Player Watch #34 Harry Armstrong

Did We Get The Pick Right?

All the KPF's we just drafted all love crashing packs which is fantastic. I'd also keep Lynch on providing his body can hold up. post that, i'd offer him a role as fwds Coach to further develop these guys.

Yep, we definitely went for a type & already you can see where it might be heading.... & I like it.

A young group of ultra competitive tall's who already at a minimum can compete & crash packs instantly makes us far more competitive. And as they develop those contest crashes will undoubtedly turn into contested marks.

The hardest part might be saving these kids from themselves ie not getting injured.

Watching Armstrong though really underlines to me just how much Balta is not a forward. For all his size and own competitiveness - its a different beast entirely to what Harry showed. And thats what you need in a KPF. Balta is a back

Yep, we definitely went for a type & already you can see where it might be heading.... & I like it.

A young group of ultra competitive tall's who already at a minimum can compete & crash packs instantly makes us far more competitive. And as they develop those contest crashes will undoubtedly turn into contested marks.

The hardest part might be saving these kids from themselves ie not getting injured.

Watching Armstrong though really underlines to me just how much Balta is not a forward. For all his size and own competitiveness - its a different beast entirely to what Harry showed. And thats what you need in a KPF. Balta is a back
Agreed, Balta's best Footy is back. On The Draftee's, they all play differently so they'll all compliment each other very well going fwd. All going well, our KPF's stocks are set for the next decade. They'll take time of course but they'll come through together.

unlike the last clown i reckon serpell actually has a weights program and we'll get them playing weight pretty quick, wont be a 6 season slow burn.
In Louis' defence, the Dow, Ryan, RCD, Brown body types have been replaced with Lalor, Smilie, Fawcett, Kmac2, Blight, Armstrong, Trainor types.

Cant believe this kid fell to pick #23
Considered the best KPF prior to the draft and Richmond just take him with a bunch of rubbish picks 32,42,43,45

Harry Armstrong is our next 500 goal foward
A bonus for you , im spewing we didn't take him

Swans wanted Jonty Faull

Welcome to our board bedford

opposition supporters are always welcome here mate
Only because he's from my club and i hope ive given some info on him , as a rule i find it better to stay off other boards , as too many can be trolls

So, just to clarify Bedford, Armstrong played juniors at the same club as you? Was he a standout? What sort of bloke is he? Thanks for your insight, mate. This sort of information is invaluable to the average fan

lol Im not playing juniors ! He was a standout as he got bigger . It was hard as he had a scholarship to Haileybury and after that was hard to play club and that with an injury where he missed half a year . He played a half against South Districts in 23 and kicked 12 with 2 on him .
A very quiet humble kid and was ground manager on Sundays for the junior club last year. We had another one you let go in Sam Davidson. Also Dimmas son is our senior captain

Like Tom Brown, Harry was a moments man…When he canon-ed into Ollie and got straight up just as quick…When he shoved Haynes into the 3rd row and then lasered Bauer for a goal…Really good signs, and he’ll start to hold those marks soon…

It is more than those eye-catching things though. Armstrong's conduct in and around the big packs under the long bombs is what I am most delighted with. He will refine it as he learns to get more crafty over time, but for now, the intent & ability to make his presence useful to us is first class.

Can't wait to see this kids clunking marks and creating goals. At the moment he is doing all the hard work without much of the glory. I love the way our supporters value his attack on the ball and defensive pressure and can see that, despite not hitting the score board yet, he's working his ass off and making a real difference to the forwardline. We're a much more educated army now days! :grinv1:

Player Watch #34 Harry Armstrong

Write your reply...