Player Watch #29: Tyrone Vickery Worship Inside

Best set shot in the league at the moment.
He is serious about it. Calm, measures the run-up, keeps his eyes on the ball, hands holding the ball properly.
Only fair dinkum players do that. Not mug lairs. Fair dinkum guys who really want to make a difference to themselves and the team.

He is serious about it. Calm, measures the run-up, keeps his eyes on the ball, hands holding the ball properly.
Only fair dinkum players do that. Not mug lairs. Fair dinkum guys who really want to make a difference to themselves and the team.
the best kicks in the league get a higher rotation on the ball, and do not have the ball lean off the perpendicular. gunston, bruest, shulz, wingard, ty, jack. saad

difficult to get the 55m penetration, as your contact needs to be on the tip of the ball, not the belly. gunston slightly alters the technique to get more contact if he is outside 50.

the ball with more spin, will hold its line better thru the air, especially if there is a breeze across the ground (perpindicular wind force on ball), or a swirly breeze, but it is even much more accurate in still-conditions on a beeline.

remember in the Grand Final in 2013 Nathan Fyfe had no trouble with the distance, but the ball was at the devices of the wind when it was put into flight from 40-45 metres.

If it was one of the aforementioned players, the spin on the ball would have likely sliced through the air far more accurately, if you started the ball straight at your target.

*** you can allow for a wind across the ground, on the side of the ball, just like a put on a rolling green at Augusta, but if the centrifugal force is significant, the ball is likely to hold its line much better

the best kicks in the league get a higher rotation on the ball, and do not have the ball lean off the perpendicular. gunston, bruest, shulz, wingard, ty, jack.

difficult to get the 55m penetration, as your contact needs to be on the tip of the ball, not the belly. gunston slightly alters the technique to get more contact if he is outside 50. the ball with more spin, will hold its line better thru the air if there is a breeze across the ground, or a swirly breeze, like Nathan Fyfe had no trouble with the distance in the Grand Final in 2013, but the ball was at the devices of the wind when it was put into flight from 40-45 metres. If it was one of the aforementioned players, the spin on the ball would have likely sliced through the air far more accurately, if you started the ball straight at your target. *** you can allow for a wind across the ground, on the side of the ball, just like a put on a rolling green at Augusta, but if the centrifugal force is significant, the ball is likely to hold its line much better
You are absolutely correct in your analysis which is far better thought out and more knowledgeable than anything I could do.
The guys you mention are guns. (Gunston :D)
The only point I'm trying to make clumsily is that Ty (Tyger) Vickery is turning out to be a bloody handy goal kicker who is improving his technique, probably by studying the experts whom you have mentioned.
Myself ,,, never kicked a goal ever.

You are absolutely correct in your analysis which is far better thought out and more knowledgeable than anything I could do.
The guys you mention are guns. (Gunston :D)
The only point I'm trying to make clumsily is that Ty (Tyger) Vickery is turning out to be a bloody handy goal kicker who is improving his technique, probably by studying the experts whom you have mentioned.
Myself ,,, never kicked a goal ever.
I read an article in the Murdoch paper, the HUN, about 4 years ago, during a preseason, I think Gunston had been back from Adelaide for one year, he said in the paper, he wanted(or was trying) to get more spin on his kick. Now, Gunston and the players I mention, would not appreciate the centrifugal force and aerodynamics, but ask someone who designs a golf ball for some expert analysis, just like David Beckham has no understanding of the theory, he just knows as a heuristic, from repetition and experience.

I wished to add, Reiwoldt did struggle in his first few years with his goal-kicking. But then he adopted this technique. I am quite amazed with all the money in football departments, no one has ever struck upon these foundations of aerodynamics. We just see Jack's cousin attempting to do some ballet manoeuvre and tip the football boot onto his nose. If it was me, I would also be doing some kind of NickR reverse engineering of the technique. My instruction, like Gunston, would just be to spin the ball, contact from the point of the ball, get the ball spinning, and it will fly straight as a die

Nick Reiwoldt's reverse engineering is to follow through, drive right through the ball, and aim to have his foot high through the follow through, and his eyes down at his foot as it makes it way through the spot of contact. And... i think this is incorrect. Might work well in training, I am sure it does. But I think if he just worked on the spin like Gunston, it does not matter about kicking towards goals, all you care about is spinning the ball. Then you point in the right direction. Nick is still launching himself towards the goal. I go further back in the reverse engineering, all I care about his spin on contact. That is how Schulz and Jack kick it dead-eye. And Ty also. if the vortex/centrifugal force is achieved because the spin is fast enough, and the ball perpendicular/right-angle'd to the turf, it will (accuracy achieved) hone in like a missile on its target

I read an article in the Murdoch paper, the HUN, about 4 years ago, during a preseason, I think Gunston had been back from Adelaide from one year, he said in the paper, he wanted(or was trying) to get more spin on his kick. Now, Gunston and the players I mention, would not appreciate the centrifugal force and aerodynamics, but ask someone who designs a golf ball for some expert analysis, just like David Beckham has no understanding of the theory, he just knows as a heuristic, from repetition and experience.

I wished to add, Reiwoldt did struggle in his first few years with his goal-kicking. But then he adopted this technique. I am quite amazed with all the money in football departments, no one has ever struck upon these foundations of aerodynamics. We just see Jack's cousin attempting to do some ballet manoeuvre and tip the football boot onto his nose. If it was me, I would also be doing some kind of NickR reverse engineering of the technique. My instruction, like Gunston, would just be to spin the ball, contact from the point of the ball, get the ball spinning, and it will fly straight as a die

Ever seen Hazem El Mazri (EDIT: El Masri) from the Canterbury Bulldogs NRL team? Retired now but he was Dead-Eye Dick. The NRL guys use the place kick but apart from that ...
no, well, not consciously, now I think I can remember him. Yep, short crew cut, kinda like the jarhead haircut of the marines.

the other one I forget, is the soccer player for St Kilda, Ahmed Saad, the guy the affal fitted up on the doping charge because they needed respite from Windy Hill backlash

*fitted up, all I mean was, he was paying the Lora 'Norder policy of AFL house cracking down on drugs and getting tough on PEDs, because of Windy Hill. Same with Lachy Keeffe and Josh Thomas, otherwise the AFL would have managed to offer them a light touch on their infractions

OK, here I go at 4 in the morning with my analysis of how to kick a footy. :rolleyes:
The classic back-spinning drop-punt rotation when executed correctly is an excellent field kick to a team mate because it presents in an easier way to mark.
Its back-spinning motion also seems to be somehow more efficient at gaining distance, (Would say it presents less of the surface of the ball to the air, thereby cutting down on wind resistance and therefore deviation)
Correct me if I'm wrong but I think it was Barassi who was one of the main pioneers of the drop punt in the modern era.
I can state, however, that I was priveleged as a youngster to see the mighty Tiger fullback Fred Swift (RIP Fred) do a 60 yard dropkick with a wet ball from a muddy goal square and hit his running team mate right on the chest near centre wing of Punt Road in the early 1960s. I only saw it once. Apparently, he did it routinely. Also a perfect back-spinning motion. (That man is always to be held in the highest esteem as a player and as a human being.)
For sheer distance, the torpedo punt used to be the preferred kick. Harder to mark but not impossible for strong hands. Its main advantage was that it travelled spinning point-first from left to right (for the right-footed kicker) or right to left (for lefties) like a rifle bullet, rather than tumbling end-over-end like a handgun bullet. The rifle bullet always wins in distance.
These classic kicks were abandoned in favour of the drop punt because of its efficiency and the way it cut down the margin of error.
Now we come to the "mongrel punt" or "helicopter" or what you may call it. Or whatchamacallit.
A good, no-nonsense kick when taking a set-shot at goal with a minute on the clock. (Not that I would know.)
And if anybody has a problem with this interminable rave, blame blackcat because he set me off. :D

(Would say it presents less of the surface of the ball to the air, thereby cutting down on wind resistance and therefore deviation)
not how the centrifugal aerodynamics work.

try this: spin one of those spinning tops. now, see if you can balance that same top, on its point. It is a bit like riding a bike, and balancing. Difficult on skinny tire racing bikes to stand still, but simpler when forward progression.

If the spin is not perfect, or your technique imparts a different contact and force and spin, like Franklin, it will move through the air much different. Then you have a kick like a torpedo or the banana/checkside.

the drop punt is the most efficient, effective and flexible, Buckley used to be able drill it 3 metres off the ground for 45 metres, now all the Hawthorn team have taken this accuracy and potency to another level. I wonder if a drop-kick goes further for the professionals, and out-there to torpedo like distances. I was a cr@p footballer, but I tried to master a drop-punt, and if you time it, it always seemed to go further than a drop-punt.

the current Irish crop seem to have mastered the skill to Hawthorn level in no time. The Carlton guy and the Brisbane guy, are phenomenal kicks in the best few in their teams. which prompts a question, how the round ball was a great foundation to move onto the oval ball.

Vickery shouldn't be going anywhere. Delete this thread. Even when he doesn't kick goals he's vital to our structure.

Our biggest issue is gonna be if Maric gets injured, and I've been saying that for ages.
thing is, Ty chooses to snot the wrong team. He should have snotted those political kam pain ers yesterday, that is what collingwood are good for.

the drop punt is the most efficient, effective and flexible, Buckley used to be able drill it 3 metres off the ground for 45 metres, now all the Hawthorn team have taken this accuracy and potency to another level. I wonder if a drop-kick goes further for the professionals, and out-there to torpedo like distances. I was a cr@p footballer, but I tried to master a drop-punt, and if you time it, it always seemed to go further than a drop-punt..

(Have only cut your quote down for reasons of space in reply.)
Agree with all of your points. (And I, too, was a pretty shouse player but had lotsa fun. My own kicking was very average but tried to improvise.:))
I do think that some players like Buckley et al are either blessed with excellent motor skills or work hard to develop them to the elite level.
They just seem to have the ability to hit the ball in the sweet spot with the optimum force (bugger them). This makes a huge difference.
Their foot "punches" the ball and quickly withdraws to its original position. It's a tight, efficient motion. Ka-pow. Snap. Done.

Vickery shouldn't be going anywhere. Delete this thread. Even when he doesn't kick goals he's vital to our structure.
Our biggest issue is gonna be if Maric gets injured, and I've been saying that for ages.
1 Wouldn't be concerned about Ty going anywhere myself.
2 Ivan is as tough as old Army boots.

the drop punt is the most efficient, effective and flexible, Buckley used to be able drill it 3 metres off the ground for 45 metres
Just went back over your posting here about Buckley and it reminded me of one I forgot ... the stab pass. Remember that one? Not many players could do it well. Seem to remember the old Essendon captain Jack Clarke (brother of Ron the great runner) could use it effectively. A drop kick that travelled low and fast a few feet off the ground and would hit a full forward right in the belly button.

the best kicks in the league get a higher rotation on the ball, and do not have the ball lean off the perpendicular. gunston, bruest, shulz, wingard, ty, jack.

difficult to get the 55m penetration, as your contact needs to be on the tip of the ball, not the belly. gunston slightly alters the technique to get more contact if he is outside 50. the ball with more spin, will hold its line better thru the air if there is a breeze across the ground, or a swirly breeze, like Nathan Fyfe had no trouble with the distance in the Grand Final in 2013, but the ball was at the devices of the wind when it was put into flight from 40-45 metres. If it was one of the aforementioned players, the spin on the ball would have likely sliced through the air far more accurately, if you started the ball straight at your target. *** you can allow for a wind across the ground, on the side of the ball, just like a put on a rolling green at Augusta, but if the centrifugal force is significant, the ball is likely to hold its line much better

excellent analysis

Which is why Jack, changes his kicking style when shooting from outside 50

484813374-r-dustin-martin-of-the-tigers-gestures-to-gettyimages.jpg

A wild Snorlax has appeared.

They don't need Vickery, they have Jesse White waiting in the wings. :$

Blimey, Vickery looked like Carey today, his confidence will only continue to grow too!
In all seriousness about the pies though, how good does Darcy Moore look?
Geez he is just like his old man.
Will be an absolute jet.

Player Watch #29: Tyrone Vickery Worship Inside