Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones

Honestly the best post from a Noth Supporter i have read in this entire period
If more of your posters were this reasonable we wouldnt be as pissed off and react like we/i have

But when just about every noth poster comes here and other threads and mentions PSD in their 3rd breath it really doesnt paint them in a good way which understandably gets a reaction accordingly. Cheers TFW

I think we're all footy fans and even with footy tribalism we've all had really shit runs. I'm not innocent of belittling you guys on our side but that's also footy tribalism (I mean, we all do it to 17 clubs). I reckon you always meet in the middle of these things in BF discussions - if your wish is pick 20 and our response is PSD it's almost certainly sitting dead centre because none of us know shit. If it ends up as PSD then somebody on either side got it wrong.

The one thing I've gauged with Dimma tonight and Jack last week is CCJ isn't being begrudged just wanting to play. I don't think a real supporter of North really wishes the worst of Robbie (Brown and Higgo have had plenty of support this year) and his choice has been pretty roundly supported so hopefully we can look at it like our blokes are switching sides and they both get the success they are after.

Highlights aren’t exactly going to show him getting out marked now are they?

No, especially not if the stats clearly show the fact that it didn't happen.

You've run out of talls to pretend one of them out-marked him.

Anyway, I’m not gonna continue an argument with a bloke who loves himself as much as you obviously do.

In my experience, it's a distinctive feature of 'Chol trolls' that when they're done refusing to admit their opinion has no basis in fact, they can't help exiting the conversation with the same belligerent mindset which got them into it in the first place.

You have to wonder whether Marbs' army of knockers just don't watch our games, suffer from crippling cases of confirmation bias, have memories like sieves, or are just clueless about football and woeful judges of a player.

Quite probably at least two of the four.

Just a "[n]ice kicking action and little else"...

So much 'fear and timidity' whenever he competes in the air...

You can make an argument he doesn't show strength and courage in the air often enough yet, but saying he never does or can't, or is "scared" is just absolute horseshit, as is any assertion he has a decent kicking action and "little else."

He could be special

I think we're all footy fans and even with footy tribalism we've all had really sh*t runs. I'm not innocent of belittling you guys on our side but that's also footy tribalism (I mean, we all do it to 17 clubs). I reckon you always meet in the middle of these things in BF discussions - if your wish is pick 20 and our response is PSD it's almost certainly sitting dead centre because none of us know sh*t. If it ends up as PSD then somebody on either side got it wrong.

The one thing I've gauged with Dimma tonight and Jack last week is CCJ isn't being begrudged just wanting to play. I don't think a real supporter of North really wishes the worst of Robbie (Brown and Higgo have had plenty of support this year) and his choice has been pretty roundly supported so hopefully we can look at it like our blokes are switching sides and they both get the success they are after.
And no issue with any of that and totally understandable , We have had many players leave the last few years
Conca , Markov , Butler , Ellis x 2 , Townsend , Higgins , Miles etc and we as a group have wished them all well and always been reasonable posting on the threads. But North supporters have this years really shown both on our board and north borad - They are really special

"Hi I come in peace and just wanted to know what Cj is worth , Now we wont give up our pick #20 and #38 seams reasonable and a good deal for both clubs keeping in mind we can just take him PSD" - Now what response do they expect when they have virtually come here to flaunt and give an ultimatum

then we see them on the north board boasting how delusional we are that we think he is worth more and they told us what will happen.

Really whats the point in coming here and what response do they believe they will get apart from being told politely to multiply

I’ve read some bizarre commentary on this board over the last week, but this is right up there.

Finishing 18th sucks (I’m sure you can remember the feeling), however I don’t think anyone wouldn’t be excited at the prospect of having pick 1.
And when has Richmond ever finished 18th? Never.

No, especially not if the stats clearly show the fact that it didn't happen.

You've run out of talls to pretend one of them out-marked him.

In my experience, it's a distinctive feature of 'Chol trolls' that when they're done refusing to admit their opinion has no basis in fact, they can't help exiting the conversation with the same belligerent mindset which got them into it in the first place.
Mate, you’ve been sucked into the hype similar to how Kane Cornes was after that game. Admit it, and move on.

He is not an AFL standard ruck. I’m sorry.

Fact is until now we are doing a nice cleanup and just picked out an assistant coach that merited a senior position. Keep in mind we are looking for a team that can have a tilt at the premiership. So far we have:
OUT
CCJ (3rd Ruck or 3rd tall forward)
Chol (4th Ruck or 3rd tall forward)
Houli (replaced internally by Rioli).
Astbury (IN Tarrant as a free agent)
Naish

We retain our 6 picks in the first 3 rounds and should have another pick or two coming for Chol and CCJ but if we have to make CCJ walk its no big loss.

Internally with chol and CCJ going we give clean air to Ryan and colina. No loss.
Tarrant is a like for like with astbury (no loss) but also means we can let Garth go (another crack at a draftee), with Miller and biggie the cover down back. Houlis spot is riolis, and Naish just hadn't made it. We can probably cut 2 or 3 others that we don't think will make it and get about 6 top 50 draftees in as well as maybe trade some draft picks this year for 2022 picks. This isn't list building gents, its art!
THIS...❤

Stats that clearly contradict your points, along with more than enough footage included for you to work out you were wrong. You can't argue with the footage (or just admit you're wrong), so you launch into an irrelevant, off-topic segue instead.

The bloke you reckon was a "constant liability in marking contests" is clearly shown in the footage out-marking McInerney 1:1 twice. Versus ZERO times he was out-marked by him. In other words, the contested marking you choose to pretend was a "constant liability", was actually a distinct advantage for us against Brisbane's #1 ruck - a bloke 5cm taller and 13kg heavier.

In other words, you couldn't possibly be more wrong.

You begin arguing that I don't watch games, while being apparently oblivious to who Brisbane's 2nd and 3rd ruck options are? Who do you think rucked when McInerny was on the bench?

Chol played 56% game time, Nank played 70%. It's pretty simple maths - over half of Chol's game time was spent in the ruck. Getting all those hitouts and being our 2nd highest clearance player...y'know...those things you'd like to pretend didn't happen?

Sadly for you, stats include contested marks these day, you might want to consult those more closely before you try basing a hastily put together argument on them.

Of those 17 marks, 4 were contested. (sometimes it's a polite public service to underline and bold things when responding to people who you suspect tend to miss a lot)

Of course, this entirely undermines your assertion that key defenders were turning Marbs into a "constant liability" in and of itself, but I'm not done yet.

Unless you want to argue Brisbane thought Chol was such a threat that they moved Andrews/Payne off Lynch/Reiwoldt and onto him because he's a more dangerous forward, would you like to take a guess who they took those contested marks on? Maybe you can take them to task for being a "constant liability" in the air?

There is an example of a very brief period when Lynch was on the bench and Andrews did actually line up on Chol, but that ended with Chol leaving him in his dust (Andrews gives up mid-chase) and ends in another goal for Marbs (as seen in the footage I posted), so I guess you'll be dodging that inconvenient fact too?

In awe of your intelligence and politeness in mounting a counter argument in Chol's keeping rayzor...now I'm a tad sorry Cholly has gone...
Both CJ and Chol can play. They have offers from Richmond but better offers from other clubs. Better money and opportunity. Lynch and Dusty contracts give us no room to retain everyone. Markov last year. Ellis before that.
Astbury left us in a hole but Tarrant solves that problem . The draft should solve our other problems. KPPs and mids

Carn Richo, we've got two Josh Kelly threads.

