Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones

So we will be basically getting a slab in return for ccj/ chol , what a waste having these 2 on the list for 4 years.

Chol played some handy games in 2019 and 2020 which kept us in top 4 contention. He will never have the consistency to be relied on, and really doesnt seem the type you want in finals.

CJ yes has been a waste, will continue to improve but couldn't be paired with Lynch up forward anyway. looks average at best in the ruck and slow, id rather play Soldo tbh.

Also players who are on lists while the team is winning premierships and they arent playing, can always understand them wanting to leave eventually.

We got Nank and Lynch for virtually nothing, you cant complain losing these 2 for nothing. Im sure we will find players to replace them without giving up much.

We should have played CCJ more this year if we really wanted to keep him. Let's be honest - we could have played him for more than just 8 games this year. It is us who chose not to play him apart from when he was injured and when he was suspended.

Unless we are secretly happy that he left, we messed up in my opinion. With him and Chol gone, our tall depth looks concerning.
He was suspended and injured for half the season, was pretty much played when available after getting a few games in for match fitness

We should have played CCJ more this year if we really wanted to keep him. Let's be honest - we could have played him for more than just 8 games this year. It is us who chose not to play him apart from when he was injured and when he was suspended.

Unless we are secretly happy that he left, we messed up in my opinion. With him and Chol gone, our tall depth looks concerning.

Its more than that, Lynch is on big money and if we drop out of genuine contention its a list management problem in terms of pivoting and being agile and attracting new talent

Playing him instead of Castagna would have suited the new rules this year. We know whose stubbornness failed to adapt.

All of a sudden ruck depth is a big concern.

Nankervis mounting injury history
Soldo off an ACL
Ryan/Colina - completely unproven

Big, big concerns for 2022.

Its more than that, Lynch is on big money and if we drop out of genuine contention its a list management problem in terms of pivoting and being agile and attracting new talent

But surely this is planned for. Now we have hit the draft for a few years, frees up cap room and gives us a young team. Will then be easy to attract talent from other teams after that.

The only way oppos can beat us by buying us out.
Pretty much cleared out our talent(coaches especially) because they are not good enough to develop talent themselves.
Need a Tiger to kick start their clubs.

I still think we are in a good position.

SEN will be having a party I am sure the blighters.

They will want to get a deal done for 38.
As opposed to not listening at all and waking him to the psd

We will work hard to get a good deal that doesn't involve 20.

Rawlings is a good operator who has been in the game a fair while at multiple clubs now.

I can very easily see a situation where we get involved in other deals to get a better pick for this, like pick 28 or something.

Rawlings is a good operator who has been in the game a fair while at multiple clubs now.

I can very easily see a situation where we get involved in other deals to get a better pick for this, like pick 28 or something.
It’s 20 or go get stuffed to norf if you do land him you finally have your big fish or was that Polec 😂

Needed to keep CCJ if we were losing Chol so it’s a big blow to our stocks to lose both.

Showed plenty in his games that he has a solid future at the club and took his chances with goal kicking.
If Jack or Lynch get injured in 22 we might be in some strife now.
Chol only turned up for a quarter of the game, he needs some intensity as too often he was caught in no mans land.

He was picked at 20 and has 4 years development at a premiership club, and he’s shown something. We should get better than 20.

He was suspended and injured for half the season, was pretty much played when available after getting a few games in for match fitness
No that isn't the case. His first game was in Round 11 and he was available to play after Round 4 (or Round 5, one of the two). He was healthy and performed well enough in the VFL, but he simply was not selected. He played from Rounds 11 - 16 and then was injured up until about Round 19 or 20 (not sure which one). He was then available and was not selected for one or two games and then received a call up in Round 21. He then played for the rest of the year.

Seeing this and the fact that Soldo is coming back will have him thinking about his career for sure. For a youngster 4 years into his AFL career, he would want to see more security than that. Yes, he was suspended and injured, but that was only for about 7 rounds all up.

I will say though that he's also partly to blame for the lack of games. He broke the club's trust in a very sensitive time for one. Secondly, I believe that he would have been selected to play in our senior side last year as a Soldo replacement when he got injured. This could have resulted in him being a Premiership player for us. If he was a Premiership winner, then he'd probably receive a quicker call-up as a known quantity and subsequently would have received more games this year. Instead, he blew away his opportunity of cementing himself in our side by that suspension. Therefore, I don't think he can solely put the blame on us for the lack of senior games. But, I think it's a big loss for the club unfortunately.

Don't know why he'd go to North though. Don't they already have a heap of young talls?

He was picked at 20 and has 4 years development at a premiership club, and he’s shown something. We should get better than 20.

All true and if he'd played 29 games and/or in one of the flags pick 20 would probably be too thin. You'd be looking at 12-16 areas.

As it stands he's only played 9 games, and had a significant discipline issue too. I reckon our future second works best for both lists.

We're finishing bottom eight next year.

Yep, I'm officially worried, can't see anything on the market of remotely comparable value either. :(
Blake Schlensong?
Absolutely dominated WAFL.

Plenty of commentary suggesting this however he’s stats show he had 13 hit outs in total for the year and averaged less disposals (in WAFL) than Nank did in the AFL.
Good info mate.
‘Only’ 199cm too.

All true and if he'd played 29 games and/or in one of the flags pick 20 would probably be too thin. You'd be looking at 12-16 areas.

As it stands he's only played 9 games, and had a significant discipline issue too. I reckon our future second works best for both lists.

We're finishing bottom eight next year.
Getting a kebab, sitting on a bench and getting attacked without retaliating (all on CCTV footage) is not a "significant discipline issue".

You'd do well in the media with that sensationalism.

Why would your club be throwing $2m at a player with such issues you speak of? I know footy fans are one eyed but that blatant contradiction is really something to behold.

Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones