Training 2025 Pre-season

That's what he said and I presume meant. Sub 3 minutes per km I presume, which is super elite.Have my doubts now.

I must have been half asleep when I wrote this.

Sent from my Pixel 8 Pro using Tapatalk
Here it is.

Sent from my Pixel 8 Pro using Tapatalk

At about the 17 second point in that vid there is a lovely piece of evasive play from Cleary.

He's a guy I'm 'high' on because he can do those things.
Generally his hands are excellent, his decision making is very good and his movement in traffic and ability to create time and space is top notch.
Also notable in that clip (yep all 37 seconds of it) is he doesn't over commit.

I know there has been a bit of talk that he could play a fair bit fwd.
Obviously, particularly with Mills coming back, there is potentially a midfield logjam.
But I really hope he gets his chance in the midfield rotation.
It's where I think he will shine.
And he is still one of the youngest on our list (youngest of all those who have debuted).

I love your post and the sentiment but it is worth noting that Caiden's first handpass is intercepted (just after the lovely bit of evasion) and the second one (near the end) is kind of a 'hospital pass' to Rowy who is not free and is wrapped up immediately. So not evidence of good ball use but there may not have been better options because all the players come very quickly under pressure in that exercise, which is practising operating 'in the phone booth'.

Each to their own I guess.

Nothing but a dog-shot for mine.

You've really gone all-in on JMac hey?

First you have a rant about some perceived tidal-wave of sentiment underrating the guy, incredulous that people could hold views that don't align with yours, offering your own assessments of other players as concrete evidence of the status you give him, romanticising memories of his first years at the club, and extolling a selflessness that is seemingly contradicted by a recognised 1% count that puts him right down the bottom and barely clinging onto a spot in the 22.

Now you find humour in a juvenile act with potentially harmful consequences. You even acknowledge the "seemingly unwarranted" and "unnecessary" elements. A hip and shoulder hey? On an unsuspecting support player with his back turned? Pretty sure that draws a heated reaction from an opposition, being branded a cat, and draws a sanction for rough conduct, [» Any contact that occurs when the Victim Player should not reasonably be expecting or is not reasonably prepared for contact (i.e. contact off the ball)]... in the modern game with player safely at a premium. At training, on a team-mate? Yeah... nah.

It wasn't a ball-up at all, Cox hands the ball to the white team for their possession. The reactive groans, from other players that see it happen, a clear indication that it isn't normal.

Yet somehow, in your quest to have your man recognised as better than all but that "consensus" Top 6/7 mentioned in your Gameplan thread rant, you present this as evidence of JMac being some Zen-like Beast figure. Geez, if only we played a team of 2nd year rookies in finals series hey?

You think he'd bung that rubbish on with a Heeney or Hayward or any similarly ranked players? I'm picturing little Tom Papley sorting him out real quick. I also note how he cushions Rowbottom in a tackle. I don't recall ever seeing a "now-mature" player showing a young bloke the ropes like that. Showing him what... how to be a knob?

30 years on, I still feel the effects of a faux tough guy prop forward thinking it would be funny to send me (75kg wringing wet) flying in the same manner. Caiden handled it a lot better than I did... probably confused more than anything else by the randomness of it in a professional environment, but also, reluctant to make waves with a senior... we'll hope it isn't repeated lest it fit the very definition of bullying.

JMac found some consistency this year no doubt, and was inarguably a worthy winner of the Most Improved. Marginally improved numbers across most categories, highlighted by a very eye-catching and flashy 11th competition-wide for GAs, but still rates average or worse for the majority, as a midfielder.

I saw a lot of him out at Blacktown in his first year at the club. Enough, that this latest act of "bravery" comes as no surprise.
Coming from the Richmond Board to see how Sydney's preason is coming along. I don't have the history of the person commenting on McInerney. And from the incident last year McInerney clearly has some growing up to do, but your post seems a little over the top. For context walsh did this to jagga smith (who is a 1st year and not a 2nd year player). Jagga's reaction after picking himself off the floor was 'I'll get you next time'. He wasn't trying to hurt Caiden it was a tiny bump, he was just trying to confuse him and get a edge in the next play. Which cleary you can see McInerney in the next passage doing well in the keepy off. I think it was a soft lesson in being alert before a bounce. Pretty harmless stuff. I don't mean to cause you offence. I just wanted to point out for those of us watching a lot of other teams pre-season footage, there are other teams doing similar to youngster who they think can handle it.