There's a bit of heat between the two groups we've not seen since Dusty (in fairness, the only one we really missed but he wouldn't have been happy anyway if he crossed) but let's be honest, it's a kid looking for guaranteed time and a good kid will get time in the bottom side (and a nice mentor in Goldy). Meanwhile we've got a beloved veteran heading back the other way who we can't give a premiership to. Maybe he'll find it with you, at his best you'll be closer to getting him there.

I think the involvement of Tarrant in any trade will be negated with free agency opening earlier. Wouldn't be surprised if that paperwork is filed hour one. If we get compo, fine, but from what I see any Chol compo is pretty moot anyway with your fleet of picks this year, if it's affected in any way.

For CCJ I was chatting about this with one of your esteemed posters earlier and if we were five or six spots higher on the ladder we'd probably just hand over the second and be done, unfortunately our sh*t season makes the 2nd rounder too valuable. The good thing is I reckon our clubs are on good terms and while we may posture and start low (pick swap or something) we'll end up on 38 or something next year. It won't be a wholesale win for the selling side but there's too many hurdles for that to happen anyway. Sending to the PSD makes no sense for either club. Either way I think these two deals (Tarrant and Coleman-Jones) will be the earliest ones down, no point either club holding off. You'll want to try and accumulate your picks into something earlier before another club strikes and we'll want to see what we can shake out of other clubs like we did with Stephenson last year.
Totally agree Filth.

The above is the sort of rational and respectful post I’d expect from an opposition poster on a club board. Thank you for making the effort to ha a reasonable conversation.

You seem to have more of an intent to have a discussion on the topic than some of your other counterparts who do seem a little more challenged to do so.

In regards to your post, the most pertinent point for me is that both clubs will want to get this down early.

Richmond will want to trade for Tarrant to avoid spoiling to the Chol compo and North will want to trade for CCJ so they can use the PSD threat on another club to trade another player in for unders. If they let Tarrant go as a UFA and don’t trade, there is no reason why we would want to get this done in week one. It’s not leverage by any means, but I don’t see us taking a deal until late in week two if North don’t do us any favours with Tarrant.

I’ve always thought a deal will get done, and amicably. If 38 is unders and 20 is overs it makes sense Tarrant is tied into 38 somehow.

It won’t be too far off that, and if that’s the case, it will probably end up one of the first deals done in trade week. Both parties will walk away feeling like they should have done better, which is a sign it’s a pretty fair deal for all.

I’ve read some bizarre commentary on this board over the last week, but this is right up there.

Finishing 18th sucks (I’m sure you can remember the feeling), however I don’t think anyone wouldn’t be excited at the prospect of having pick 1.
Bet this kid is really excited about it.:drunk:
1632178204071.png

There's a bit of heat between the two groups we've not seen since Dusty (in fairness, the only one we really missed but he wouldn't have been happy anyway if he crossed) but let's be honest, it's a kid looking for guaranteed time and a good kid will get time in the bottom side (and a nice mentor in Goldy). Meanwhile we've got a beloved veteran heading back the other way who we can't give a premiership to. Maybe he'll find it with you, at his best you'll be closer to getting him there.

I think the involvement of Tarrant in any trade will be negated with free agency opening earlier. Wouldn't be surprised if that paperwork is filed hour one. If we get compo, fine, but from what I see any Chol compo is pretty moot anyway with your fleet of picks this year, if it's affected in any way.

For CCJ I was chatting about this with one of your esteemed posters earlier and if we were five or six spots higher on the ladder we'd probably just hand over the second and be done, unfortunately our sh*t season makes the 2nd rounder too valuable. The good thing is I reckon our clubs are on good terms and while we may posture and start low (pick swap or something) we'll end up on 38 or something next year. It won't be a wholesale win for the selling side but there's too many hurdles for that to happen anyway. Sending to the PSD makes no sense for either club. Either way I think these two deals (Tarrant and Coleman-Jones) will be the earliest ones down, no point either club holding off. You'll want to try and accumulate your picks into something earlier before another club strikes and we'll want to see what we can shake out of other clubs like we did with Stephenson last year.
Good reasonable post.
Perhaps your friend Psicosis can learn abit more from you on how to come into an opposition board and be abit more tactful instead of what i see as rubbing our noses in it.
PS:I'd be content with a future 2nd for CJ.

