Player Watch #4 Dustin Martin GOAT and King of Punt Rd - OFFICIALLY RETIRED

Perhaps he's sick of Dimma picking substandard barely VFL players. Must be frustrating, for all the players, to bust a gut and have it all undone by players not at AFL standard.

I only ever played as a mid and played in some shite teams, and nothing more demotivating than a spud fking up what was, and should have been, a good ball movement up the ground, and/or a goal.

Just putting it out there - Dusty is a perfectionist and he has some average players around him now. All of the top players in crap teams must have to deal with it though. Likely I am completely wrong on this about him too!

We've had a very lean times as we all know, and good players that stuck fat through it all. Let's see what his next move is. Hopefully it's all media sensationalism and he is legit injured and ready to fire up should we be back at the G for finals. We are certainly not a crap team (just a few not up to the level in the team due to injuries).

Perhaps that's it - resting him up for finals!

Perhaps he's sick of Dimma picking substandard barely VFL players. Must be frustrating, for all the players, to bust a gut and have it all undone by players not at AFL standard.

I only ever played as a mid and played in some shite teams, and nothing more demotivating than a spud fking up what was, and should have been, a good ball movement up the ground, and/or a goal.

Just putting it out there - Dusty is a perfectionist and he has some average players around him now. All of the top players in crap teams must have to deal with it though. Likely I am completely wrong on this about him too!

We've had a very lean times as we all know, and good players that stuck fat through it all. Let's see what his next move is. Hopefully it's all media sensationalism and he is legit injured and ready to fire up should we be back at the G for finals. We are certainly not a crap team (just a few not up to the level in the team due to injuries).

Perhaps that's it - resting him up for finals!
Hmm Interesting point BUT

Maybe if Dusty was to think about it and wasnt in depression mode and played the season we could have been Top 4 and fighting for a flag in 2022

That was certainly ONLY sign this year of vintage dusty
Agreed. But hoping against hope that he has turned the corner mentally. I think he has struggled for quite some time. Wondering if mentally he had been giving too much attention to his DRIP fitness app venture?

I love Dusty and really do feel for his loss. I do believe too though that the goodwill and patience in the current situation is wearing thin. Its hard to not feel like this season is just a case of "waiting it out" for him. I watch a lot of NBA, & its common practice for a player who knows they are moving on from their current situation to just "post it in". It doesn't take much for him to miss a game anymore. He has overall been more of a negative to our season than a positive, purely due to the media circus he has added to fairly poor form(media not his fault, just the system).

This will not be a popular comment, so you're warned.

There is a part of me that is getting a little resentful at how this is ending. The end for Rance was him being totally towelled by Mason Cox on our worst loss of the era + a torn knee vs the scum. It was a real downer to the end of a greats career & i do think it impacted his legacy at the club a lot. Dusty's is not as bad, but its heading the same way, its a bit of a downer. As much as his personal reasons form a very reasonable explanation to the year, there seems to be a fair lack of urgency on his behalf to come back and help right the ship. To put it blunt, there appears to be considerably less F-s than previous years. I can accept he might have some less F-s, but the lack of hunger in him compared to seasons past is beyond ridiculous. I reckon he is running at 25% of the F's of 2017. That's surely not something that can be solved by just swapping clubs & cities. And if it is, then why? His not the first player to love his parent & them pass away during their career, it happens a hell of a lot. The majority of times it does not require them to leave their club to re-find their career purpose. Yes his relationship was special, unique with his father, but i believe everyones relationship with their father is among the most important of any in their life. Their passing doesn't mean you just have to move to Sydney and leave a supposed perfect work situation, to continue your career.

Its a weird narrative we have all bought into - it actually doesn't make a lot of sense. The whole "getting away from the media circus of Melbourne" thing is totally overplayed. Plus the guy has sold his image countless times, he has accepted a lot of added media coverage for most of his career, that increased his media profile a lot. He is a national face because of it, moving to Sydney is hardly like him escaping society. It's hardly Nepal.

How could you say that what is going on with Dusty isn’t a distraction to the playing group?

He is probably the most revered Richmond footballer ever to play for the club.

In 2017 when he finally resigned with the club, the playing group and fans were turbo-charged with some of the most intense energy a sporting team has ever seen! Every time he was within 10 meters of the footy, you could feel the crowd energy lift.

Now fast forward the situation to 2022 and you’re looking at the same person not being able to fully commit to the team. We’ve all watched this all time great go from being a rookie to the player we know now, and I think it’s pretty clear he is a mile off what we know…and don’t take this wrong I understand why. What he’s been through is tragic…

But This HAS to be a distraction to the team.

It has been the biggest elephant in the room issue for the club.

How could you say that what is going on with Dusty isn’t a distraction to the playing group?

In 2017 when he finally resigned with the club, the playing group and fans were turbo-charged with some of the most intense energy a sporting team has ever seen! Every time he was within 10 meters of the footy, you could feel the crowd energy lift.

Now fast forward the situation to 2022 and you’re looking at the same person not being able to fully commit to the team. We’ve all watched this all time great go from being a rookie to the player we know now, and I think it’s pretty clear he is a mile off what we know…and don’t take this wrong I understand why. What he’s been through is tragic…

Mate, there are more Elephants than Tigers left in that room - there has been a lot of weird shit going on for ages. I've tried to point at it and say "look", but apparently people prefer to just bury their head in the sand like a 10 year old watching his parents get divorced.

Definitely #eco

Player Watch #4 Dustin Martin GOAT and King of Punt Rd - OFFICIALLY RETIRED