Traded #3: Scott Gumbleton - Traded to Fremantle for pick 55

Re: 3. Scott Gumbleton

Wouldn't question Gumby in this forum - he is a sacred cow.

Heaps of people will tell you he is a gun, yet none of them have seen him play any decent footy.

Its strange that those watchers cannot differentiate between a true talent in Hurley as oppossed to a trier like Gumby.
That goes both ways.
Give Gumby a year playing footy. Then make some sort of judgement.

I'm not sure how much I buy into this delivery thing.

At times it may have been ordinary, but we simply do not create enough space in our forward line to lead or kick to.

I would like to see Ryder or Neagle starting in the goal square, with nobody else in the forward 50. Gumbleton can lead up the ground in a Reiwoldt style, with small forwards sprinting in to be at their feet as the ball hits them.

The pace with which we move the ball should allow our forwards to kick bags. Our congested structure makes this far too hard.

That being said, I would have liked to see Gumby used more as a target, and leading more too. I feel we had to use every opportunity to get him into the game, and he had to continually lead to get himself in the game- even if it was from outside 50.
The plan as far as I can make out is that everyone from full-back to wings acts as a rebounder moving it up to half forward. It's always going to get crowded unless we can get a kick in free space. The pace we move the ball should allow our entire team to kick bags, and regularly it does. We shouldn't be relying that much on forwards dominating (as St K or Hawthorn do).

I don't mind congestion as long as it's 1-on-1, not 6 defenders on 4

Average match. Anybody reckon he's a chance for next week?

Did you watch the game?
He got to every contest. Just couldn't make the ball stick. Nervous. First game in 3 years against the reigning Premiers with one of the best defenses of all time. Cut the guy a break.

Will show what he is made of in the coming month.

A certain starter every week.

Yep, good half of footy. Which is OK.

Jesus mate you cannot possible expect more from gumby then he showed yesterday surely. On the other hand if your trying to lower hype and expectation good stuff :thumbsu:

On another note i have sum serious question marks on his kicking action. Unco double handed high ball drop, not a fan however Nash showed ball drop isnt everything

My observation from the Geelong game was that he just looked to be trying to hard and was subsequently buggered for most of his time on the ground. This resulted in him looking slow when he got to the ball, being poor below his knees and kicking poorly.

Looked so much quicker on Sunday which was fantastic, far more assured with his kicking, much cleaner with his hands. :thumbsu:

Second half fade out you'd say partly due to the no hope football the team was playing and a lack of 4 quarter fitness.

Will be looking for more improvement in him getting to more contests in positive condition, more confidence in his hands and body and an increase in the amount of ball that's put through him. Good signs.

Did anybody notice his chase down of ballantyne? Ballantyne kicked the goal but Gumby showed plenty of toe to run him down from a mile off.

If his body holds up he's going to be something else.

Imagine if he caught him? Schwarz would have a little pre-cum in his pants along with 250k of Essendon supporters

[YOUTUBE]xKnQOn4q5YM[/YOUTUBE]

0:37

and

1:48

Gif 'em. :D

(Him and Hurley in the same forward line... droooool...)

Did anybody notice his chase down of ballantyne? Ballantyne kicked the goal but Gumby showed plenty of toe to run him down from a mile off.

If his body holds up he's going to be something else.

2:04 :thumbsu:

seems to look pretty handy when he's in a contest/leaping into a pack but he's just not getting to enough of them at the moment. still slightly worried about his kicking from 40+ but im sure if there's anything wrong there it can be fixed.

all that said, tonight was still a massive improvement from round 1 which is really all you can ask for. and what about that mark! :thumbsu:

Played against Walker tonight so we have confirmation of his athletic abilities (Walker is a serious runner). The contested marking looked really good but other than the screamer it is hard to tell whether it was the opposition or him.

Three games down and the confidence is growing, Hurey in next week. Anyone still concerned about the future of the forward line?

Gumby's kicking looks awkward which is not ideal but the ball drop seems solid enough. Without studying it, the ugly part of his actions seems more like a flourish after he has actually kicked the thing rather than an integral issue. Kicking is a thing that is rarely changed but I think the awkwardness could be coached out quite easily.

The big stat tonight is 3, thats how many games on end he has put together. He'll be a different beast altogether come the second half of the year with more miles in his legs.

Still gets ignored on the lead too much, ignoring him on a good lead and kicking long on top of Sam Lonergan's head isnt smart footy. Our obsession in kicking to short people needs to stop.

We have a gem in Gumbleton boys and girls. His contested mark was gun :thumbsu:

Here is a picture :thumbsu: :

231227-bombers-fly-high.jpg

2010rd03-19.jpg

Traded #3: Scott Gumbleton - Traded to Fremantle for pick 55