Player Watch #4 Dustin Martin GOAT and King of Punt Rd - OFFICIALLY RETIRED

It is funny, until Taranto hit the stage and spoke fluently, the other top 5 award recipients were all cat on a hot tin roof speeches, Daniel, Bolton, Vlastuin and Dusty. Even Taranto probably said words he would like to re-phrase once or twice.

I captained a lot of cricket teams, and grew up with the common refrain "talk it up boys," ringing in my ears on cricket fields I played on. As captain, seeking a more intelligent approach to our cricket, I just used to say to the team if you want to be quiet in between balls in the field, then be quiet. If you are happy to speak in between balls to encourage your team-mates etc, then do that, it is welcome. Just be switched on fully when the ball is in play, there is no choice in that.

These guys are all very switched on footballers, and I would rather have a 1% better footballer than a 100% better public speaker on our football team.
And what about(ism!) the team mate that never stops yaping...about how good it is...and is always arsey enough to kick a few snags!

Remember Dustin Martin can say in half a dozen words what the rest of us take 5 minutes!! It was on the short side however he did thank who HE wanted to thank.

"Thanks guys, I'll keep it short and sharp. I just want to thank the footy club, my teammates and all my family and friends that have you know supported me over the years so I really appreciate it. Have a good night."

If everyone spoke like this then the event would’ve been over quicker. Didn’t watch much because of how long it took.

Maybe I’m impatient but some speakers really waffled on about nothing much last night.

I just don't think he enjoys the attention. There are plenty out there that just hate that sort of thing and the last thing they want is to be thinking they are giving some long arse self indulgent speech and everyone else is thinking just shut up and let us get back on the beers.

Besides he owes no one anything.

I just don't think he enjoys the attention. There are plenty out there that just hate that sort of thing and the last thing they want is to be thinking they are giving some long arse self indulgent speech and everyone else is thinking just shut up and let us get back on the beers.

Besides he owes no one anything.
I reckon he'd have won about 10 brownlows but the acceptance speech part scared him off. Why he only goes full Dusty in finals.

His speech proved he shouldn't even be entertained as captain, it's honestly laughable when our supporters suggest he should be captain.
Make him captain

Wonder if the players have to make a speech when inducted as AFL Life Members. Richmond get two inductees in 2024, Dustin Martin and Peggy O'Neal.

Did anyone really expect him to give a long acceptance speech? A couple of sentences is about what I thought he'd give.
typical dusty, kept us drooling for more..... but dusty is an action man, not a smooth orator man or one to gibber.

still want him to be our new skipper, imagine the AFL and oppo fan hate if dusty only does about 4 x 1 minute interviews for the year :p but inside the four walls, he has inspired players and inner circle guys to new levels of sheer amazement.

I think his kidney injury will extend his career, he had an extended break which then took quite some time to get back to full match fitness but once he did he was, apart from some very close misses on goal, the Dusty of old, don't argue's and all.

I'm thinking he is going to be Pendlebury like without the basketball references and no reason with him Bolton etc. to show the way to our youth that we cant get back in contention before his magnificent career is over.

Player Watch #4 Dustin Martin GOAT and King of Punt Rd - OFFICIALLY RETIRED