Good reasonable post.
Perhaps your friend Psicosis can learn abit more from you on how to come into an opposition board and be abit more tactful instead of what i see as rubbing our noses in it.
PS:I'd be content with a future 2nd for CJ.

The Filth Wizard is one of the good ones, no doubt.

TBF when we strip it down, he is proposing Pick 38 for CCJ, which is exactly what I'm suggesting.

My posts here have been in relation to why a 2nd round pick (current or future) won't happen

The only thing we remember are 3 premierships.

Do you remember what a premiership win feels like?

TBF when we strip it down, he is proposing Pick 38 for CCJ, which is exactly what I'm suggesting.

My posts here have been in relation to why a 2nd round pick (current or future) won't happen - If that's taken as rubbing your nose in, my condolences, however it's just a reality from my perspective.
There ya go once again.
Quit being so condescending about it on an opposition board.
In fact i'd suggest you stick to other boards or best still your own.
Your starting to rub me the wrong way.

The only thing we remember are 3 premierships.

Do you remember what a premiership win feels like?

Yeah, thankfully I remember the 90's. Unfortunately I've learn over the following 20+ years, you're only as good as your next one.

There ya go once again.
Quit being so condescending about it on an opposition board.
In fact i'd suggest you stick to other boards or best still your own.
Your starting to rub me the wrong way.

Haha I'm not being condescending - I'm sharing an opinion.

You are telling us what is and what isn't going to happen on an opposition board, when you have zero say in what actually will happen
Sharing your opinion is one thing, but replying 50 times in this thread to tell us that you aren't going to trade Pick 20 is incredibly condescending
We get your point, either contribute something new or f--- off

yep might be onto something there Filth , heard someone from a Footy Dept. talk about Cerra and Richmond was in the conversation , and said in the end most clubs are pretty reasonable and if they lose on one deal they make up for it down the line, but there are a couple of clubs that weren't easy to deal with
you got the feel that it wasn't Rich or Freo , so hopefully Roos & Tigs can get this done
CCJ gets to a place where he'll get more game time
Tarrant has a crack at finals
and we mess around pick exchanges, depending on who they have their eye on ...

player movement is a fact of life

Totally agree Filth.

The above is the sort of rational and respectful post I’d expect from an opposition poster on a club board. Thank you for making the effort to ha a reasonable conversation.

You seem to have more of an intent to have a discussion on the topic than some of your other counterparts who do seem a little more challenged to do so.

In regards to your post, the most pertinent point for me is that both clubs will want to get this down early.

Richmond will want to trade for Tarrant to avoid spoiling to the Chol compo and North will want to trade for CCJ so they can use the PSD threat on another club to trade another player in for unders. If they let Tarrant go as a UFA and don’t trade, there is no reason why we would want to get this done in week one. It’s not leverage by any means, but I don’t see us taking a deal until late in week two if North don’t do us any favours with Tarrant.

I’ve always thought a deal will get done, and amicably. If 38 is unders and 20 is overs it makes sense Tarrant is tied into 38 somehow.

It won’t be too far off that, and if that’s the case, it will probably end up one of the first deals done in trade week. Both parties will walk away feeling like they should have done better, which is a sign it’s a pretty fair deal for all.
The 1st time I've read the fact they may want to take 'another player' in the PSD and is a reason not to force CCJ there and want to do a trade. Good point.

My posts here have been in relation to why a 2nd round pick (current or future) won't happen - If that's taken as rubbing your nose in, my condolences, however it's just a reality from my perspective.

You see this is exactly where you come across as a tool !!

Wont Happen !

You have no idea or influence in what will or wont happen yet make a statement as if you are the person doing the deal or have some influence

Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones