Player Watch #29: Shai Bolton - Traded for picks 10,11&18

Look I have never heard of this Hardwick and I am sure he is a fine young player , but I think k he is going to be in big trouble on Sunday .

Hope the kid will be ok afterwards
I thought 21-year-old D-grader Finn Maginness did a pretty good tagging job on the Tigers superstar in just his 18th game

He kept Bolton to 13 possessions, 1 goal, 0 assists, 200 metres gained, 7 turnovers, 57 points

Bolton had 4 centre square clearances in the 3rd quarter with his "shadow" standing 25m away outside the centre square on the half back flank. There was nothing Maginness could do about those. That was on our coaches, I think. So in reality, Maginness kept Bolton to just 9 touches (and most of those were ineffective)

I've never rated Maginness at all. But maybe there is something there to for us to work with if he can quell the unstoppable Richmond jet.

I thought 21-year-old D-grader Finn Maginness did a pretty good tagging job on the Tigers superstar in just his 18th game

He kept Bolton to 13 possessions, 1 goal, 0 assists, 200 metres gained, 7 turnovers, 57 points

Bolton had 4 centre square clearances in the 3rd quarter with his "shadow" standing 25m away outside the centre square on the half back flank. There was nothing Maginness could do about those. That was on our coaches, I think. So in reality, Maginness kept Bolton to just 9 touches (and most of those were ineffective)

I've never rated Maginness at all. But maybe there is something there to for us to work with if he can quell the unstoppable Richmond jet.
We won by 10 goals while the hawks were obsessed with shai, opening up our forward line .

Shai is that good that the player playing on him enhances his reputation even though shai has the most tackles of anyone in the the team , and is second on the ground in centre clearances and he also kicked a goal .

But I guess if I was you I would be pretty pleased as well .

My personal opinion is that good teams never tag anymore for numerous reasons so the hawthorn player will have to learn to have some kind of offensive output to survive in the afl in a good team .

Shai took the day off, mate.

You know your team is absolute dog shit if you're on another teams board posting crap like this hahahaha sad state of affairs

Finn will be out of the league within 3 seasons while shai will be collecting his brownlow and 4th AA jacket

Shai took the day off, mate.
Gee, that would indicate a bad attitude

That's something Jake Stringer or Jordan De Goey would do

Part time stars who pick & choose when to go are a cancer

Let's hope Shai just had a bad day and that he's no figjam shirker

Jeepers

I actually responded to your post respectfully abd you come and post this garbage

Get lost

**** off idiot

01HaNM22QR975692121_best.JPG

Dusty didn’t get out of bed for non finals. Worked ok 😜

It's interesting how you've flagged the 4 clearances in the 3rd quarter, the premiership quarter where the game was done and dusted, Bolton, through his brilliance nailed it!! You're tagger was left wallowing in his wake, and I agree with you, I don't rate MacGuiness at all either

That would indicate you trolling.

Jeepers

I actually responded to your post respectfully abd you come and post this garbage

Get lost
F**kin hell... I thought your post from last week about "Good luck Hardwick with tagging Bolton" was from the All Australian thread on the main board. I used the search function for Hardwick for some reason and I saw your reply to that other Hawks fan & assumed it was main board discussion.

Had no idea I was on the Richmond board.

This is the last place I'd wanna stick my neck out and stir up a bunch of feral Tigers fans. It'd be like standing amongst the Richmond grog squad at the MCG and trying to start up a "Riewoldt is a w*nker" chant. :D

So I'll bugger off now and leave youse all to it... All you ladies & gents can settle down

Good luck in the finals. :thumbsu:

I rate him. Saw him play well in the school comp, was a standout amongst a lot of talent

Welcome to our excellent board brother Back One, and thank you for pouring some cold water on the Bolton train, which was approaching terminal velocity.

Maginness did create a serious headache for the Tigers by choosing to sacrifice his own devastating attacking game to try to stop the least accurate player on our list from getting shots at goal, which, when you think about it, doesn’t necessarily make all that much sense. But the problem it created for us was it then forced us to choose which of our other small forwards were going to take hapless Hawks defenders like Hardwick and Scrimshaw to the cleaners.

Maurice Jnr decided he would practice his parenting skills on Blair Hardwick or whatever his name is. So Maurice Jnr signs off on a lazy 2.1 and a goal assist amongst 9 score involvements.

And Sir Noah of Cumberland takes some sap like Scrimshaw to the house of pain to the tune of 2.3 and 3 goal assists amongst 9 score involvements of his own.

Which Findmyguinness or whatever his name is missed, because he was man watching, meaning he had no idea what was happening with the ball. Hopefully he has since been informed that it sailed through the Richmond goals 20 times. 😁

Welcome to our excellent board brother Back One, and thank you for pouring some cold water on the Bolton train, which was approaching terminal velocity.

Maginness did create a serious headache for the Tigers by choosing to sacrifice his own devastating attacking game to try to stop the least accurate player on our list from getting shots at goal, which, when you think about it, doesn’t necessarily make all that much sense. But the problem it created for us was it then forced us to choose which of our other small forwards were going to take hapless Hawks defenders like Hardwick and Scrimshaw to the cleaners.

Maurice Jnr decided he would practice his parenting skills on Blair Hardwick or whatever his name is. So Maurice Jnr signs of on a lazy 2.1 and a goal assist amongst 9 score involvements.

And Sir Noah of Cumberland takes some sap like Scrimshaw to the house of pain to the tune of 2.3 and 3 goal assists amongst 9 score involvements of his own.

Which Findmyguinness or whatever his name is missed, because he was man watching, meaning he had no idea what was happening with the ball. Hopefully he has since been informed that it sailed through the Richmond goals 20 times. 😁
Yeah, well, I have no comeback for that. I suppose you can all afford to be smug when you annihilate the team that's actually played above themselves to be 13th on the ladder, but now has 10 players on the injury list.

The bragging rights are all yours.

Yeah, well, I have no comeback for that. I suppose you can all afford to be smug when you annihilate the team that's actually played above themselves to be 13th on the ladder, but now has 10 players on the injury list.

Can Hawthorn succeed while ignoring the elite end of the draft? - Part 2​

Go and read this thread especially my comments on it . They will prove prophetic

Can Hawthorn succeed while ignoring the elite end of the draft? - Part 2​

Go and read this thread especially my comments on it . They will prove prophetic
A bunch of anti-Hawthorn uber trolls winding up the same 5 or 6 deluded Horforn masochist nuffies for the past THREE YEARS

Yeah nah.

Pass.

That thread is an embarrassment to every Hawthorn fan who gives it a wide berth.
Makes me wish Forward Press was still moderating and locking every thread.

The Hawks have had a decent season, 8 wins and 90% and a few handsome scalps. Clearly the Hawks have known they are not contending this season and they have been prepared to come up with something to throw at their opponents each week, with the expected mixed success. Jokes aside, I would be pretty happy with that season if I were a Hawks supporter. Of your 25yo and younger brigade I can count 13 players you would expect to have decent careers. So you have half a team there but the other half may take same patience to build over the coming seasons. It is hard not to like Mitchell as a coach at this point. Your backline was badly outmatched yesterday and also players like Wingard and Lewis missing has obviously hampered your forward line.

I am not bullish about the Hawks short to medium term prospects of contending, but longer term you will likely get your chance.

Had no idea I was on the Richmond board.

This is the last place I'd wanna stick my neck out and stir up a bunch of feral Tigers fans. It'd be like standing amongst the Richmond grog squad at the MCG and trying to start up a "Riewoldt is a w*nker" chant. :D

So I'll bugger off now and leave youse all to it... All you ladies & gents can settle down

Good luck in the finals. :thumbsu:

41b7a22d67d60cb7b054b4c5dee4809b_w200.gif

Agree thats why players like Mitchell JOM Wingard have never amounted to anything more than plodder status
Mitchell did get a brownlow 1 year but so did t.Libba

The Hawks have had a decent season, 8 wins and 90% and a few handsome scalps. Clearly the Hawks have known they are not contending this season and they have been prepared to come up with something to throw at their opponents each week, with the expected mixed success. Jokes aside, I would be pretty happy with that season if I were a Hawks supporter. Of your 25yo and younger brigade I can count 13 players you would expect to have decent careers. So you have half a team there but the other half may take same patience to build over the coming seasons. It is hard not to like Mitchell as a coach at this point. Your backline was badly outmatched yesterday and also players like Wingard and Lewis missing has obviously hampered your forward line.

I am not bullish about the Hawks short to medium term prospects of contending, but longer term you will likely get your chance.
Yep, my thoughts as well. :thumbsu:

We stink. Our list is in dire shape from trading our draft picks over a 10 year period from 2009-2018. Not to mention all the bargain bin rejects from other clubs like Vickery, Scully, Patton, Hartigan, Phillips, etc. I still laugh bitterly thinking how you guys "lost" Vickery and got Shai Bolton with your compo pick

We're currently paying top dollar to the likes of Mitchell, O'Meara, Wingard, Impey, Gunston,... These guys have been knocked around with injuries in recent years and they're playing at 60% of what they were capable of before the injuries. That hurts to have a bunch of plodding b-grade hacks as your senior leaders on $750/700/650k.

Mitchell finished 3rd in 2017 Brownlow, won it in 2018 and then snapped his leg in Feb 2019. Now a serviceable inside mid, but nowhere near as good.
O'Meara could've been anything. Crippled by knee injuries. Hawks have patched him up, but he has lost all his speed.
I fear the same for Impey - he was playing at an All Australian level before he did his ACL - but he looks cooked this year.
Gunston was 3rd in the Coleman race in 2020. Cut down with a back injury.

I saw the Wingard jibe a few posts back, but he is unfairly maligned. He just can't stay on the park and stay fit. He's had rotten luck since crossing from Port. Keeps getting soft tissue injuries. I dunno... Is that his fault? When he has been up & going in previous years, he has been our most surgical, skilful underrated player. Sometimes this happens to talented players - their promising careers just peter out into nothing due to constant injuries.

Whatever people think of the wisdom of Hawthorn making all those trades, it has to be said, we've been unlucky too how they all got injured.

It's going to take Hawthorn some time to get back into contention. Years, probably. But I think Mitchell has been a positive influence as coach. He has given all the kids a good run and encouraged them to attack. I've been happy enough with the season, but it does annoy me to see teams with more talent finishing below us on the ladder and getting better draft picks than us. Fricken Bombers, Giants, Eagles... (and the Pies last year.) Cheating pricks.

I can't see him leaving, I reckon him opening up early contract negioations with he's new manager is a clear sign of him looking to stay & not looking to force the club to pay extra $$ which is what imo Ralph Carr would have tried to do.

I think Richmond know how important he is and will be given a fair deal. probably a 6-7 year contract with spread out money.

Player Watch #29: Shai Bolton - Traded for picks 10,11&18