strong overhead is where we have been let down as well. Last season he seemed to dwell in the forward pocket, but it's good to see he's playing half forward because to me he just looks like one. Half forwards who can rest in the forward pocket and keep impacting is so valuable to rotations.

They won't even be thinking of Smith playing VFL. Let's stay grounded, we are a team that was incredibly lucky to play finals and got the mother of all beltings when we did. There are holes and Smith is the exact player we need for many of them. He is top shelf.
I agree but we were also second in the ladder for the most part of the year and then injuries became an issue

He definitely helps our midfield. Our midfield could see rapid improvement with a healthy Walsh + cez plus jagga coming in

Think some of our supporters are going to be amazed what Zac brings. If he stays fit, big chance for AA. Things are aligning.

My biggest questions are over how Kemp, Moir and maybe Lemmey fit in. Is Lem as impressive in match sim as in reports and a few snippets Soapy V ? Saw him do a rotation of ruck work at Maroochydore. Having him and HOK developing as forward/ruck and ruck/forward respectively is a great list management outcome.

Lemmey has improved. Looks more mature. Definitely having a crack and is more physical. Is it enough? Not sure yet but on right path. I don't think he is close to best 30 yet

HOK is impressive. Raw agression and skill. He and Pittonet have had some good battles with honours very even IMO

As for Kemp Moir etc I suppose it's about how we structure. Having McKay Curnow Kemp Moir w Elijah is quite tall. Going to be some good players miss out Round One

They won't even be thinking of Smith playing VFL. Let's stay grounded, we are a team that was incredibly lucky to play finals and got the mother of all beltings when we did. There are holes and Smith is the exact player we need for many of them. He is top shelf.

There are some rare players that just have it and aren't intimdated or hesitate. Walsh was one, Smith looks another. I knew he would be good but watching him live has really excited me and he is better than I thought. He is something very special and will step straight in and be influential

You could bring him in on a forward flank, back flank, wing or in the middle and he will add to the team.

We need run, talent and top footy IQ. You really don't do VFL with players like him. It will be fun watching him improve.

We know we're decent but not good enough and becoming good enough means new guys need to come in and lift us another level.

Smith is one and I suspect players like Moir and Lord will be other's and hopefully there are more to add to that.

You could bring him in on a forward flank, back flank, wing or in the middle and he will add to the team.

We need run, talent and top footy IQ. You really don't do VFL with players like him. It will be fun watching him improve.

We know we're decent but not good enough and becoming good enough means new guys need to come in and lift us another level.

Smith is one and I suspect players like Moir and Lord will be other's and hopefully there are more to add to that.
He is like Walshy. Start him where you like, he will hunt the pill and get to the right places. Not the best to allocate them an accountable or overly structured role.

2-3 weeks rest then returned to the main group
Not ideal but better now than during the finals

Scared the living daylights out of me when I saw he was injured. Then was overwhelmed with relief when they said it was only a hamstring strain. Was petrified it was going to be his back again

It probably isn’t for this thread, but backs and hamstrings are often related injuries. We’ve had a few players over the years whose careers have gone down the gurgler because of back related hamstring injuries. Fraser Brown is the one who most readily comes to mind.

Fraser brown hasn’t played for 25 years….

I will take your point as being that sports science has improved substantially in that time. And to the extent we don’t hear about back related hamstring issues anymore, your point is well made. But I am very cautious when I hear a player with a known back injury has hamstring troubles.

Brownies mate Phillips had to retire early because of his back, as he had curvature of the spine and looked like he was going to be a beauty until his persistant injuries did him in, so backs and hammies do tend to go together.......Did Brownie finish up early with back problems, as I don`t remember that. It seems to me that he was one of our last players that had that mongrel dog aggro in him, as he never gave up.......just ask that * prick who tried to run around him in the last few minutes of the 1999 prelim final,:eek: Opps!!!......was it Walsh? (Crippa never gives up also, but not so much aggro with him....)

Phillips looked an absolute ripper before injury got to him. We didn’t have much luck with our rovers. Mark Naley going home early (again, with back related hamstring injuries), Phillips (early retirement), and then Whitehead with his foot. All very good players with careers which were too short.

Very sad with Naley as far as him passing away so early, but the club has a lot to answer for with Whitehead as they apparently played him while his foot was still dodgy!!! He took the club to court over that as he knew that they were in the wrong there. I think it was the 95 flag that he played in, but not much after that. Boy oh boy was he fast, but unfortunately not manage correctly..........:(

Lemmey has improved. Looks more mature. Definitely having a crack and is more physical. Is it enough? Not sure yet but on right path. I don't think he is close to best 30 yet

HOK is impressive. Raw agression and skill. He and Pittonet have had some good battles with honours very even IMO

As for Kemp Moir etc I suppose it's about how we structure. Having McKay Curnow Kemp Moir w Elijah is quite tall. Going to be some good players miss out Round One

If you use McKay as the example he played 13 games and kicked 20 goals in the year he turned 21. Lemmey is that age now.

Their situation is completely different though. HM didn't have any incumbent keeping him out of the team whereas Lemmey does.

So 13 games would only happen if there are injuries but he should definitely take a big step forward this year if he's going to make it. Certainly should be tearing up VFL opponents.

Having said that Casboult didn't really make an impact until he was 23. Everyone is different.

Training 2025 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc