Player Watch #32 Samson Ryan

OHB has a better chance of making it than this guy.
I still believe this after his first VFL game
I made this post after OHB practice match v Box Hill.
He’s got massive upside and progressing faster than Soldo did and will lap Ryan soon. Are you still shocked Karp3_dm ? 😂
IMG_0435.png

One of the issues I saw with him on the weekend is that when the ball hit the ground he looked very sluggish, like he was wearing concrete boots ….. not sure why that was the case on the weekend. Is that usual for him at vfl level? Not a great trait for a skinny ruckman so I hope that changes next game

It seemed more mental than physical. When the ball left his area he ball watched which is pretty normal for players who are relatively new to the game, or young players learning about staying involved. Physically he looked pretty good blow his knees. His long reach enabled him to palm down to players even when out of position, which is something he won't get away with at a higher level.

He has trimmed down a lot since coming to the club, but is loving it according to someone I was speaking to who know his family. Another preseason to put on a bit more muscle will help, and improve his ruck craft, because he looks a great athletic shape in the Greg Stafford mould, (without the pointy elbows).

It seemed more mental than physical. When the ball left his area he ball watched which is pretty normal for players who are relatively new to the game, or young players learning about staying involved. Physically he looked pretty good blow his knees. His long reach enabled him to palm down to players even when out of position, which is something he won't get away with at a higher level.

He has trimmed down a lot since coming to the club, but is loving it according to someone I was speaking to who know his family. Another preseason to put on a bit more muscle will help, and improve his ruck craft, because he looks a great athletic shape in the Greg Stafford mould, (without the pointy elbows).
I hope you’re right! I think he should also get specialised one on one coaching over the off season for his development ….. the second half of this year and season 2025 will be quite telling in terms of which direction his career goes imo

I have a Demon supporting mate who used to absolutely pay out on Gawn when he was 22-23 years old, and watching him back then, he was extremely awkward, uncoordinated and looked a mile off being able to make an impact at senior level.

not that I expect Ryan to turn into Gawn, but sometimes these 200cm+ blokes just take ages to put it all together.

If Sampson can just manage to hang on to a few marks that he gets hands to, he will become a different prospect entirely.

He should have been played ahead of Naismith earlier in the year I reckon

Ryan brought the ball to ground yes sometimes he looked slow chasing but so does Lynch, at least we are keeping the opposition honest, which we haven't been doing all year our smalls are looking much better lately, shame Maurice isn't out there with Ryan.

They’ve instructed him to do this bc both he and Kosi can’t take a contested mark to save themselves. The plan has been modified for this reason only and to at least get the ball to ground. It will still backfire against better defences bc they will run off them and outmark them more often than not.
The joke going around is he can’t mark with two hands , so he’s now trying with one. 😂
wb TI

Ti you must have been on the political forum and got banned from there :cool: :cool: :cool:
Ryan needs to take a mark or three, maybe park him in the goal square for a bit,
He needs to be more mobile i reckon as space and freedom is his best hope to take a grab , rather than standing on the one spot. He's too easily negated atm in this position bc he's not strong enough.

he seemed to do his best work around the goal sqr if I remember correctly, that's why I mentioned it.
CHF is one of the hardest positions to play.

he seemed to do his best work around the goal sqr if I remember correctly, that's why I mentioned it.
CHF is one of the hardest positions to play.
Yes it is as you need to do a lot of running, jumping and changing of direction which is difficult for most big men. I think Ryan is not working hard enough to free himself up and with less body on him he could possibly clunk a few more marks. The only problem is does he have that acceleration to free himself up? ATM he just seems like a pedestrian doing some Myers window browsing.

They’ve instructed him to do this bc both he and Kosi can’t take a contested mark to save themselves. The plan has been modified for this reason only and to at least get the ball to ground. It will still backfire against better defences bc they will run off them and outmark them more often than not.
The joke going around is he can’t mark with two hands , so he’s now trying with one. 😂
Truth hurts

Yes it is as you need to do a lot of running, jumping and changing of direction which is difficult for most big men. I think Ryan is not working hard enough to free himself up and i think with less body on him he could possibly clunk a few more marks. The only problem is does he have that acceleration to free himself up? ATM he just seems like a pedestrian doing some Myers window browsing.
so were you on the political forums? its ok, i got my two bans from there.
Back to the footy, One thing i think he has is a good set shot.

Yes it is as you need to do a lot of running, jumping and changing of direction which is difficult for most big men. I think Ryan is not working hard enough to free himself up and i think with less body on him he could possibly clunk a few more marks. The only problem is does he have that acceleration to free himself up? ATM he just seems like a pedestrian doing some Myers window browsing.
I am going to posit that potentially his size and playing in the VFL has kept him with some bad habits. The defenders in the VFL are rarely AFL players in size or hardness and I get the feeling Ryan is used to be being able to take a grab without the defender being able to shit him under the ball. When gets to AFL and they are much more experienced then he gets moved around a little too easily.

That being said at least he does the bare minimum and brings the ball to ground and isnt a total liability with intercept defenders.

Ryan seems a polarizing player atm - you are disappointed in him or value him. I fall in the latter camp, I see what he offers but don't expect him to be any world beater atm. Yze mentioned him positively in his press conference which I take as a positive sign and that he did the role expected of him during the game. I would have loved him to take more marks rather than just bring it to ground every contest but he's doing his job; not being outmarked, making a contest, getting the ball into the hands of our better ball users at ground level. He's also giving Nank a chop out around the ground and straightening up our forward fifty entries.

I think he still has a lot of growth left in him and he will take those grabs, win those ruck contests, outbody his opponent and break those packs more, as he grows into his massive frame. He's still very young for a ruck. We just need to temper our expectations and be grateful that he's helping improve those around him.

Ryan seems a polarizing player atm - you are disappointed in him or value him. I fall in the latter camp, I see what he offers but don't expect him to be any world beater atm. Yze mentioned him positively in his press conference which I take as a positive sign and that he did the role expected of him during the game. I would have loved him to take more marks rather than just bring it to ground every contest but he's doing his job; not being outmarked, making a contest, getting the ball into the hands of our better ball users at ground level. He's also giving Nank a chop out around the ground and straightening up our forward fifty entries.

I think he still has a lot of growth left in him and he will take those grabs, win those ruck contests, outbody his opponent and break those packs more, as he grows into his massive frame. He's still very young for a ruck. We just need to temper our expectations and be grateful that he's helping improve those around him.
I'm pretty sure he didn't even try to mark it a few times, just palm it down to one of our smalls which seemed to work mostly.
I think as TI said, this might not work so well against better midfield and defences

its interesting the one handed marking thing

miller was doing it last year iirc when played forward

it would likely be to instructions- a percentage play based on the players' limitations

he is taking a little longer than i hoped to grow into his frame but i still see massive upside if he continues to work on what the coaches give him

elite trait- his tapwork can be sublime

still in baby giraffe stage, i expect his marking and bodywork to improve in line with his coordination

just keep playing him he needs exposure against hardened skilled oppo

The only time that he looks a likely type is when he charges towards the ball he’s taken 2-3 marks this season doing that . Sadly it’s that rare , instead he stands underneath high ball and battles manfully without looking like taking a mark ,,,prob stiff not to ever get a free , he needs to get on his bike as a key forward with better leading patterns ,,,,prob not entirely his fault as our delivery into f50 look like top spin lobbs most of the time ,,, chicken or the egg , who’s fault

The only time that he looks a likely type is when he charges towards the ball he’s taken 2-3 marks this season doing that . Sadly it’s that rare , instead he stands underneath high ball and battles manfully without looking like taking a mark ,,,prob stiff not to ever get a free , he needs to get on his bike as a key forward with better leading patterns ,,,,prob not entirely his fault as our delivery into f50 look like top spin lions most of the time ,,, chicken or the egg , who’s fault
Agree Bo as he’s often too stationary and I’m sure his game would improve if he could do this as well as actually be of better assistance to our smalls than the current halving a contest plan. The current plan is too confined bc of the small area he’s working with and it becomes too predictable for defenders to ruin all forward moves.

Player Watch #32 Samson Ryan