Delisted #29: Alwyn Davey- Not offered a contract for 2014

Of course.

Alwyn, at his best, is one of our most influential players. Perhaps the most.

It's just that apart from the NAB Cup this year, we've barely seen that since 2007.

I agree that he shouldn't have been the sub, too.

My qualm is that he needs a rocket up him; to be made to go back to Bendigo and consistently do those things that makes him - and us - so good.

Until then, if he's not doing it, he's little value to us. He's the ultimate confidence player.

And the fact that he hasn't played well - at AFL or VFL - all year since breaking his arm. Do we just ignore that because you get excited watching him play?

I have to be honest here and ask: were you excited watching any of our players last night? I wasn't. Many of them looked like spectators watching the Melbourne players.

Good Call :thumbsu: Spectating is the word I'd use too.

Had my fingers crossed for Stants all game, hoping he'd at least not f*#k up when he touched the ball

Needs to be brought back in with a simple instruction - tackle and pressure.

Don't worry about goals and disposals. Get 8 tackles and go from there.

Get the confidence back and everything else will fall into place.

Would be rapt if he got 8 tackles a game - That would give us 4 goals.

Alwyn sets the tone of a game, he pressures the opposistion, last night was made for him particularly the first quarter as melbourne were so slow out of defence. He fires up his teammates and the crowd get taken along with him because he is that buzzing type of player. I think he has been poorly treated, he came on v richmond late and was obviously so wound up made some critical errors. He`d be one of my first picked purely for the fact that the smallest bloke on the ground makes his teammates walk taller.

Would bring him in this week for exactly these reasons. We've looked flat as a tack the last couple weeks.

Needs to be brought back in with a simple instruction - tackle and pressure.

Don't worry about goals and disposals. Get 8 tackles and go from there.

Get the confidence back and everything else will fall into place.

If he can not do it in the VFL then what says he can do it at AFL level. He has to want to do it before he can actually do it and currently he is looking a bit gun shy !

**** ! I can`t win with you. He has been totally stuffed around, particularly with this sub thing, would you at least admit that just in the way he goes about it IE, the tackling, the pressure the chasing, the 1%`s that often go unnoticed, the things he does when the ball is not in his hands, makes Essendon a different proposistion.

And that would be ok if he was in form ! He is not ! He is not tearing up for Bendigo ! He is not making tackles or chasing blokes down ! He is not attacking the ball ! He has been fumbling and falling off tackles.
FFS what do we do reward previous form like the Dogs have done with Lake and get burnt ?

Since his debut season, his best form was this year prior to him breaking his arm again. Since then, he seems to have gone back into his shell again.

Change of coach, injury free preaseason, got through a few games at a decent standard, welcome back Alwyn.

Breaks arm, does recovery, makes comeback, where are you Alwyn?

Is there something going on between the ears? It seems every time he gets back to form he hurts himself again, and the poor bugger doesn't just get corkies. After the latest set back I think he is being more tentative.

If he can not do it in the VFL then what says he can do it at AFL level. He has to want to do it before he can actually do it and currently he is looking a bit gun shy !

Hey ant. I just wonder if his arm has healed properly. This guy broke his arm very badly just before Jimmy pulled his hammy, and ran down thte race screaming from the pain. Next year he does his knee, then this year he breaks his arm.

Somebody take him down to Lygon St and feed him some pasta, please.

And ust by the way, saw an article in the paper a couple of days ago that our tackle count has fallen off alarmingly - if Alwyn is not the answer, then we must find some guys who are devils at tackling.

Should not bring up anyone who's not in form, or at least putting in the right efforts.

Bringing guys up off zero form leads to Neagle/Laycocks - never had to work for a game early, then, surprisingly, didn't want to work to improve themselves when pushed by younger blokes.
Whatever reason someone finds themselves out of the side, they should have to do something to get back in.
Whenever that selection pressure drops away (typically injury, which then exposes the guys like Neagle/Nash) we lose streaks of matches.

Definition of insanity... doing the same thing expecting different results.

Should not bring up anyone who's not in form, or at least putting in the right efforts.

Bringing guys up off zero form leads to Neagle/Laycocks - never had to work for a game early, then, surprisingly, didn't want to work to improve themselves when pushed by younger blokes.
Whatever reason someone finds themselves out of the side, they should have to do something to get back in.
Whenever that selection pressure drops away (typically injury, which then exposes the guys like Neagle/Nash) we lose streaks of matches.

Definition of insanity... doing the same thing expecting different results.

Can't argue with this. Alwyn has to improve his work rate and that means chasing and tackling. Come to think of it, my mate saw him in the green vest before the Richmond game and was sure it wasn't Alwyn because the guy was too fat. So, maybe he needs to regain his physical form as well as his footy form.

Currently he isn't performing well enough to get back into the 22 BUT he is exactly the player we need. I say give him a shot. A lot of players don't play well at VFL then are fine coming up.

Of course he is what we need but it needs to be at his best and not some half arsed 50% Alwyn who has been having 1 or 2 tackles and not attacking the ball.

Re: 29. Alwyn Davey

Was better against the the Cats but I still dont think he knows what to do when he gets the footy, sometimes it feels that he is simply running around like a headless chook half the time.

Needs to become much more consistent and actually get a few more possessions like what Jetta has been able to do this year.

Our forward line looks so much more dangerous when they are both buzzing around at the big guys feet.

Re: 29. Alwyn Davey

Still not getting enough out of Davey each week.... needs to start asserting himself on the contest like Rioli and Milne are able to do... if Licha or Colyer were fit and firing i have a feeling he wouldnt be in the side right now.

Delisted #29: Alwyn Davey- Not offered a contract for 2014