Player Watch #22: Josh Caddy - Retired

They want him to start on the wing and when we get our game going and start to break away, to then go forward and cause havoc and mis-matches

Where is he at...?

Was a late out with injury in the VFL last week but is back in the VFL this week. Surprised with the amount of injuries we have had that he didn't play more this year.

Last couple years has played a new Wing/HB role after playing as a Forward/Mid where he kicked 46.15 whilst averaging 17 disposals in 2018.

Will he get back into the team..?

**I am not Josh trying to get back into the team.**

Has had a falling out with Dimma for sure

All I will say is ... and not certain it's happened here .... but have a great mate, whose nephew played for the Cats and he told me early on that they were pretty glad to see the back of him.
Has a tendency to rub team-mates and coaches the wrong way and no one was mourning his departure from Kardinia Park, and believed it may have been a similar scenario at Gold Coast.
I've always thought he'd be a four-club player from his earliest days here. Doubt I'll be wrong.

Don’t know what is up with caddy. A grade player struggling to make the team.....can’t say enough that he is not a winger.....he is a forward pocket player.
Cmon Vassp he has never ever been an A grade player.

Have said it before he has to be the most disappointing player we have had.

We most definately went and got him to be a big inside mid for us, in that role he has been an almost total failure.
They have given him several roles now to justify his spot in the team. We play him on a wing he just doesnt have the attributes for the role and by playing him there we take potential games away from kids.

Will concede he had one good year for us playing as a forward 40 plus goals in a season in this day and age was a good return but even in that role the writing was on the wall.

He is 29 at the start of next year so he becomes a vet i really cannot see any club wanting him with his performances and deficiencies not unless he can suddenly become a dominant inside mid.

With a dearth of experienced players in the VFL we only have a couple of players older than 22 i reckon we could maybe do a Morris with him and keep him around the place as a mentor.

It's a shame but I don't see him getting back in the team either.
I still believe he was vital to the 2017 first premiership. The aggression he brought we didn't have at that time. I loved him for it in that GF.
Unfortunately it seems that is not just how he plays the game...it's him...and from what I've also heard about his background...it probably doesn't surprise me comments about him rubbing people up the wrong way.
I can't really comment on him talent wise....but it certainly seems like his time is past at the club...and his papers are stamped.
Will always remember him as a 2 premiership Tiger.

Cmon Vassp he has never ever been an A grade player.

Have said it before he has to be the most disappointing player we have had.

We most definately went and got him to be a big inside mid for us, in that role he has been an almost total failure.
They have given him several roles now to justify his spot in the team. We play him on a wing he just doesnt have the attributes for the role and by playing him there we take potential games away from kids.

Will concede he had one good year for us playing as a forward 40 plus goals in a season in this day and age was a good return but even in that role the writing was on the wall.

He is 29 at the start of next year so he becomes a vet i really cannot see any club wanting him with his performances and deficiencies not unless he can suddenly become a dominant inside mid.

With a dearth of experienced players in the VFL we only have a couple of players older than 22 i reckon we could maybe do a Morris with him and keep him around the place as a mentor.
He has been a grade bro, his early form 2017-2019 which you acknowledged. I do agree that he is looking slow out there and down on confidence. So are 80% of our established players. I believe that we are at that window where we got a good amount of draft picks that will fill our holes and hopefully give us a go at 2022.

Lets just say he put in some A grade periods. especially in 2015 as a mid where his contested ball, clearance and tackling rate was right up there at geelong. Also 2018 as a fwd with us where he kicked 46 goals at 2 a game.
To me for the rest of his career he has been mostly average and a big disappointment. Mainly because my expectations when he came to us and im sure they were the clubs expectations as well was he would provide us with what he gave Geelong in 2015 as an inside mid and he never got anywhere near it.

Like a lot of our players, they are not left where they play their best footy and they are been crucified and destroyed, towns was super in 17 when he went forward and after 5 games in 18, he was finished as he wasn't played forward again. Caddy the same moved from the forward line to wing-back boundary line Williamstown and Brunswick. totally destroyed his confidence even today got a lot of the ball but looked not interested did it walking pace.
Baker super in defence now I don't even know where he is been played sometimes mid sometimes forward. Ohh rioly HB now beautiful wonder what will be next. We need someone in the ruck lets play Pickett:)

Like a lot of our players, they are not left where they play their best footy and they are been crucified and destroyed, towns was super in 17 when he went forward and after 5 games in 18, he was finished as he wasn't played forward again. Caddy the same moved from the forward line to wing-back boundary line Williamstown and Brunswick. totally destroyed his confidence even today got a lot of the ball but looked not interested did it walking pace.
Baker super in defence now I don't even know where he is been played sometimes mid sometimes forward. Ohh rioly HB now beautiful wonder what will be next. We need someone in the ruck lets play Pickett:)
But don't dare suggest we are not getting everything right.

Just one thing im not a fan of Baker playing in defense. i thought he went real well as a forward early today but we seemed to move him away from that role as the game went on.

Will be disappointed to see him go. Was a massive get for us in the 2016 trade period and had a terrific 3 years.

I don’t think there’s much chance of him staying. Surely there’s teams that’ll give him more coin and more playing time. He’d be a great top up player for a side in the window

Funnily enough, in the last 3 years he's rarely been played in the position that suits him best: Medium sized forward and sometimes a kind of third tall. He may not be that quick, but he's tough, smart, has good hands and is deadly around goal. He's still got a bit left I reckon.

He’s drifted down there at times , he lost his marking ability , was > average overhead mark, now avg at best . Bloody nice kick though , that missile in 2019 QF v lions was underrated, launched from the arc , med trajectory whole way , 10 rows back

Bloody nice kick though , that missile in 2019 QF v lions was underrated, launched from the arc , med trajectory whole way , 10 rows back
That was an incredible kick. Aside from Dusty's master-class, that goal of Caddy's is my most remembered highlight of the game.

Player Watch #22: Josh Caddy - Retired