Your 2nd post and you come here having a crack lol , you do have you're own board to start on

Why do you always have to be so gnarly...he's actually made a good point that I at least agree with and am happy he posted that. You're always acting like the guy who's first instinct is to say...he's not a local so his opinion doesn't matter and he should go back to where he came from..that's so close minded...maybe it's best to comment on what's actually said instead of always just telling people they don't have a right to post

Where did i say he couldn't post , i found it strange that his 2nd ever post was on here . Nice to hear your feedback.

What can I say I like sydney. IMO they are favourites to win the grand final and minor premiership. Having watched the majority of the other teams workouts and match sims, the back to back 2km trial and the split ski/bike session was impressive. That is one of the biggest cardio sessions I've seen from any team. The small sided drills were also similarly good intesity much the same as carlton who are going hard. Stkilda have been the most old school they are playing full sided games rather than a lot of drills. They might roll into the season with less technacaility but most battle hardend. I don't know I'm probably speaking out of my backside but I'm just enjoying seeing each teams board and comments about preseason. I'll scurry back to the tiger lair.

All good just don't understand

Two very good posts imo. You're welcome any time

I swung past training today. Despite the weather (windy, rainy) there were a few observers standing around, lurking under the trees next to Tramway Oval.

I don't have a lot to report. I wasn't there all that long. The parts I saw kept alternating between full-pitch match sim, running exercises, handball games (as seen in the Inside Sydney Episode 2) and some drills with kicking etc. They kept alternating between the footy/matchplay and the other fitness stuff, as opposed to doing all the running and drills and then turning to match sim etc. It looked like a fun mix for the players, albeit challenging.

Different players were on the sidelines for different amounts i.e. some players were running most of the time while the bulk were doing drills and match sim. Others were mostly with the main group but sometimes on the sidelines with the others on modified programs, and others were just with the main group the whole time. There are a few players that I don't remember seeing at all - but that doesn't mean they weren't there - I didn't do a head count except in my mind after I had left. Logan, Paton and Mitchell were some I don't recall seeing. Dattoli was on the sidelines not participating at all when I saw him. Hamling, Hanily, Campbell were among those mostly on the sidelines.

Wicks again appeared to be training with the backs. I wouldn't swear to it but in a brief glimpse it looked like to me that McCartin was playing as a forward. Snell was playing with the backs (not midfield). Also, looking at the Inside Sydney video I don't think he has the tank to play midfield even if he has put on the size to contest the ball.

Edwards told me he isn't yet doing full training but his body is all good and recovered from the broken fibula he copped in the last round last year. He looks massive. I don't think he'd be that easy to shift.

Buller seemed to be training normally which is good to see. Hope he gets a clear run at it this season.

Pretty sure Matty Lloyd was training with the group (wearing #46) and so I think it's safe to say he's been re-signed to play VFL this year. He looked like he was tiring compared to the full-time professionals (fair enough). Chamberlain and Carmichael from the Academy were there, with Colin O'Riordan on the sidelines keeping an eye on them (until he got too cold and had to return inside away from the weather).

I had a quick chat to Blake Leidler. I welcomed him to the club and said we need a lockdown small defender and he said that's the plan. I said "bit of competition this season though" (I had Wicks, Paton and Bice in mind) and he agreed emphatically.

A couple of players had to come from the training to the sidelines to get treatment on this or that while I was watching including Cleary, Gulden and Fox. Fox finished his training a little early, probably a bit sore with something.

The first year players weren't shining but the second year players looked like they have come on well (Cleary, Snell, Green).
Are you sure you were talking about Snell? He's a key back, 196cm.

On Infinix X6525 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Problems if Lloyd is in the best players game day in 22

Think he will struggle this year under cox imo

That’s if he wants blokes that can actually defend one on one
Lloyd is a good defender on players his size. You underrate him all the time even when he won the Skilton. Bloody try giving the guy some credit. He has been a great player for us & now plays the role he was always meant to play, on the wing. His closing speed to spoil, saved us on more than one occasion over the years, even against far larger opposition. His ability to kick great long goals will come in handy this year. Rampe will struggle if he plays on talls, he did last year. So, he now plays the Lloyd role.

Harry has 1-2 years left. Lloyd & Rampe same. So, we need to have the players to replace them now, as though they are not playing.

I reckon of everyone who was a regular starter under Longmire, Warner will have the toughest time. Of course he will remain a regular starter, but I think he will struggle to bring enough contested ball winning to remain a regular mid (one quarter of output per game is not enough) and the defensive ask of him in the forward line will also lift. He got to be a special star under Longmire, he will be more cog under Cox.

And I reckon Rowbottom will be the player who flourishes the most. He will no longer need the pick up the slack of others (at least as much), and I actually really rate his decision making and ball use. By end of last season I felt very comfortable with him entering 50, and he knows how to score an important goal (a captain’s goal even, if you will - make it happen Coxy).

