Traded #26 Sam Weideman - traded to Essendon. Adieu

He and Hogan still lack a bit of chemistry together.
Many times on the weekend they got in each other's way. To be expected and hopefully they work it out soon.
I really like the boy though, there's just something about him. His attack on the ball in the air is great for someone of his build

He and Hogan still lack a bit of chemistry together.
Many times on the weekend they got in each other's way. To be expected and hopefully they work it out soon.
I really like the boy though, there's just something about him. His attack on the ball in the air is great for someone of his build
Also prowls like a panther

So, I don't want to smash a 19yo KPF but there was one incident today in watching the replay that stood out to me as a sign he's a long way off AFL standard.

About midway through the second quarter, T Mac kicks a fiddly little up and under to the wing, to the advantage of ANB and Weideman, who are running forward of the play. T Mac's kick holds up a bit and Fyfe shows fierce desire to take a brilliant mark with the flight of the ball. Yes Fyfe is an absolute star, but Weideman just stood there and watched when it was the perfect opportunity to assert himself physically and emotionally into the game. He needed to beeline the ball (he would have legally cannoned into Fyfe) and either take the mark, or halve the contest so ANB could run onto it. Plus of course, the Freo captain would have been extremely sore afterwards.

What makes the incident so disappointing to me was the fact one of Weid's strengths as a junior was his fearlessness in flying for marks. He's obviously nowhere near confident enough in himself to do the same at AFL level. There's no shame in that, but he has to find a way to discover that at VFL level until he's ready to come back up.

Right now, he's not fit enough, not competitive enough, not confident enough and not impactful enough at AFL level.

The incident is at the 2:20 mark of the AFL highlights here - http://www.afl.com.au/match-centre/2017/4/melb-v-fre

I'll never forget Ben Holland giving him one of the great touch ups on QB 2007. Rocca finished with 2 disposals, 0 goals, 0 behinds, 6 frees against

Chopper Carroll says hi :)

Sam was taking the best defender today. A victim of poor team selection too - he simply shouldn't have been out there. Would've preferred Brayshaw and go with a small forward line, or kept Tim Smith.

So, I don't want to smash a 19yo KPF but there was one incident today in watching the replay that stood out to me as a sign he's a long way off AFL standard.

About midway through the second quarter, T Mac kicks a fiddly little up and under to the wing, to the advantage of ANB and Weideman, who are running forward of the play. T Mac's kick holds up a bit and Fyfe shows fierce desire to take a brilliant mark with the flight of the ball. Yes Fyfe is an absolute star, but Weideman just stood there and watched when it was the perfect opportunity to assert himself physically and emotionally into the game. He needed to beeline the ball (he would have legally cannoned into Fyfe) and either take the mark, or halve the contest so ANB could run onto it. Plus of course, the Freo captain would have been extremely sore afterwards.

What makes the incident so disappointing to me was the fact one of Weid's strengths as a junior was his fearlessness in flying for marks. He's obviously nowhere near confident enough in himself to do the same at AFL level. There's no shame in that, but he has to find a way to discover that at VFL level until he's ready to come back up.

Right now, he's not fit enough, not competitive enough, not confident enough and not impactful enough at AFL level.

The incident is at the 2:20 mark of the AFL highlights here - http://www.afl.com.au/match-centre/2017/4/melb-v-fre

Good spot mate. Pretty clear as you said he is nowhere near ready. He flew for the ball well in JLT and round 1, but his confidence is at rock bottom atm.

Tim O'Brien's game yesterday was a reminder to me for patience with Weid.

O'Brien has an extra 2 years on Weideman and yesterday was a bit of a breakout game for him. We've got plenty of time left for Sam.

Unfortunately we can't give Weid to the opposition so we can play him into form. Would be a pretty sound strategy for half our team otherwise.

But yes I agree, patience will pay off with him.

Don't care that he didn't kick a goal, hell I'd rather what he gave us than a 3 goal 0 tackle performance. I know the Weid providing he bulks up will be a very good FF but hopefully the penny has dropped in regards to his defensive work. He is still so raw but if he keeps up this defensive work literally all he needs to do is put on weight and he'll be the complete package as a FF.

His defensive pressure was brilliant. Tackled way stronger than I thought he was capable of. Really embarrassed Watts and Hogan with that side of his game
Agreed. Watts and Hogan have some tape to review... and some bags to smash at training.

Well thought circumstance the weid is gonna get a pretty good run at it from here along with Pedo.
Pretty rushed apprenticeship however he will get a good block of games to feel his way into AFL level
Should hopefully serve him well in the long run.

Well thought circumstance the weid is gonna get a pretty good run at it from here along with Pedo.
Pretty rushed apprenticeship however he will get a good block of games to feel his way into AFL level

Should be good for him to have a run at it knowing he'll have at least a solid month of AFL footy, so he's probably odds on to tear his hamstring off the bone during the first quarter this weekend.

We have so little depth haha I don't know what we would do. Would have to use Jayden Hunts middle finger as a FF

Is Jesse going to be sticking around the club over the next little while? Presumably he will. I wonder if they'll get him to mentor Weid

Family is in Melbourne to support him so I reckon he'll be at the club with some patches of leave.

Defensive efforts on the weekend can't be overstated. Fantastic signal of intent. Play it again, Sam :D
I like that his epic tackle keeps making the highlights on all of the 1000000 AFL think-piece shows too.

God it's nice to watch all of this crap without trepidation for a week. I'll enjoy Jordan's low-key professional bragging on 360 tonight.

Defensive efforts on the weekend can't be overstated. Fantastic signal of intent. Play it again, Sam :D
Damn, we should get on the Casablanca misquoting :D

Traded #26 Sam Weideman - traded to Essendon. Adieu