Player Watch #39 Mate Colina

Been on the list 3 years now for the sum total of a handful of ok touches. Must put family sentiments aside and delist. Surely money would be better spent on some fast gun Gaelic footballer with massive upside than another year of Colina getting paid to play XBox. If they can delist Bradtke who at least had 5 goals in 1/2 a game as a nugget to hang hope on. How can they retain Colina?

We just picked up another 208 cm ruckman and put him on our cat b list …/ Oliver Haynes brown

Mate is a Cat-B rookie which is an addition to list spots and doesn’t take a spot up.

Teams are allowed two category b rookies and until today, RFC has only filled one because they’ve proven difficult to fill. In terms of new Irish prospects there’s only a handful of more recent times, for a total of about 11 overall.

It’s a free hit. The rules may have changed, but generally half of a rookie listed players base salary sits outside the cap so even financially he’s not impacting much.

Not taking up a list spot. Not taking up any major $. Has one more year before a call must be made (maximum years is four on a cat-b list).

Likely won’t make it, but it’s still a free swing.

He was signed half way through 2021 knowing he would not be present until half way through 2022. He played a handful of games off no preparation and frankly performed accordingly. Then he had his whole 2023 season wrecked by the injury.

Unless his Burt Bacharach is permanently ****ed, we have not seen yet what Colina can do off a decent preparation. Only then will we be in a position to judge his likely value to us.

Mate is a Cat-B rookie which is an addition to list spots and doesn’t take a spot up.

Teams are allowed two category b rookies and until today, RFC has only filled one because they’ve proven difficult to fill. In terms of new Irish prospects there’s only a handful of more recent times, for a total of about 11 overall.

It’s a free hit. The rules may have changed, but generally half of a rookie listed players base salary sits outside the cap so even financially he’s not impacting much.

Not taking up a list spot. Not taking up any major $. Has one more year before a call must be made (maximum years is four on a cat-b list).

Likely won’t make it, but it’s still a free swing.

Regardless of all that it's still $100k. Keeping him on the list another year is literally like throwing $100k in the dumpster. Would rather Balta get offered an extra $25k over 4 years for his FA contract than have an unproductive relative around to chat about Ivana Knoll. Geelong had 3 Irish boys in the same team the year after winning a flag. We've got to look to Ireland as an untapped resource at Punt Rd. 1/2 his salary off the books or not Colina has been a bust and no one can highlight 5mins of Gametime that justifies persevering with him.

Irish players carry all types of risk with none of the upside we need right now. We need a quality damaging mid and a quality key forward. You are not locating those in Ireland. We have everything else covered on our list at more advanced stages of development than an Irish player would bring. Without the homesick threat etc.

Colina’s contract is 0.34% of the total salary cap. Let’s not make it out to be a massive financial burden. If someone offered you a lottery ticket for 35 cents and you had the change, would you not take it?

In terms of Irish players, there have been 47 Irish players on AFL lists since 2008. 11 on lists currently.

15 Irish players have played AFL games. 7 players less than 10. 3 more than 50.

The most common reason for the 36 not on any lists were either home sickness or not good enough.

The Irish experiment isn’t an ‘untapped resource’ at all. It’s shown it’s more likely than not to fail.

Richmond has also signed two Irish players under Hartley’s tenure. Jamie O’Reilly who played four games and Josh Heslin who may have made it through one offseason before heading home.

Colina is still a free hit. Or maybe it’s more accurate to say a 0.34% of total payment hit that doesn’t take up a list spot. If it doesn’t work out, fine. No opportunity has been lost trying to find out.

Irish players carry all types of risk with none of the upside we need right now. We need a quality damaging mid and a quality key forward. You are not locating those in Ireland. We have everything else covered on our list at more advanced stages of development than an Irish player would bring. Without the homesick threat etc.
Why not?

Category B rookies are on minimum chips and have their entire salary paid outside the cap.

IT IS A FREE HIT !!!

Doesnt cos any money at all in the cap and does not take a spot on the senior or rookie list

Category B rookies are on minimum chips and have their entire salary paid outside the cap.

IT IS A FREE HIT !!!

Doesnt cos any money at all in the cap and does not take a spot on the senior or rookie list

Yeah but is there another cat b rookie we could take? Surely we know by now if this guy has any chance

We have had empty spots for 3 years and most clubs have

there really is not that many that have the potential to make it

The Ruckman from other sports look like a good option specially kids that are Australian and have some knowledge about our game like Colina and the new bloke

I can't think of any key forwards but that doesn't mean there can't be one in the future! Dour defenders/mids, Stynes in the ruck, anything should be possible, with the right talent :)

I've got no doubt there will be terrific Irish players in the future as there has been in the past. But I reckon Richmond has put a line through Ireland for whatever reason. Probably just too draining on resources for the likely limited upside of one in five or ten becoming a Zac Touhey or Taidgh Keneally or Conor McKenna. Our recruiters seem happy to scour the shires in Australia for the Mansells, Coulthards, Broads, Bakers, Shorts etc to fill those roles, and if we are fair about it, our recruiters are winning the argument at this point.

Yeh they've done well finding the broads and bakers etc absolutely

There's tonnes of blokes out there in their early twenties that were gun juniors but never committed to the AFL dream, never went through the pathways, but found their way back to local footy. These are the guys we should and are targetting. Why would we bother with ****ing Ireland? Honestly the strike rate for Ireland would be no different than if we targetted Norway. Garlic football is a far cry from Aussie Rules. It's touch footy crossed with soccer.

Player Watch #39 Mate Colina