Player Watch #39 Mate Colina

He certainly moves better on the field (from the few VFL games he played) than Soldo did at the same point in his career

I’m not sure how people can watch Soldo succeed and knock having another crack with this bloke (and the other one)

Colina is the tallest man alive. Whether you are recruiting a footy team, a debating squad, a criminal gang or for a journey to the centre of the earth, you want this particular individual on your roster. It helps that he runs like Emil Zatopek as well. :)

Collina has a high ceiling imo. Otherwise he'd keep banging his head.

Is that the old pensioner that ran to Sydney in gum boots!?
By the time Colina winds hisself up from a canter to a full sprint...in his first AFL game!
We'll all be at home comfortably seated...with chilled tinnies in hand...watching it all unfold on replay TV!

Is that the old pensioner that ran to Sydney in gum boots!?
By the time Colina winds hisself up from a canter to a full sprint...in his first AFL game!
We'll all be at home comfortably seated...with chilled tinnies in hand...watching it all unfold on replay TV!

Cliff Young the greatest runner of any dairy farmer in history.

Emil Zatopek the greatest runner in history.

Mate Colina the greatest 7ft+ runner in history. And don't worry, I have seen him extend on a footy field, he can shift. :)

There might be more to Colina than we thought. A year ago I would have given you my first born if you had told me he would have come 5th in our time trial. Played a bit of footy as a junior, but he can obviously run, which is a massive plus for a big guy. Besides Biclavs, I doubt any ruckman in the league has ever come 5th in a time trial. If Cox can play, why not Colina.

What was his time in comparison to all time trials recorded for our players over the years? Finishing fifth in it actually scares me bc it could say something about our list. We saw all season JGTI and KMac running heaps of km's all game and covering space rararara, but in the end it was meaningless.

Cliff Young the greatest runner of any dairy farmer in history.

Emil Zatopek the greatest runner in history.

Mate Colina the greatest 7ft+ runner in history. And don't worry, I have seen him extend on a footy field, he can shift. :)
Little known fact; Percy Ceruty was at the same Olympics that Zatopek won his first 10000m gold medal - the soviet bloc had seperate quarters to stay in, but Ceruty snuck in to meet Zatopek and they talked so long he ended up staying overnight, with Zatopek giving up his bed for Ceruty to sleep on, while Zatopek slept on the floor - this the night before his gold medal win - well, at least according to diary notes made by Ceruty and used in his Biography called "Why Die".

Zatopek was extraordinary. He won the gold medal in the 10,000-metre race at the 1948 Olympics in London and three gold medals at the 1952 Olympics in Helsinki, in the 5,000- and 10,000-metre races and in the Marathon (which he entered at the last minute) . During his career he set 18 world records, holding the 10,000-metre record from 1949 to 1954, his best time being 28 min 54.2 sec; he was the first runner to break the 29-minute mark. He also set world records for 5,000 metres, 10 miles, 20,000 metres, 15 miles, 25,000 metres, and 30,000 metres.

Colina was playing both basketball and football until he received a scholarship to the AIS in Canberra - around 16 I think he was. Colina may even have trained with State Colts at some point for memory. Whilst he moves OK around a key and was well regarded at Hawaii, what VFL games I saw him in he struggled a bit when needing to move bigger distances involving any contact. No doubt he would improve with time. Didn't he have recurring back injuries that hampered his development?

What was his time in comparison to all time trials recorded for our players over the years? Finishing fifth in it actually scares me bc it could say something about our list. We saw all season JGTI and KMac running heaps of km's all game and covering space rararara, but in the end it was meaningless.

Somebody wasn't paying attention to what Blair Hartley said 3 years ago about the tallest man alive:

1700450959172.png

Somebody wasn't paying attention to what Blair Hartley said 3 years ago about the tallest man alive:

View attachment 1856602

Reminded me of this at the time:

Giraffes are the tallest mammals on Earth. Their legs alone are taller than many humans—about 6 feet. They can run as fast as 35 miles an hour over short distances, or cruise at 10 mph over longer distances. A giraffe's neck is too short to reach the ground.

Little known fact; Percy Ceruty was at the same Olympics that Zatopek won his first 10000m gold medal - the soviet bloc had seperate quarters to stay in, but Ceruty snuck in to meet Zatopek and they talked so long he ended up staying overnight, with Zatopek giving up his bed for Ceruty to sleep on, while Zatopek slept on the floor - this the night before his gold medal win - well, at least according to diary notes made by Ceruty and used in his Biography called "Why Die".

Zatopek was extraordinary. He won the gold medal in the 10,000-metre race at the 1948 Olympics in London and three gold medals at the 1952 Olympics in Helsinki, in the 5,000- and 10,000-metre races and in the Marathon (which he entered at the last minute) . During his career he set 18 world records, holding the 10,000-metre record from 1949 to 1954, his best time being 28 min 54.2 sec; he was the first runner to break the 29-minute mark. He also set world records for 5,000 metres, 10 miles, 20,000 metres, 15 miles, 25,000 metres, and 30,000 metres.

I first read about Zatopek as a young boy in the 70's. I was immediately in awe. The main thing that has stuck with me forever was the sheer simplicity of his training regime. He would go to his local track every day and jog one lap, sprint one lap, jog one lap, sprint one lap until he dropped. Then he would go home and come back the next day and do the same again. No distance runners could go with him when he put the afterburners on and got the famous head wobble going. Great character in the history of sport.

Yep, it became something of a folklore Zatopek's unique training regime (at the time), which is why Ceruty was so enamored by it and wanted to delve into it as much as he could - it was at odds with his own methods at the time. Ceruty then started going to Caulfield racecourse at 4am and running inside the rails trying to create a motion as similar to the thoroughbreds as he could, again to try and develop a ground breaking method.

Of the 24 odd young players who turned up that morning, to beat home 18 others, who would all be pretty keen to impress the new coach is pretty impressive.

It may well be meaningless in the end, but it's sure answered my and most others criticism on here, that he was a big lump who couldn't run past the goal square (judging on VFL games). Will be a different player this year on that alone.

Reminded me of this at the time:

Giraffes are the tallest mammals on Earth. Their legs alone are taller than many humans—about 6 feet. They can run as fast as 35 miles an hour over short distances, or cruise at 10 mph over longer distances. A giraffe's neck is too short to reach the ground.
Can we draft a giraffe on the category B list?

Of the 24 odd young players who turned up that morning, to beat home 18 others, who would all be pretty keen to impress the new coach is pretty impressive.

It may well be meaningless in the end, but it's sure answered my and most others criticism on here, that he was a big lump who couldn't run past the goal square (judging on VFL games). Will be a different player this year on that alone.
That doesn’t answer my question or relieve me of my concerns. 😂

What concerns, that all the young players have gone backwards. I'm pretty shore those younger players will be busting a gut preseason because they all have a taste for it now and like you probably are gunning for positions that mac & Graham are playing in. Maybe not Colina.

Question is Colina's time compared to other players over the years and yes my concerns are if if if his time was below standard then we're in trouble overall as a whole.

Why wouldn't you be excited that the club has 4 young players who ran well enough to beat such a good runner?
How do you know he’s a good runner and where is the evidence? Do you have all times recorded and comparisons to other runs over the journey recorded over history? I’ll get excited if I have the facts and you’re commonly the big stats man and throw them around at will to make your arguments. So Why not now ? Just bc Blair says he’s a good runner means SFA without any evidence of time recordings over set distances. And again even if if if he’s a good runner does this equate to him being a good footballer? It’s a childish and very simple form of logic which means very little as a lot of good runners have had short and failed careers.

The tallest man alive is a running machine. He said it. Hartley said it. Bounceball watchers said it. The only one not saying it is you. Now you are trying to reverse the onus of proof onto others when you are the man making the rash statements. So where are your precise times and distances? He ran a 5 minute mile. You couldn't run a 5 minute mile down a well. There is your time, there is your distance. What do you have Tiger Impersonator?

Is he the tallest man alive? Again where is your evidence? I’m calling you out for nonsense and fabrication of bull shit. Where are the exact times and data?
You’re being a gullible person and are using bull dust to live your dreams and fantasies. Again so how does running a 5 min or Sub 5min or 5:01sec to 5min59sec mile make him a good footballer? Unless you can prove this then you’re wasting everyone’s time and cyberspace with your childish nonsense. I thought you were a grown man or are you Benjamin Button and anti-aging at a rate of five years every calendar month?

Player Watch #39 Mate Colina