Player Watch #43: Derek Eggmolesse-Smith

And I will go further. When and if Houli becomes available again, Eggmolesse-Smith should not be automatically dropped to make space for him. If he continues to play at this level, and in fact continues to improve, and better still we are winning, then he stays. What is the old saying again? 'never give a sucker an even break'. Sports history is full of stories of established players in the twilight of their careers being injured or otherwise unavailable eventually losing their spots to talented up and comers. I would love it if Eggmolesse-Smith is another one of those stories.

Balta needs to stay in too

Great game from Egg.. he has the Matthew Knights about him I reckon. At VFL level he always seemed to have time. I liked what he produced when he got his chance at the top level last year. I half wanted a BBMid vs North, and thought Pickett to half back squeezing Egg out.
But a different Richmond Played last night and players I thought would struggle played well. Chol in particular.
I wouldn't mind having a look at egg on the wing or as a small fwd if and when Houli comes back
The Knights thing is that like Knights, DES seems to knows where to release the ball before he gets it. Knights did it is an under 12 body standing still but it gives DES that extra time that good players have. The very neat kick means he is safe under pressure, something not many of our players have. Having said that NMelbourne were very average, but he didn't play like a 4 game player. He also has good lateral movement that helps him get out of trouble.

Can’t have enough elite kicks. Gives us some real options to vary our game plan.

Second that, and we don’t actually have that many. The ability to hit the inside 50 pass and the attacking kick to open up the play from half back is the most important kick in modern footy, this kid can do that and hit players on the chest.

Are we quietly confident of houli being covered long term?

Des had a lot of good games in the 2s
Houli covered for sure. Difference is Houli runs and long bombs, Egg seemed to be hitting closer players. I guess we have Short and Balta who are options as long kicks
PS don't move him out of the backline.

Egg is a footballer not just an athlete, the best way to describe him is a neat footballer. fu** his game was beautiful on the weekend !!
I think that’s why Richmond have been so impressive with its rookie and late picks in the draft
These kids taken late in the draft are recruited because of raw footy ability with the hope that they can develop enough athleticism to play the game at the SR level

Broad, Lambert, Baker and DES are all just natural old school footy players

I think that’s why Richmond have been so impressive with its rookie and late picks in the draft
These kids taken late in the draft are recruited because of raw footy ability with the hope that they can develop enough athleticism to play the game at the SR level

Broad, Lambert, Baker and DES are all just natural old school footy players

I don't think eggy ever had big wraps?

Hes improving heaps

I don't think eggy ever had big wraps?

Hes improving heaps
Yeah I just had a look at some articles from his draft year (2017)
He has always had that ability to run and carry off half back and been a good distributor but question marks over his size and ability to actually defend

But considering it was only his 4th game on Friday he didn’t do much wrong
Definitely more of an attacking defender but he wasn’t a walk over defensively either

He has always had that ability to run and carry off half back and been a good distributor but question marks over his size and ability to actually defend

Definitely more of an attacking defender but he wasn’t a walk over defensively either
Well he only played 3 games as an overage in the draft and hardly set the world on fire with 10 disposal average. He did well in the Young Guns game that year. But came to notice by equal (3) winner of the Sunraysia Football seniors at just 17. Could always run although not super quick, and is a very good athlete contrary to what people are saying here. He was poetry on a basketball court when younger and nobody could catch him playing for Wentworth where he had a licence to attack from half back. Have noticed plenty of times how he gets himself out of tricky situations with good lateral movement in the VFL.

You see so many kids come into the game later who can play but are just too small and take time to mature. Many draftee's are often picked by Under 16's which is why Richmond have so many come from unlikely sources who did not get drafted. We seem to have a less formulaic approach. Stack/Baker for example. Doubt Derek would have been picked if it wasn't for our academy.

thats the part of his game that stood out to me most on the weekend...

yes his kicking and decision making were great, but when he was forced to actually defend he was pretty damn good

Houli covered for sure. Difference is Houli runs and long bombs, Egg seemed to be hitting closer players. I guess we have Short and Balta who are options as long kicks
PS don't move him out of the backline.

Short. Baker and even balta are best 22 so can't really replace houli long term?

Where as Des has literally taken the spot and done ok. For now.

Kid is a smooth unhurried mover...knew we had a player watching his moves...it was whether he could be more than a smoothie....has developed a great kick and can take a grab...mini stack!
Kicks left and right too. Stack has had a couple of chances, I'd have 3 or 4 ahead of Stack

How long do you keep Stack out for. He and Bolton the two most talented young players on the list. Granted he had no form, but is easily best 22 when playing well.
Maybe an opportunity to play him during the condensed fixtures coming up

Who does he replace though? Wouldn’t play him over Baker or short at the moment down back and not sure he’s an upgrade on Higgins or Castagna up front... Rioli maybe?

Kicks left and right too. Stack has had a couple of chances, I'd have 3 or 4 ahead of Stack
Stack is one of the most talented players we have, I wouldn't right him off yet and hope our shrinks can work some magic into him.
Im going to go against everyone - Stacks natural position is in the forward line.
I like egg, super smooth and a natural footballer, he is a great asset and love for him to keep his spot.
feels good to see our kids come in and play so well.

How long do you keep Stack out for. He and Bolton the two most talented young players on the list. Granted he had no form, but is easily best 22 when playing well.

I am hoping hub life is giving Sydney some good structure and he should be right once able to be heavily drilled on where to go and what to do. I would expect him back and nearer his best hopefully quite soon.

Stack is obviously a great footballer but out of touch. He was completely invisible when playing small fwd role. Aarts has that position covered. As a small back he had one OK game and a shocker. Egg is in front of him.

Player Watch #43: Derek Eggmolesse-Smith