Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones

Let’s hope Callum comes back home where he belongs.
Nah F*** him off has shown he is not a Richmond man and a selfish ungrateful so and so

He cost himself a premiership medal and cost Richmond $100k because of his stuff up
If Richmond had sacked him last year he would still have got a spot on a list but on min $$$ and spending the next 3 years trying to establish himself all over again.

Now he expects to be given the position he wants rather than work for it. The right thing to do would have been taking a 1-2 year deal and force his way into the team.

Clearly he doesnt have the confidence to believe he can

I guess im just wasting my time talking to a wall
your comment about zero link is your opinion and its just stupid and you have nothing to back that up and not sure why you would underline that like its a link to fact ?

Do you seriously believe a player thats getting $450k a year and another getting min chips like fogarty which his club didnt want are the same value ?
the only thing that makes Cj more pick 38 than pick 20 is that fact your club is just sh*t and is last

If Cj had selected to go to say fremantle would he still be pick 38 or pick 20

Your arguments are just silly and really a reflection of your knowledge about football and trading
but your a norf supporter so i guess thats normal

View attachment 1241943View attachment 1241944View attachment 1241946

Haha great post! Keep the great content coming.

Sure, it's an opinion, but it's an opinion shaped on what happens in these scenarios every year. X player is OOC, wants to leave (for whatever reason), gets offered more money and opportunity to leave. Inevitably the selling club gets less then they expect. It's just how the system works.

I think Fogarty is a fine example. Was selected 2 picks after CCJ in the 2017 draft, played 23 games at Geelong (14 more then CCJ) & wanted out. If you want comparable contracts, I would suggest that the Docherty example is one you can refer to.

Well, if CCJ wanted to go to Fremantle, you'd be dealing with the WA Dodoro, in Peter Bell. Highly doubt he'd be trading pick 20 for an OOC player that wants out. They'd put together a contract that you wouldn't be able to pick up in the PSD.

Sure, it's an opinion, but it's an opinion shaped on what happens in these scenarios every year. X player is OOC, wants to leave (for whatever reason), gets offered more money and opportunity to leave. Inevitably the selling club gets less then they expect. It's just how the system works.

I think Fogarty is a fine example. Was selected 2 picks after CCJ in the 2017 draft, played 23 games at Geelong (14 more then CCJ) & wanted out. If you want comparable contracts, I would suggest that the Docherty example is one you can refer to.

Well, if CCJ wanted to go to Fremantle, you'd be dealing with the WA Dodoro, in Peter Bell. Highly doubt he'd be trading pick 20 for an OOC player that wants out. They'd put together a contract that you wouldn't be able to pick up in the PSD.

Did Fogartys team win the flag every year?

Another largely irrelevant point in terms of an OOC player trade, however a common result of a successful side is losing fringe/non best 22 players.

Dan Butlers team flagged every year, what did you get for him?
Was taken in the 4th round and we got an upgraded to a 3rd round in return. Was playing VFL when he left. So pick 20 with more upside sound fair.

You heard this hear first.

Tigers are very confident they can resign CJ if a suitable trade isnt agreed to.

PSD is not an option - Take that to the bank.
I felt that was the case last night after seeing Dimma on AFL360 to be honest. Good to hear that you’re on the same page Morro and someone has confirmed it to you. Thanks for sharing Mate

Richmond will play hard ball on a trade for Callum Coleman-Jones, with rival list managers believing the Roos will have to give over pick 20 as the centrepiece of the trade.

The Roos are adamant they will keep that pick and hand over a later selection given Coleman-Jones played only nine games in four years at Richmond.

Richmond were genuinely filthy that former No.20 pick Coleman-Jones decided to move, although Damien Hardwick’s Fox Footy demand for pick one was very much tongue in cheek.

“CJ, for us he’s a required player. He has requested a trade to the Kangaroos which is disappointing but we look forward to receiving pick one coming back our way,” he joked.

North Melbourne could secure “CCJ” in the pre-season draft but players don’t want to use that avenue because it leaves their former club without fair compensation.

Jack Martin and Jackson Hately only used that avenue in recent years after trades fell through at the last minute.

The other bit of leverage the Roos have is departing free agent Robbie Tarrant.

The Tigers would normally trade for North Melbourne defender Tarrant with a late throwaway pick so it didn’t dilute their incoming free agency compensation for Mabior Chol.

That pick might only be a third-rounder but it could help the Tigers move up in the draft order.

The Roos would have to be prepared to do a trade on Tarrant instead of letting him go so it will be up to the Tigers to play nice on a trade.

I think we're all footy fans and even with footy tribalism we've all had really sh*t runs. I'm not innocent of belittling you guys on our side but that's also footy tribalism (I mean, we all do it to 17 clubs). I reckon you always meet in the middle of these things in BF discussions - if your wish is pick 20 and our response is PSD it's almost certainly sitting dead centre because none of us know sh*t. If it ends up as PSD then somebody on either side got it wrong.

The one thing I've gauged with Dimma tonight and Jack last week is CCJ isn't being begrudged just wanting to play. I don't think a real supporter of North really wishes the worst of Robbie (Brown and Higgo have had plenty of support this year) and his choice has been pretty roundly supported so hopefully we can look at it like our blokes are switching sides and they both get the success they are after.
Good to see the Gunners are following the North trajectory this season 😛

Fogarty is not a fine example. Rucks and key forwards always go for more.

Look up what Preuss went for to GWS or Hickey to the saints or Sam Jacobs to Crows. All young ruckman of similar age and experience.

Anyone have access to this ?

View attachment 1242032
Cost his club 100k
Sprays his team mates for good play
Coleman Jones 👏👏👏

Meet all of norths trade demands
to play in front of empty stands
Coleman Jones 👏👏👏
Shinboner spirit my arse,shytekaarnt spirit more like it.
The only way they can be successful again,by making another club angry and using that as ammunition.
#
Our club don’t forget.
”I don’t either” The Karma Bus.

Fogarty is not a fine example. Rucks and key forwards always go for more.

Look up what Preuss went for to GWS or Hickey to the saints or Sam Jacobs to Crows. All young ruckman of similar age and experience.

Preuss - Contracted traded for Pick 31
Hickey - Contracted traded (+ Pick 34 & Pick 60) for Pick 58, Pick 62 & Future 2nd Round Pick
Jacobs - OOC traded for Pick 33

My god you talk alot of shit without really saying anything

Ignoring the question and only posting what suits your narrative
Which of the players you mentioned got a 4 x $450k contract and was a required player

Im really struggling to remain polite with the stupidity of your posts. I just think back to something my late father once told me.

Never argue with stupidity (norf supporter) as they will beat you with experience every time as they have been stupid all their life

Now go away and bother West Coast with taking Brander in the PSD

Why is it not an option? Do North have another player earmarked for the PSD or is CJ just not willing to go down that path as a sign of respect for sticking by him last year?

Truth is I didnt ask why, so would only be assuming.

If North fans think they're going to get CJ for pick 38, then they're going to be very disappointed.

I am almost certain we get pick 20, but I am equally as confident we probably give up one of our picks in the 20's also.

Something like,

CJ, pick 26 and a late pick
for Pick 20, 38 and Taz.

Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones