Retired #43: Anthony "Walla" McDonald-Tipungwuti - Wins a flag with the Mildura Imperials

Makes me sick. How can you see all the wonderful moments Walla has given us to cheer for and then spew this vile sh*t towards him. Sad prick is a big man behind his keyboard, would like to see how he'd stack up against a huge Walla hip'n'shoulder crunch

I'd lock him (the racist that is) in a room with Draper and Stringer and they can 'explain' to him the error of his ways.

Im condemning this comment as anyone but are press releases needed for social media comments by non members?

Just delete the comment and block him from the page seems to make more sense to me. Obviously racism needs to be called out whenever it’s witnessed but these seems a step to far.
Call it out rather than bury it.

The perpetrator needs education rather than simply banning them from AFL for life.

Name and shame IMO

It is sad and really sucks that racism has to be called out, and that ending racism isnt going to end today or tomorrow. But it 100% has to be called out every time it happens and hopefully there will be a day when it doesnt exist.

I dont think violence is the answer to end racism, violence also needs to end and also called out, so Hip and shoulder crunches, or locking racists in a room to be taught a lesson is definitely not the answer.

I reckon the club and Walla have handled it really well.

I agree because the way to educate is to explain why it is wrong which can be done 1:1 between the club and supporter but more broadly the club has used the opportunity to send a public statement about behaviors.

The number of people that don't understand the basic laws around not discriminating is alarming.

education doesn’t work. look at Tex Walker.

It’s not about Tex, or the flog that posted on Twitter about Tipungwuti. It’s about every single young indigenous kid (or any other background) seeing the public support and response and knowing that comments like that aren’t OK.

huh? i agree with the bolded, but also - saying education is the answer is naive - it doesn’t work.

That’s what I mean, it’s not about the flogs. They’re going to be flogs regardless. It’s about making sure that the behaviour is clearly not ok, and that these people are recognised as being flogs and not representative of what’s acceptable or what people think.

education doesn’t work. look at Tex Walker.

Ask most who are affected and they will say education every time. It will not work for everyone but it is important that we educate kids as they are the ones that learn the behavior. As I have mentioned before on this forum I have a small Aboriginal heritage but I am as white as the next white Aussie. My cousin and best mate has an Indigenous father and his mum is my mums sister so she has that part Aboriginal heritage. I have seen first hand how different two Aussie born mates from the same family in the same year can be treated because one has darker skin . It is appalling and totally devastating to have to watch it.
Education and calling it out is the key. We are a racist country more than people will admit. Now I am not saying we all hate other races. There is only a small element in that. The real issue is the uneducated racisms. Those who use the remarks learnt from our parents or the attitudes that it is okay it is only a few words.
The Tex Walkers of the world may not learn although I suspect he has now completely trashed himself to the point of no return so he has to wear it.
The education is call it out. If you are with a group and someone uses a racist term have the balls to call it out. My cousin should not have to live his life just waiting to be attacked every week. Eddie should not have to be on TV telling his story.
It may not work for everyone but education is the key. Changing old habits and recognizing how it was is not right. Our heritage is white domination over other groups. We have to own it and have to learn from it and we have to draw a line on what is and is not acceptable.
Not pointing anything of this at you or making the slightest suggestion of anything else other than saying from close up experience education is the key even if a percentage of the punters do not end up getting it anyway.

I sometimes wonder about the wisdom of ‘name and shame’. I think the negative attention is what some of these twats want, and may inspire copycats.

Not saying the act itself shouldn’t be called out. But let’s not publicise the clowns that commit the act.

CONTENT WARNING - I'm going to be throwing around some racist terms in the below, so just a heads up.

It does.

It's a slow burn undoubtedly, and w***ers like this piece of shit (who I assume I can't name here because of BF policy) are unlikely to ever learn because they have convinced themselves they are important (hyper-inflated view) and can 'do what they want'. It's a classic neo-narcissist - which in itself is another discussion, but yeah - this ****wit won't be learning anything.

But it works for a LOT of people.

As an example, when I was growing up it was not uncommon for my parents generation to talk about 'the nips who live next door', or comment on 'the black bastards in the park'.

They didn't particularly mean anything by it, although I'm sure there was some inherent prejudice there - but it was racist regardless. And moreover, it was pretty common and accepted. It meant that this language was heard pretty frequently by a lot of people.

And what is heard a lot, is accepted by a lot (a tool that our campaignerish PM uses on a daily basis - but that's another topic).

Education serves two main purposes. It repeats the message that these things are not ok, and secondly it seeks to teach about the real harm caused by racism - from blatant racist bullshit through to casual racism.

And it DOES work. The earlier examples I gave? I couldn't imagine hearing those same things out of those same people today. Because consciously or not, that message, that LEARNING has gotten through.

And that's the thing, you (and I am putting words in your mouth here so feel free to correct me) view the blatant racist bullshit seen by that bogan, useless piece of shit and think there's no way 'education' is changing him - and you're right. But calling him out and having this constant, repeated messaging as part of broader education DOES work on a lot of people, ultimately enough to make significant inroads.

Judt heard of this racist abuse of Tippa.

Let me say, that while I am no great fan of Essendon, I have always respected your clubs lead on indigenous players and issues.
Sheedy was brilliant at this and has helped in the fight against ignorance and racism.

This is not a reflection on the EFC, only on small minded fools. Every club has them. You would think that after the Nicky Winmar jumper the action would raise all Saints supporters to a high level, but still I heard a Saints supporter call an indigenous Collingwood play a 'petrol sniffer' 20 years later.

BTW, if you ever get the chance, go to the Tiwi Islands, great trip out and lovely people.

Maybe I was being too simplistic. Of course education at an early age works. I'm referring to handling this situation specifically.

But this is my position, and I stand by it:

And that's the thing, you (and I am putting words in your mouth here so feel free to correct me) view the blatant racist bullshit seen by that bogan, useless piece of sh*t and think there's no way 'education' is changing him - and you're right.

CONTENT WARNING - I'm going to be throwing around some racist terms in the below, so just a heads up.

It does.

It's a slow burn undoubtedly, and w***ers like this piece of sh*t (who I assume I can't name here because of BF policy) are unlikely to ever learn because they have convinced themselves they are important (hyper-inflated view) and can 'do what they want'. It's a classic neo-narcissist - which in itself is another discussion, but yeah - this ******* won't be learning anything.

But it works for a LOT of people.

As an example, when I was growing up it was not uncommon for my parents generation to talk about 'the nips who live next door', or comment on 'the black bastards in the park'.

They didn't particularly mean anything by it, although I'm sure there was some inherent prejudice there - but it was racist regardless. And moreover, it was pretty common and accepted. It meant that this language was heard pretty frequently by a lot of people.

And what is heard a lot, is accepted by a lot (a tool that our campaignerish PM uses on a daily basis - but that's another topic).

Education serves two main purposes. It repeats the message that these things are not ok, and secondly it seeks to teach about the real harm caused by racism - from blatant racist bullshit through to casual racism.

And it DOES work. The earlier examples I gave? I couldn't imagine hearing those same things out of those same people today. Because consciously or not, that message, that LEARNING has gotten through.

And that's the thing, you (and I am putting words in your mouth here so feel free to correct me) view the blatant racist bullshit seen by that bogan, useless piece of sh*t and think there's no way 'education' is changing him - and you're right. But calling him out and having this constant, repeated messaging as part of broader education DOES work on a lot of people, ultimately enough to make significant inroads.

Just on the whole education thing too it does also help against the less obscene racist behaviour.

There are words that are used fairly commonly that have history as being a slur against a people, group or race. But the meaning for most of society has come to mean something else.

These remarks still hurt those who they were originally aimed at, yet the word is used so liberally as others no one notices.

Education can help teach the history behind things so that more people know it, and as much as it sometimes appears not the case, most people won't say/do something if they are aware that it will cause harm to another person.

That's how we grow, education for the masses, condemnation for the fools who still continue after that education.

Maybe I was being too simplistic. Of course education at an early age works. I'm referring to handling this situation specifically.

But this is my position, and I stand by it:

I would say you can still change things. The more it becomes unacceptable by the majority then the bigger the goose you look when you stick your neck out.
There will always be a dickhead that will not learn or does not want to learn but education does work across all ages. I have seen a lot of stories where people have changed their ways once they learnt the full effect of racial comments. You can not stop trying simply because a few eggs will never get it. People learn at all ages. I suspect Walker has learnt a lot this time around. The fact that he is where he is right now is a lesson to people of all ages in itself. He has to wear this forever now as he deserves to. You just can not say education does not work across the board simply because it may take several lessons for some to get it or the fact some will never get it. Nothing ever works 100%.

I would say you can still change things. The more it becomes unacceptable by the majority then the bigger the goose you look when you stick your neck out.
There will always be a dickhead that will not learn or does not want to learn but education does work across all ages. I have seen a lot of stories where people have changed their ways once they learnt the full effect of racial comments. You can not stop trying simply because a few eggs will never get it. People learn at all ages. I suspect Walker has learnt a lot this time around. The fact that he is where he is right now is a lesson to people of all ages in itself. He has to wear this forever now as he deserves to. You just can not say education does not work across the board simply because it may take several lessons for some to get it or the fact some will never get it. Nothing ever works 100%.
okay - I accept all this, but can we at least consider more drastic measures for those dickheads that will not learn or do not want to learn?

Retired #43: Anthony "Walla" McDonald-Tipungwuti - Wins a flag with the Mildura Imperials