Player Watch #3: Dion Prestia Re-Signed for 2025

Does anyone here think if Dion and Josh had not come to our club that Dusty and Cotch would be having gun seasons and we would be 11-6 and 4th as it stands..................................nope not a hope in hell, Cotch and Dusty would be getting smashed at the coalface and people would be screaming the the club needs to recruit mids to help them out.....................oh hang on that was last year and we did go out and get mids to help out and people are still ****ing whinging.

its bad enough reading the rubbish here

I'll read virtually everyone's contributions on the Forum because I chose to come here. I don't agree with it all, nor should everyone agree with me. There are basic manners though.

Two suggestions then, if you feel it is rubbish, you don't have to read it - freedom of choice.
It's a forum - why do you expect no rubbish?

It's happened two weeks running now and although I'm not a fan of him this Bronx cheering and abuse of him is unpleasant and unwarranted. Unfortunately yesterday we were with a group of people and seven kids under ten and blokes were carrying on when he touched it which left me being a stick in the mud and having to telli them to support the team and grow up. As much as I carry on here I am the complete opposite in public especially if children are present . I see going to the football with family and friends as a God given privilege and a day out to enjoy each each other's company win , lose or draw. It annoys me to hear abuse and immature behaviour from adults as it creates another generation of imbeciles. My own brother was sooking it up at quarter time and wanted to go home , yet he organised the large gathering to be there . I couldn't care less about the scoreboard and was happy to be at the game as I find it difficult to get to games due to my family commitments.
The other disappointment of the day was that Greene character carrying on like a jerk and the crowd giving it to him as my son and another kid started going on Greene watch for the day and booing him. I was left having to have a chat with my fella at HT telling him that wasn't on and not why we go to the game.
We are VFL junkies and this just doesn't get in the spotlight at games as the crowd is too small to focus on incidents like this and there are no giant scoreboards amplifying the graphics.

Great post. Has always puzzled me some people can't separate what is written here and general behaviour. It's bit like when we think stuff as we walk around but don't verbalise everything we think.

Does anyone here think if Dion and Josh had not come to our club that Dusty and Cotch would be having gun seasons and we would be 11-6 and 4th as it stands..................................nope not a hope in hell, Cotch and Dusty would be getting smashed at the coalface and people would be screaming the the club needs to recruit mids to help them out.....................oh hang on that was last year and we did go out and get mids to help out and people are still ******* whinging.
a lot of that is right.

dion has still been disappointing though.

He came to us as damaged goods and we obviously think we can fix him, would have to say we have done bloody well so far this season.

I am not too concerned yet, next year, if he doesn't get back to his best then I will worry.

Bang on. I also sometimes wonder whether some people have even played football, let alone changed Clubs.

didn't notice it in the corporate box :D

with the windows shut and heater on no doubt you big pussy:D Come up to the Goldy and enjoy 26 degrees on Saturday, but bring a coat cos it gets cold fast once the suns go down;)

Bang on. I also sometimes wonder whether some people have even played football, let alone changed Clubs.

Mate, we are the worst 4th placed team in history. Just ask some of us.

There might still be more irony in that post than you care to consider right now:D

Lol, nah, i knew what i was posting. I think we should just fold or merge with Norf. Just be done with it.

Jesus!! 2010-2011 was his first preseason. So he's had two preseasons since being drafted. Hope he can reverse that trend
Maybe I am being over dramatic but alarm bells would have been sounding for me if I was on the FD down at Tigerland.

I just finds it remarkable that 19 rounds into the season people still think it's round onre and he's had a "limited pre-season".
He had pre-season of sort and had 15 games worth of match play, not to mention two in the JLT Series. If he isnm't fit, simple, don't play him.
Once you cross the line you are deemed fit.

I just finds it remarkable that 19 rounds into the season people still think it's round onre and he's had a "limited pre-season".
He had pre-season of sort and had 15 games worth of match play, not to mention two in the JLT Series. If he isnm't fit, simple, don't play him.

I find it remarkable that you say/post the same thing individually to every poster that suggests there may be a reason... We get your point move on, you don't need to reply to every poster as they aren't addressing you...

You are entitled to an opinion as we all are, gets very tiresome replying same thoughts individually and essentially baiting people on the same point.

I find it remarkable that you say/post the same thing individually to every poster that suggests there may be a reason... We get your point move on, you don't need to reply to every poster as they aren't addressing you...

You are entitled to an opinion as we all are, gets very tiresome replying same thoughts individually and essentially baiting people on the same point.
What? And the pro-Prestia comments aren't at all repetitive? Should those posters who post six times a week 'once he gets a full pre-season' move on???
I find those ridiculous comments tiresome too!
PS Go back and check, there have been several posters respond to me personally!

I agree with this. Surely his fitness is good enough by now. But as Tiger Toffee said earlier, do you (and others) think it a co-incidence that Cotchin in particular has benefitted from extra mature depth in the midfield that Caddy and Prestia have added. He shanked one kick that I remember, his first, on the weekend. His kicking game by and large is unremarkable that is for sure, but not every kick is a shank. And he gives grunt, the no. 1 thing that we miss. He has got good hands though, and rarely fumbles, (which you would get if we played Townsend for example if you wanted more grunt). So yes he is far from perfect, and probably far from what we all hoped at the moment, but he is part of a side that is playing fairly consistent pressure footy, something we haven't had since the likes of Tony Free and Mark Coughlin were playing.

Does anyone here think if Dion and Josh had not come to our club that Dusty and Cotch would be having gun seasons and we would be 11-6 and 4th as it stands..................................nope not a hope in hell, Cotch and Dusty would be getting smashed at the coalface and people would be screaming the the club needs to recruit mids to help them out.....................oh hang on that was last year and we did go out and get mids to help out and people are still ******* whinging.

Martin did it last year when THIRD in the Brownlow and has got better each season.
Cotchin has been a beneficiary of the game plan which has been similar to that in 2012 when he won it.
Miles was a far better bet in the midfield - top six in club best and fairest.
Yes I could see Martin and Cotchin be just as damaging provided we used this current game plan and without the turnover merchant and Caddy.

I mean, with the injuries he has had, what, he's just going to have a full pre-season out of the blue?
If he s suffering with injuries - as some like to repeat - he is at long odds to have another full pre-season this year.
And no, I won't back off. What are we doing recruiting blokes who can't complete pre-seasons and why are people continually offering up excuses for him.

Each to their own, I see him having a big impact in 2018 and will be happy to revisit this thread in due course.

Caddy has helped Jack more than our mids.
Lambert has improved our centreline as he's been our number one tagger on often the best oppo mid. Prestia has played two serviceable to good games and zip after this. He's been a liability and iiiiiiiiffffffffff he could clean up his disposal he could at least be at a c-b grader level.

Its a big call to say Martin and Cotchin have benefited from Prestia's inclusion. Id argue that Miles would have given a similar return to Prestia had he played and Martin and Cotchin would have been just as productive.
I know some people have been disappointed in Caddy but I think he has been ok, and played to his ability level. Caddy wasn't a regular at Geelong for a reason, he was inconsistent.

a lot of that is right.

dion has still been disappointing though.
That all depends on what you are expecting from him, if it was 30+ and a goal a game then yes but even Dusty's not even averaging 30 ( 29.88 well pretty much 30 ) in our new low possession game style, next after him is Cotch with 24.24 and Dion is 21.67.

Thats the problem though. Those that are pissed off with his performances were seemingly expecting him to have stats like he did at the Suns when he was second fiddle behind Ablett in most stats. At Richmond we don't need him to be that player, we need him to be a role player that allows others to play their roles better/more effectively, whether that is stars like Cotchin and Martin or guys like Grigg and Lambert.

Caddy has helped Jack more than our mids.
Lambert has improved our centreline as he's been our number one tagger on often the best oppo mid. Prestia has played two serviceable to good games and zip after this. He's been a liability and iiiiiiiiffffffffff he could clean up his disposal he could at least be at a c-b grader level.

To credit Lambert, who has an outstanding season, would be to bust the myth about Prestia and Caddy and no way could the dozen sof posters who have have bagged Lambert for seasons bring themselves to do it.
He's been the biggest reason for the pressure on Martin and Cotchin being released!

Lol, nah, i knew what i was posting. I think we should just fold or merge with Norf. Just be done with it.

Haha, could never happen, we have too many supporters to be Norf Richmond

So we give up 800k and pick six for a bloke so that he can perform below rookie standard? What a crock of shit. If you're paid elite wages then elite performances are expected. He was paid this money to upgrade Miles ( who was averaging mid 20's ) to give us the inside mid grunt. This was all the hype on him by the same posters before we got him and now that he's been rubbish he's become role player. PMSL.
He's gone from elite to needing another preseason to a tagger to a marathon runner to a role player. Only on BF you can read such rubbish.

So we give up 800k and pick six for a bloke so that he can perform below rookie standard? What a crock of shit. If you're paid elite wages then elite performances are expected. He was paid this money to upgrade Miles ( who was averaging mid 20's ) to give us the inside mid grunt. This was all the hype on him by the same posters before we got him and now that he's been rubbish he's become role player. PMSL.
He's gone from elite to needing another preseason to a tagger to a marathon runner to a role player. Only on BF you can read such rubbish.
So tell us, what were you expecting from him or do you like a few on here lump him into the ' he was recruited from X club and cost us X amount and X draft pick so therefore will be judged more harsher than others if he doesn't live up to my expectations ' category.

I'll read virtually everyone's contributions on the Forum because I chose to come here. I don't agree with it all, nor should everyone agree with me. There are basic manners though.

Two suggestions then, if you feel it is rubbish, you don't have to read it - freedom of choice.
It's a forum - why do you expect no rubbish?

your right, I am not sure I agree with you that I didn't mind my manners with what I posted, it was a answer to a question I received, so I expressed my opinion on the content of all the threads bagging our players.

I am sure in a open forum I am allowed to express my thoughts and opinions on things people have offered as there opinion.
if you read all of the conversation I also said I skim over most of the rubbish bagging our players hence I am choosing to not read most of it.

I thought a lot of the content I saw was rubbish so I said so when I was asked a question, just like you expressed a opinion on what I said.

what is the 2nd suggestion??

100% I expect there to be lots of rubbish in these threads by posters who think it is ok to bag players repeatedly to try and convince others that they are all knowing.

you of course also have a choice too

Player Watch #3: Dion Prestia Re-Signed for 2025