And Mills will dominate the competition next year (hopefully with Heeney also continuing in his way). Mills looks absolutely primed and hungrier than anyone (great time trials apparently). He will take off and not look back. Just don’t get injured, you bugger!
Mills will dominate as long as he is not played on a wing. I do not want to see him anywhere near this wing in 2025. It made my blood boil seeing him wasted our there & far too slow to keep up with opponents when he should have been playing on the likes of Cripps, Bont etc. if he had played the GF we would have at least had another big body to reign in the Lion's mids.

If Lloyd's playing the same role as last year, more of a third wingman alongside Gulden & McInerney, then defending one on one shouldn't really be what he is judged on, compared to, say, Roberts or Cunningham or Florent or Blakey, guys whose main role is actually to play in defence.
Agree. And I think Lloyd's spoils have been good.

If Lloyd's playing the same role as last year, more of a third wingman alongside Gulden & McInerney, then defending one on one shouldn't really be what he is judged on, compared to, say, Roberts or Cunningham or Florent or Blakey, guys whose main role is actually to play in defence.
Punts has always HATED Lloyd for some unknown reason. Maybe the bloke stole his chocolate milk or something

I'm an unabashed Chad fan and recognise the important traits that Rowbottom brings to the team, but I struggle with your interpretation RedBloodBlackSwan.

Firstly Rowbottom kicked 7 goals for the season,Warner 35.
Irrespective of Rowie's ability 'to score an important goal' I'm giving Warner the points in that duel.

There also seems to have developed a narrative that Warner couldn't win a contested ball if his life depended upon it, whereas Rowbottom is a contested ball king.
2024 Rowie averaged 10.2 Contested Possessions per game, Chad 8.5.
Hardly a chasm.

Rowbottom averaged 5 clearances per game, Warner 4.
Again not a huge difference.

Rowie certainly took the tackle count 7.8 per game compared to 3.2.

But Chad's ability to break from congestion and run and carry resulted in over 200 more metres gained per match (464 to 254).

Stick Chad up fwd and you lose that ball carrying ability to a significant degree.

TBH I'd prefer a starting midfield 3 of Heeney, Mills and Warner, rather than Rowbottom in there.
Mills can take the Rowbottom role, not sure anyone can take Chad's role. Rowbottom would obviously roll through the midfield during the game.
Also of course the midfield will include Grundy, our leading contested possession player for the season (12 per game) and 3rd for clearances (5 per game).

Chad offers a point of difference.

If people want to look at a comparison of Chad and Rowie for 2024 it's here;

Just lastly I seem to be going around in circles as Rowbottom becomes the chosen one, whereas Warner is now perceived by some as a freewheeling one qtr per game player.

TBH I'll leave the Rowbottom/Chad debate there and wait to see what happens in the season ahead, but just to put it on record (although people have probably figured it out ) I'm team Chad. :)
I actually think Ollie could take the Chad role. He did so in several games last season and starred

Don’t agree with the lift part , imo Lloyd in all his GF has done the disappearing act. Don’t rate the bloke one on one , went to absolute water last year once again defending

19 disposals, 2 tackles 6th
highest

18 & 1 Our 5th highest

Don't blame Lloyd.

How about blaming the players who really didn't turn up.

Rampe, McLean, Amartey, Hayward, JMac (10/0), Jordan, Heeney, Campbell, McCartin, Melican, Papley in 2024

Hickey, Mills, Rowbottom, Rampe, Heeney, Blakey, Gulden, Clarke, Hayward, Stephens, Florent, McCartin, JMac, Campbell & Franklin.

If you compare each year you will see a pattern of players who simply don't turn up. Rampe, Heeney, Hayward, McCartin, JMac, Campbell all figure in this.

JMac returned figures or 7 & 10 disposals. McCartin took 5 marks in 2 GF. McLean 11 disposals & 5 marks in two GF. Hayward 17 & 2 goals. Although in Hayward'sdefence, the ball did not get there often. The others though. A Winger who returned those figures in 2 GF, you would have to say he shit his pants

Chad most certainly is more talented.

By toughest time I mean relative to how they had it last year. It’s largely speculation on my part, but I don’t think Chad was held to account as much as he should have been. I think Cox will.

If he embraces the toughness I think he will be a better player for it.

Take on all your points and stats. My issue with Chad was that he would get most of his stats in short (absolutely dominating) periods of time. If he plays midfield, he needs to be more consistent so the team can rely on him.

To each their own though - appreciate you are on team Chad!
He has to stop running around like a headless Chook & getting himself hemmed in & then having to take the panic option. There are so many times he should have given the handball or disposed but decided to retain the ball and go on a windy road.

Training 2025 Pre-season