Signd Sealed Saint

Jul 11, 2008
Glen Waverly
Victorian Bushrangers
As most you know the St Kilda side of now and under GT is considered a bunch of underachievers who have never been able to fill their potiential. But just stop for a moment and think about this...

Under Grant Thomas the board was an absolute pain in the arse, he had no support from them whatsoever but he still still able to achieve consecutive prelims in 04 and 05.

In 2004 we had a great start to the season winning the first ten, then a combination of young players tiring and about 2 and half pages of injuries, it all fell away. We only won 4 more games. However we still made top four and lost to Port Adelaide by a kick.

We were in control of that game all day (i know i was 9 at the time but i've seen the game a million times on tape) and really shouldn't have lost. Had that ball bounced for Brent Guerra, i don't think there would be too many people saying we wouldn't have beaten the tired old Lions. We lost to the eventual premiers, had the ball bounced right, who knows? That was considered a shithouse year by all.

In 2005, we had the reverse of 04 having a great end to the season. We played the Swans and had the game all day, with a lead going into the last quarter. Had we played that 30 minutes of football right, then who knows? Maybe another flag there.

In 2006, we had a pretty good season. 14 wins would get you top 4 9/10 times. We just missed out by percentage, the draw against Freo would have meant its weight in gold. We never got fully going i don't believe, the mojo wasn't there. But the first 2 and a half quarters against Melbourne was pretty good footy. Yet, the fish was let off the hook yet again.

They were three pretty good seasons of football, considering all the off field shit with that ****ing Rod Butress and injuries that just piled up, we didn't do all that badly i don't think. This is a wasted generation of Saints, but one where we turned into a professional outfit and one with cash in the bank account. To consider this time a failure is rather unfair to one of the great St Kilda sides. Imagine a lucky St Kilda side during those years, what a generation that would have been.

As most you know the St Kilda side of now and under GT is considered a bunch of underachievers who have never been able to fill their potiential. But just stop for a moment and think about this...

Under Grant Thomas the board was an absolute pain in the arse, he had no support from them whatsoever but he still still able to achieve consecutive prelims in 04 and 05.

In 2004 we had a great start to the season winning the first ten, then a combination of young players tiring and about 2 and half pages of injuries, it all fell away. We only won 4 more games. However we still made top four and lost to Port Adelaide by a kick.

We were in control of that game all day (i know i was 9 at the time but i've seen the game a million times on tape) and really shouldn't have lost. Had that ball bounced for Brent Guerra, i don't think there would be too many people saying we wouldn't have beaten the tired old Lions. We lost to the eventual premiers, had the ball bounced right, who knows? That was considered a shithouse year by all.

In 2005, we had the reverse of 04 having a great end to the season. We played the Swans and had the game all day, with a lead going into the last quarter. Had we played that 30 minutes of football right, then who knows? Maybe another flag there.

In 2006, we had a pretty good season. 14 wins would get you top 4 9/10 times. We just missed out by percentage, the draw against Freo would have meant its weight in gold. We never got fully going i don't believe, the mojo wasn't there. But the first 2 and a half quarters against Melbourne was pretty good footy. Yet, the fish was let off the hook yet again.

They were three pretty good seasons of football, considering all the off field shit with that ****ing Rod Butress and injuries that just piled up, we didn't do all that badly i don't think. This is a wasted generation of Saints, but one where we turned into a professional outfit and one with cash in the bank account. To consider this time a failure is rather unfair to one of the great St Kilda sides. Imagine a lucky St Kilda side during those years, what a generation that would have been.

You got that part spot on.. But seriously what is the point of this post mate..

Your boys just werent up to it and choked come late in September. Stop sooking and get over it

and in 1999 if it wasn't for that tackle and in 2001 if it wasn't for mecuri and hird's injuries.. essendon woudl have one 3 in a row and truly been the greatest team of all... fact is they didn't.. oh well.. move on.. lions are the better team of the naughties.

i don't think there would be too many people saying we wouldn't have beaten the tired old Lions.

The same Lions that wiped you like a dirty bum two weeks beforehand in the Qualifying final to the tune of 80 points?

You probably need to go over the tape of this one too.
We beat you and kicked five goals in the first quarter, you got the lead back and ran it out to 15 points by late in the third term (hardly dominant), but the momentum had certainly shifted back our way by three-quarter time, then you managed four behinds in the last quarter and lost by 31, kicking nine goals for the game.

"... Had the game all day ..."? I think not.

And if a free kick was paid against LRT in the Barry Hall mark then West Coast would be back to back premiers.

And if o'keefe hadn't kicked the ball into Chick, the Swans would be back to back premiers.

And if my aunty had nuts she'd be my uncle

Coulda, woulda, shoulda - didn't

The best thing St Kilda did was offload Grant. His media career just shows what a complete knob he is. Accrediting him to St Kilda's success is like comparing John Buchanon's coaching record and saying the guy is a genius.

They were three pretty good seasons of football, considering all the off field sh.it with that ****ing Rod Butress and injuries that just piled up, we didn't do all that badly i don't think. This is a wasted generation of Saints, but one where we turned into a professional outfit and one with cash in the bank account. To consider this time a failure is rather unfair to one of the great St Kilda sides. Imagine a lucky St Kilda side during those years, what a generation that would have been.

Wow

:eek:

We've all felt that pain you are experiencing at some point in our football supporting careers. What ifs are the worst path to go down -- Fact of the matter is that there is nothing that can be done by dissecting the past like this. Can't change it.

The football club can learn from it but there's nothing we as supporters can really do other then show up each week, buy our membership, buy the over priced merch and keep yelling "CARN THE DONS!" at every opportune moment.

You probably need to go over the tape of this one too.
We beat you and kicked five goals in the first quarter, you got the lead back and ran it out to 15 points by late in the third term (hardly dominant), but the momentum had certainly shifted back our way by three-quarter time, then you managed four behinds in the last quarter and lost by 31, kicking nine goals for the game.

"... Had the game all day ..."? I think not.

Agreed. St Kilda had everything in their favour that game, but got slaughtered.
Sydney was a far better side that year, and that game in particular.

If you'd fluked a win against the swans, you would have got dawked by the eagles.

To never make a grand final in that era, shows you were never really up to premiership standard.

And if a free kick was paid against LRT in the Barry Hall mark then West Coast would be back to back premiers.

And if o'keefe hadn't kicked the ball into Chick, the Swans would be back to back premiers.

And if my aunty had nuts she'd be my uncle

Coulda, woulda, shoulda - didn't

The best thing St Kilda did was offload Grant. His media career just shows what a complete knob he is. Accrediting him to St Kilda's success is like comparing John Buchanon's coaching record and saying the guy is a genius.

Well thats it at the end of the day isn't it mate, bit of a luck with the bounce of the ball.

You learn to move on from it though.

30 minutes of footy and a bad bounce