Player Watch #40: Eddie Ford - re-signed until end of 2025

He was dominant early, but faded as blue got on top
Pretty good effort given that - as we know only too well from the last few years, very few players - and in particular forwards / hf's - look too flash when a team is being well beaten.

He really impressed me with his intent and speed today. Did well against kpd-sized opponents. He and Duurs kept Pink in it for 1.5 quarters.
When he plays , he’s always involved in play.
He’s not invisible like some players
If we’ve got to many half forwards or wingers in front of him - I’d try him at half back.
He’s to good to be left out of the side.
Seems to be the go to go when players are dropped

When he plays , he’s always involved in play.
He’s not invisible like some players
If we’ve got to many half forwards or wingers in front of him - I’d try him at half back.
He’s to good to be left out of the side.
Seems to be the go to go when players are dropped
Agree and he seems to be moving very well this preseason.

Even some of the talk shows have mentioned him.

Reckon he could be a perfect sub for game 1.

He was dominant early, but faded as blue got on top
I don't know if it's just a fitness thing - I've thought that it might be over the last couple of years. He seems to start out pretty well but soon enough he looks a bit untidy and he gets a bit of a tilt on his run in when kicking for goal. That's probably to try for an extra metre or so but it causes the ball to hook or fade. In situations where he has the opportunity to pass he can do a bit better and hit a target.

I'd like to see Eddie becoming a truly reliable set shot goal kick from around 50 or inside. With his marking ability and the confidence to own the shot I think he can cement a spot, but he'll be an in-betweener at best if his goal kicking lets him down.

That shot just after half time in the freemantle game last year could have been the nail in the coffin. It wasn't why we lost but I seriously believe it handed Freo the opportunity to take the momentum and it hurt us badly.

I don't know if it's just a fitness thing - I've thought that it might be over the last couple of years. He seems to start out pretty well but soon enough he looks a bit untidy and he gets a bit of a tilt on his run in when kicking for goal. That's probably to try for an extra metre or so but it causes the ball to hook or fade. In situations where he has the opportunity to pass he can do a bit better and hit a target.

I'd like to see Eddie becoming a truly reliable set shot goal kick from around 50 or inside. With his marking ability and the confidence to own the shot I think he can cement a spot, but he'll be an in-betweener at best if his goal kicking lets him down.

That shot just after half time in the freemantle game last year could have been the nail in the coffin. It wasn't why we lost but I seriously believe it handed Freo the opportunity to take the momentum and it hurt us badly.
100% take Samsquanch

For a low possession player and limited shots at goal, or chance to offload he has to do better. In the match Sim last week he has some very gettable shots that he did not convert.

If you’re going to be a professional footballer, then also work on your mental fitness in addition to the physical aspects to give yourself the best chance. Alex Rance and Darcy Moore were very iffy kicks when they entered the league. They both became dependable kicks, so Eddy should take confidence he can become Mr Reliable.

If the practice game squad is anything to go by he is seemingly a long way back in the pecking order. Which seems silly to me.
I rate Ford but it's a great thing to see someone of his talent outside a large squad like this. In previous North Melbourne teams he's a starting player with no argument, now we have options. It's up to Ford to crack the team, compare this Curtis Taylor playing 57 games in 2021-23 without ever really looking like he could regularly contribute to a winning team.

Had the pleasure of meeting Elvis down at Mr West Bar & Bottle Shop today.

Shout out to Josh Neal of the Further North Podcast, Marnie Cohen of KangaTV and Admin 3 of North Melbourne Closer to a Flag. Plenty of Shinboners coming together over a pint.

480534625_931579775839250_6005353106463834595_n.jpg 480780856_931579789172582_2804089847316940237_n.jpg

Had the pleasure of meeting Elvis down at Mr West Bar & Bottle Shop today.

Shout out to Josh Neal of the Further North Podcast, Marnie Cohen of KangaTV and Admin 3 of North Melbourne Closer to a Flag. Plenty of Shinboners coming together over a pint.

View attachment 2233541 View attachment 2233542
Those further north nuffies think Happy Meal is best 22. They are both footy illiterate, if they were filled with slap stick humour they’d get a pass instead they believe they are great analysts of the game and North. They are key representatives of dunning kruger, for that, I cant take them seriously.

Also, I honestly can’t fathom they have people follow em around. Is it because we blow as a footy club and need some kind of positive North fix?

Those further north nuffies think Happy Meal is best 22. They are both footy illiterate, if they were filled with slap stick humour they’d get a pass instead they believe they are great analysts of the game and North. They are key representatives of dunning kruger, for that, I cant take them seriously.

Also, I honestly can’t fathom they have people follow em around. Is it because we blow as a footy club and need some kind of positive North fix?
What do you like, you sookie little bitch?

season 13 GIF

Look I don’t agree with all of the opinions of all the podcast people , we all have our different thoughts about the club.
What I think is absolutely fantastic ,supporters passionate about our club organising things like this off their own bat for North people to get together and chew the phat. Not that there’s anything wrong that.
Maybe the actual club could take a leaf out of this and do similar.

Look I don’t agree with all of the opinions of all the podcast people , we all have our different thoughts about the club.
What I think is absolutely fantastic is people are passionate about our club and organising things like this off their own bat for North people to get together and chew the phat. Not that there’s anything wrong that.
Maybe the actual club could take a leaf out of this and do similar.
These IRL events are great for building a sense of community around a Club that has given us very little to enjoy over the past decade. I can't imagine how fun they'll be if the team starts winning.

The crew from NM closer to a flag are brilliant. They love dishing it out to opposition supporters and can make light of our very dark times. Good humour.

What they're doing with building Bay 29 is epic too.

Player Watch #40: Eddie Ford - re-signed until end of 2025

Write your reply...