Autopsy 2nd Elimination Final, 2020: St.Kilda v Western Bulldogs

Is not returning the ball on the full to a player after a free kick not 50 metres any more?

The various in the back, HTB, incorrect disposal calls are just mystifying too. They aren't even consistent in 5 minute blocks. It's just a lottery and last night they all rolled the Dog's way. Jones got driven face down into the turf with pinned arms, no free, Bont gets tackled and throws himself forward and gets in the back. The Dogs drop balls constantly and no free. Geary got one against him where he was tackled immediately and had an arm pinned. He didn't drop it and gets holding the ball. There is no consistency. That high contact free to Daniel was embarrassing, it wasn't even obvious in the replay. The umps are either corrupt or have no feeling for the game.

3 in the first QTR and a half...

Fair Play Mitch Wallis for reinventing yourself but that grabbing the arm rubbish is embarrassing

Hunter staging against Long was embarrassing because he ****ed up the cheating. The footy equivalent to running off when you smash your car drunk.

The various in the back, HTB, incorrect disposal calls are just mystifying too. They aren't even consistent in 5 minute blocks. It's just a lottery and last night they all rolled the Dog's way. Jones got driven face down into the turf with pinned arms, no free, Bont gets tackled and throws himself forward and gets in the back. The Dogs drop balls constantly and no free. Geary got one against him where he was tackled immediately and had an arm pinned. He didn't drop it and gets holding the ball. There is no consistency. That high contact free to Daniel was embarrassing, it wasn't even obvious in the replay. The umps are either corrupt or have no feeling for the game.
Yep corrupt makes sense. Not. When will people realise the game is nearly impossible to umpire and they make mistakes. Some weeks one side is on the end of them and some weeks you aren’t. I couldn’t be bothered watching the game again but if I did and knowing the result the last thing I’d care about is the umpires.

Unbelievable how bad and inconsistent paid professionals can be , cheating corrupt 💩

Suck sh*t Crusty Undies you dumbarse geary is awesome

That you, Gears, with a new account? Should still be in bed dreaming of your great game.
(Remember, no swearing in front of the Bub.)

Yep corrupt makes sense. Not. When will people realise the game is nearly impossible to umpire and they make mistakes. Some weeks one side is on the end of them and some weeks you aren’t. I couldn’t be bothered watching the game again but if I did and knowing the result the last thing I’d care about is the umpires.
Agree that it is a very difficult game to adjudicate. The thing that struck me about yesterday’s game was not the 50/50 decisions that can go either way that may be affected by the umpires vision but the willingness to give 50/50s in front of goal when you need to be absolutely 100% sure. I think the umpires are trying to be too technical and don’t watch the play with any feel for it. There also appeared to be massive gaps in consistency between the main umpires.
Yes it’s true you get the rub some days not others and it generally balances itself out but consistency in close finals is a non negotiable. Yesterday was below standard from our officials.

I have to say Geary in the last 2 weeks has really shown why he's our leader. Geary is the perfect guy to represent our club, when you get the AFL captains together he's the odd one out every time. In a meeting of the the ASX top 100 companies he's the guy who owns the local milk bar, In a line up of thoroughbreds he's a pack mule, other club captains are the cream of their clubs. Gears is the humble guy next door that stops to help someone push start their car. He's blue collar and hard working but that's exactly his charm.

St Kilda doesn't have much of a trophy cabinet but we appeal to the romantically minded fan, artists and musicians, outsiders, lovers of underdog stories. Clubs like Essendon and Carlton are Trump like boorish braggarts, the Saints are like a blackberry vine in an apple orchard, they'll cut you and hurt you for tiny rewards but it adds to the romantic narrative. We are like a self destructive old rockstar at times but strangely charming while we do it. I think I fell back in love with the club last night. Paddy's heartbreaking tears making the siren bittersweet is just so Saints, you get a sugar-hit but not without a little arsenic.

Anyway this was meant to be a Geary rant not a love letter to the club. The little pack mule went out on the battle field while the thoroughbreds bolted when the gunfire stared. Geary is all heart and fortitude, he's the romantic captain, nothing came easy and he's extracted every drop. I remember at the end of Riewoldt's reign, the players went to the junction oval for training, Rooey pulled up and parked this huge black Benz, Geary parked next to him in a f’ed old BA Ford with a missing hubcap. There is no-one more perfect to represent this club than Gears.

No apologies, that WAS a love letter to the club, Gringo.
One of your finest posts 😍

Agree that it is a very difficult game to adjudicate. The thing that struck me about yesterday’s game was not the 50/50 decisions that can go either way that may be affected by the umpires vision but the willingness to give 50/50s in front of goal when you need to be absolutely 100% sure. I think the umpires are trying to be too technical and don’t watch the play with any feel for it. There also appeared to be massive gaps in consistency between the main umpires.
Yes it’s true you get the rub some days not others and it generally balances itself out but consistency in close finals is a non negotiable. Yesterday was below standard from our officials.
There was 23 frees in a whole game. That suggests there wasn’t that many technical decisions. And whether it’s a final or not they are trying to be consistent. It’s like people think they go out of their way to punish or reward a side. Strangely I reckon that’s probably not the case.

I really rated Jack’s game. Wasn’t huge but did some really important things. Would have capped it off nicely if he didn’t slip before hitting the post.

Agree, noticed a lot more of what Jack did in the game when I watched it again, with the emotions under control.
What a great rove, such a pity he couldnt finish, would’ve brought the house down.

Problem is they make the same errors every week.
There was 23 frees in a whole game. That suggests there wasn’t that many technical decisions. And whether it’s a final or not they are trying to be consistent. It’s like people think they go out of their way to punish or reward a side. Strangely I reckon that’s probably not the case.
They always let it go in finals.

The number of frees doesn’t indicate that at all. In finals they tend to let it go - why is that? Why change it’s just stupid.
The push on the back scenario was technical no question about it. They were looking at force which is not a good indicator if players can use thus to get a free

I have to say Geary in the last 2 weeks has really shown why he's our leader. Geary is the perfect guy to represent our club, when you get the AFL captains together he's the odd one out every time. In a meeting of the the ASX top 100 companies he's the guy who owns the local milk bar, In a line up of thoroughbreds he's a pack mule, other club captains are the cream of their clubs. Gears is the humble guy next door that stops to help someone push start their car. He's blue collar and hard working but that's exactly his charm.

St Kilda doesn't have much of a trophy cabinet but we appeal to the romantically minded fan, artists and musicians, outsiders, lovers of underdog stories. Clubs like Essendon and Carlton are Trump like boorish braggarts, the Saints are like a blackberry vine in an apple orchard, they'll cut you and hurt you for tiny rewards but it adds to the romantic narrative. We are like a self destructive old rockstar at times but strangely charming while we do it. I think I fell back in love with the club last night. Paddy's heartbreaking tears making the siren bittersweet is just so Saints, you get a sugar-hit but not without a little arsenic.

Anyway this was meant to be a Geary rant not a love letter to the club. The little pack mule went out on the battle field while the thoroughbreds bolted when the gunfire stared. Geary is all heart and fortitude, he's the romantic captain, nothing came easy and he's extracted every drop. I remember at the end of Riewoldt's reign, the players went to the junction oval for training, Rooey pulled up and parked this huge black Benz, Geary parked next to him in a f’ed old BA Ford with a missing hubcap. There is no-one more perfect to represent this club than Gears.

That was epic😂

HF7iETq.jpg

Watching the replay... huge moment.

Billings running down Lipinski led to a Ryder goal in the 2nd.. f*n love it Jack
He loves to turn it on against the Doggies, think the Bont comparisons fires him up

The number of frees doesn’t indicate that at all. In finals they tend to let it go - why is that? Why change it’s just stupid.
The push on the back scenario was technical no question about it. They were looking at force which is not a good indicator if players can use thus to get a free
It’s a free or it’s not a free. Maybe some frees were mistakes. I’m not sure you can say on one hand they let it go in finals then say they pay technical frees. ITs like watching certain players and only looking for errors and then thinking they are crap well the same thing will happen if you do the same with umpires. Each to their own.

A few might disagree with me, but I can't stand the refs, "put the whistle away in finals" rubbish....it only rewards undisciplined teams and makes a mockery of the home and away portion of the season. It's even worse when the umps decide the bring the whistle out again.

In the first fwd 50 entry, max king was slung without the ball, lonie didn't receive the ball from Wallis on the full in the defensive 50 and Jones was ridden in the back by Rourke......in the second half, we were pinged for these acts.

Autopsy 2nd Elimination Final, 2020: St.Kilda v Western Bulldogs