Player Watch #31: Oleg Markov

Best part about his game was his decision making with ball in hand, which if I'm honest, didn't think was a strength of his...

I thought he did a good enough job to hold his spot, but I wonder with Houli coming back whether he will or not...
Like for like you'd think. Unless he get's moved forward. It'd be nice to see if he can provide a spark up there.

^+1 this​

would not the statistics select (self-select) for without ball (30 f.e.e.t burst to terminal velocity for handball receive) and top10 primarily these instances...
i)Richmond's strategy may(did/does) lend itself to these opportunities
ii)statistically 4% Markov's peakspeedgaptosecond number has such d.i.s.c.r.e.p.a.n.c.y tho' it may well be accurate(i am sure it is) it paradoxically makes this statistically IRRELEVANT insofar as it has selected out a game-style of Leppitsch-Caracella(tho' Dimma may well get the credit) so Bolton, Balta, Markov reside in top ranks
see: Dan Butler

I remember a month ago when i was calling for his return to the side people laughing and saying hes a list clogger.
Bloke had a ripper debut season and then since has struggled getting his body right.
Last night was just a glimpse of what he can bring, he is lighting fast and can break lines with his belting kick.
I think he has egg covered for when houli hangs up the boots honestly if he doesnt go elsewhere at the end of the year for more of a crack at senior footy.
Could also be moved forward to take a spot off a small, he did play there in the twos last year.
In saying that as well thats why we need to reward his two good senior games this year with an extended run in the side, so he can see a future with the club.

Would like to see Oleg stay in, give him a go up forward, could add an extra dimension as a tallish running-marking option to also target the Saad/McKenna rebounders, he has the speed to run them down. Might be able to unbalance their defence.

I like it, a defensive forward in the mold of Townsend except with a lot more pace. Obviously Towner had him covered in terms of physicality but that's no good if you can't catch who you're chasing. It also solves the who gets dropped/moves up the ground for Houli. Oleg has also played some good footy as a forward in the VFL if I'm not mistaken.

Would like to see Oleg stay in, give him a go up forward, could add an extra dimension as a tallish running-marking option to also target the Saad/McKenna rebounders, he has the speed to run them down. Might be able to unbalance their defence.

Actually that's what I was thinking. Run down the Bombres backs and stop them in their tracks - it's their main trick.

I remember a month ago when i was calling for his return to the side people laughing and saying hes a list clogger.
Bloke had a ripper debut season and then since has struggled getting his body right.
Last night was just a glimpse of what he can bring, he is lighting fast and can break lines with his belting kick.
I think he has egg covered for when houli hangs up the boots honestly if he doesnt go elsewhere at the end of the year for more of a crack at senior footy.
Could also be moved forward to take a spot off a small, he did play there in the twos last year.
In saying that as well thats why we need to reward his two good senior games this year with an extended run in the side, so he can see a future with the club.
With ya. I was called for him to come in for the North game. Has all the tools.

Keep him in at the expense of one of our small forwards

I'd be happy for that to happen, he's earned it ahead of a couple in recent games, though Georgie and Rioli are coach's favourites, so a quiet last game from Aarts could mean he's in the gun instead. Certainly won't be Rioli this week, of course.

Reckon he'll get interest from another club. There'll be plenty sniffing around our playing group with so many AFL standard players unable to crack the regular 22. Though they may wait till his contract expires.

No doubt he'll get some interest, said it after his first game this year.

Blokes with his pace, work ethic and decent enough skills, in a mature body, are not at all common.

He would have got 22 games at numerous clubs in recent years.

George or Rioli has to make way for the Russian since they're not doing enough and even being a liability.

When are the Eagles going to make the call on Hurn xInfected? He looks to me to be struggling this season.

There again, I had written Kennedy off about 8 weeks ago until his really strong game against Port, after which he has mainly dominated.

How much does Yeo’s and Redden’s absences xaffect you? See what I did there. 😁

When are the Eagles going to make the call on Hurn xInfected? He looks to me to be struggling this season.

There again, I had written Kennedy off about 8 weeks ago until his really strong game against Port, after which he has mainly dominated.

How much does Yeo’s and Redden’s absences xaffect you? See what I did there. 😁
We have Rotham or Watson as Hurn's successor but Hurn's experience is still important to us in marshaling the backline. Losing Yeo and Redden is big since we lose mongrel in the midfield (would be like losing Cotchin for you's), probably we need Jackson Nelson moved to the midfield to replace Yeo and give Xavier O'Neill a debut to replace Redden. I'm sure most WCE supporters wrote JK off before the Port game although one guy made a thread backing JK to bounce back which he did.

Player Watch #31: Oleg Markov