Player Watch #29: Will Phillips [Part II] - Extends to End of 2025

I think we need to stop using it as an excuse now, he's had 2 solid pre-seasons in a row. Having said that, I am not the biggest fan of WilPhil but settle him in a position and give him the opportunity. Make him the extractor, make him the inside bull when he's on the ball. I'm not sure if he actually knows his role so I want to give him the benefit of the doubt until proven otherwise but the coaches need to settle him in a role and see what he can do.
People will say that he has had his chance. I would like to know how many 10 game stretches he has had in his career.

As you say, give him a run at it.

He is the 4th best extractor at the club, and taking into account we probably gain more from Sheezel playing other roles, that makes him a top 3 extractor.

I’m in the camp that if there was an opportunity out there at a different club he should have taken it. I just really struggle to see it panning out for him at North.

People will say that he has had his chance. I would like to know how many 10 game stretches he has had in his career.

He is the 4th best extractor at the club, and taking into account we probably gain more from Sheezel playing other roles, that makes him a top 3 extractor.
Nail.on.the.head

What I don’t understand is subbing him for Darcy Tucker LOL. What has Tucker ever shown he could do to win us a game of footy? His skills are average and he can’t kick goals.

Nail.on.the.head

What I don’t understand is subbing him for Darcy Tucker LOL. What has Tucker ever shown he could do to win us a game of footy? His skills are average and he can’t kick goals.

They subbed WilPhil and moved Sheez to play more as a primary mid. The fact that Tucker was the sub is irrelevant to it all.

I like Phillips but we are already carrying too many whose numbers drop off in the second halves of games. If he can run out games and have an impact across all four quarters then we’ll have a damn good player on our hands.

Otherwise, he may be a liability, unfortunately.

I like Phillips but we are already carrying too many whose numbers drop off in the second halves of games. If he can run out games and have an impact across all four quarters then we’ll have a damn good player on our hands.

Otherwise, he may be a liability, unfortunately.
"damn good player"??? Based on what??? This guy is just going through the emotions. I've seen enough.

Going through the emotions, a perfect subtitle for when these threads eventually hit legendary status.

Will isn't making any excuses, he knows he needs to improve.

Since joining the club, he has played 44 out of the 64 games he has been available for. Based on his performances so far, that is extremely generous. He has had chance after chance and hasn't taken them. He isn't a rookie anymore, in terms of both age and experience he is right in the middle of our list. From what he has produced, it's fair to conclude that he just isn't very good. He is subsequently on a one year contract and on the fringe of the team. We don't need to find a role or a place for him. If he wants another year, he needs to demand one through performance.

Up to Will to impose himself as he'll probably only get the chance until Wardlaw comes back. It would be nice to also be able to have have to rush George back too. Hopefully Will gets a fair crack of it (i.e not being sub/subbed when we had far worse performers).

He is probably in the Lazarro zone though, who got a good run of it last season to see if he could show something. He could not, and was delisted.

Nail.on.the.head

It was Tucker's 150th game and we made a fuss about it. I reckon that played a part in the decision.

Which is whack. We were winning the midfield battle all day. Throw Harry forward where he can kick snags

We were winning first possession. We were absolutely losing the midfield battle, through a combination of panic fumbling disposals, poor synergy, selfishness and a lack of application on transition.

We will never turn a first possession advantage into an actual real advantage that matters if our mids keep playing like that. Will was a part of that, as was Powell, as was LDU, as was Harry at times.

This is some hell of a glandular fever that Phillips contracted in 2022

I also got glandular fever in 2022 and still have lingering effects. It is an unpredictable illness, especially when you get it as an adult.

That said, if he is still suffering from the effects 3 years later being an AFL footballer may not be a sustainable career path for him. Doesn’t mean people should be shitting on him for it though.

We were winning first possession. We were absolutely losing the midfield battle, through a combination of panic fumbling disposals, poor synergy, selfishness and a lack of application on transition.

We will never turn a first possession advantage into an actual real advantage that matters if our mids keep playing like that. Will was a part of that, as was Powell, as was LDU, as was Harry at times.

What I noticed is that we seemed not to be able to generate a 3rd possession from the CB with the receiver in enough space to hit a targetted kick. Too often the third possession was a dump kick forward 30 to 40 metres that was easy pickings for the WB halfbacks to mop up. I don't know whether that is our structure and positioning or whether the Bulldogs were just very good defensively in that situation.

This 100%. Outside of winning the first contest the midfield group were being beaten easily.

Only 56% Time on Ground today, and subbed off 'injured' (I asked Patch Adams if Phillips was alright and he said yeah he's fine just 'dinged').

But in 56% TOG played a defensive role, has the second most tackles of anyone on our team (6), gave up no free kicks, and positively impacted the play multiple times.

Shame to see him get injured today because I don't think he would have been the sub otherwise. But I guess we'll never know.

Only 56% Time on Ground today, and subbed off 'injured' (I asked Patch Adams if Phillips was alright and he said yeah he's fine just 'dinged').

But in 56% TOG played a defensive role, has the second most tackles of anyone on our team (6), gave up no free kicks, and positively impacted the play multiple times.

Shame to see him get injured today because I don't think he would have been the sub otherwise. But I guess we'll never know.

Makes sense why he was subbed, because he definitely didn’t deserve it after his 3 quarter where he had a couple of key moments.

Hopefully it’s just a niggle and he can play next week, I’d love to see him play a defensive role on either Dawson or Crouch who have been pivotal in the Crows wins.

Why is the standard for Will always ‘had a nice couple moments’?

I’ve always wanted him to succeed because he is obviously a great guy, but sorry, largely unsighted and ineffectual.

A couple posters on this board seem to have to make a post after every game he plays, no matter how poor, to try and justify his game with statistical gymnastics. The disposal efficiency and game time is always a funny one. FYI, if all you do is handball, anything below 90% DE would be a grave concern.

I just don’t see it.

Player Watch #29: Will Phillips [Part II] - Extends to End of 2025