Player Watch #5: Brandon Ellis - off to GC pick 39 as compo

why bother we all know he's gone if the offer is too good and we only have 400 spare...my beef with you is you belittle a tiger and when proved wrong or over reacting you still don't understand its real footy where you need harmony, balance and culture not playstation afl. if you were allowed in the clubrooms with some of your toxic views and comments you'd me turfed out within minutes but hey thats just my opinion and we are both entitled to ours.... vickory/hunt stuff you mention has some merit but is not applicable now, we were building and protecting our gems putting temporary measures while sorting out the wheat from the chaff. different now. you need a rest and a reset mate. ;)
Mate seriously what the hell have you been smoking tonight , If you want to go back and have a look i actually posted that he had a great night and played well so WTF ???

In earlier posts i have also posted that Ellis has been a good servant to the club and has played well but i would let him go to get the pick and save the $$$ but nothing against him as a person or a player (even though he does avoid any body contact)

FMD if you want to see my Toxic side go and read the bloody ben lemon thread as this is nothing.
Now regarding Club rooms i have been a fair few and never had an issue but more than happy to tell one of my team mates to grow some balls when he avoided contact .

I will put my hand up for that.

while he had a decent game, yes people it was nothing more than decent and at the minimal level and ive watched the game twice now, that should be the minimum expected of him every single game. Imo he still looked rushed and panicked most of the time.

Probably saved his spot for the g/f and good luck to him but as usual just my opinion id be glad if we dropped him.Seen way too much of him to think he will ever be a very good player.

I'm not far off this.

Yeah he played a good game against Geelong, no problem admitting that.

However, he's played 8 finals. Give him enough chances and he's eventually going to play a good one. Could this be a watershed moment and he suddenly plays every final to that standard? It could be, but statistically speaking he still has a very poor finals record and chances are that means he's going to continue to have a poor finals record. So I honestly would be surprised if he played that well again in the gf.

GWS have been playing an incredibly hard, tough, physical brand of footy in this finals series, and we saw how Brando handled it against Brisbane. Given the body of evidence we have to look at, it's only reasonable to expect that he would put in a similar performance.

With all that said though, you couldn't really drop him after his game in the prelim cos he was good. I don't want him in the gf because the evidence shows that it's the exception and not the rule, but I understand he's obviously going to play. I just won't be surprised if he is ineffectual again.

Wouldn’t the indicator of how he’ll go against GWS have something to do with how he played against them last time, not how he played against Brisbane? They’re 2 different sides

Brando killed it against GWS last time

Wouldn’t the indicator of how he’ll go against GWS have something to do with how he played against them last time, not how he played against Brisbane? They’re 2 different sides

Brando killed it against GWS last time

Not necessarily. Depends on game style. GWS have found a hardness to their game that has been lacking. And everyone knows finals is more contested, more pressure and higher intensity than H&A.

Definitely, just pointing out the ridiculousness of claiming his performance against Brisbane is an indicator of how he’ll do against GWS.

Geelong aren’t a bunch of crabs either.

Reckon blokes should stop talking shit and reserve judgment for the big day

Definitely, just pointing out the ridiculousness of claiming his performance against Brisbane is an indicator of how he’ll do against GWS.

Reckon blokes should stop talking s**t and reserve judgment for the big day

Well it's not ridiculous cos it was probably the most physical game we played and he went to water, and GWS will bring just as much if not more physicality.

Reckon blokes should stop talking s**t and reserve judgment for the big day
And when Geelong were at their hardest and toughest, in the first half, Brandon was one of the few Tigers who matched it with them and kept us in the contest... average game, bullshit!!

Well it's not ridiculous cos it was probably the most physical game we played and he went to water, and GWS will bring just as much if not more physicality.
Wait and see but I thought the Prelim was pretty physical and to my surprise, he handled the heat very well. Kudos to him

And when Geelong were at their hardest and toughest, in the first half, Brandon was one of the few Tigers who matched it with them and kept us in the contest... average game, bulls**t!!
I’m not his biggest fan but you’re spot on, he was good when the heat was on👍

And when Geelong were at their hardest and toughest, in the first half, Brandon was one of the few Tigers who matched it with them and kept us in the contest... average game, bulls**t!!
I think Brando is a liability, however, you are correct. He was good early in the preliminary and will not be dropped.
This thread has gone on too long. He'll probably move on for the cash at seasons end and good luck to him.

Boring thread.... just agree to disagree on this bloke.

Wait and see but I thought the Prelim was pretty physical and to my surprise, he handled the heat very well. Kudos to him

Yeah for sure. I didn't get to the see the other prelim but I saw the GWS v Lions game (as well as our game against Lions obvs) and I thought they brought a different level to Geelong though. That's all I'm saying. The game vs Geelong is what you'd expect from a prelim and he handled it well. I'm just saying I think GWS is another level up, the game against Brisbane was epic and very very physical and I have concerns about how he he'll go. That said I think he got bullied by Robinson and if Whitfield plays then it'll be a lot different so he might find it easier.

Either way it's all semantics cos I agree that he shouldn't be dropped and I'm not advocating for it cos he played well.

People overstating his game looking for any reason at all to talk his game up.
Go look at the first quarter for starters, he got the ball 3 or 4 times early in the quarter but it wasnt until late the same quarter he was sighted again.

Go look at most of his disposals he looked panicked and rushed as he always does. i have no faith whatsoever that he wont crap himself in the g/f.

Decent sums up his game it was nothing special it wasnt poor and i reckon if we use the only things available to us apart from our eyes the stats, they back this up to the hilt.

How did his opponents go on the day.

Go look at the first quarter for starters, he got the ball 3 or 4 times early in the quarter but it wasnt until late the same quarter he was sighted again.

Go look at most of his disposals he looked panicked and rushed as he always does. i have no faith whatsoever that he wont crap himself in the g/f.

Decent sums up his game it was nothing special it wasnt poor and i reckon if we use the only things available to us apart from our eyes the stats, they back this up to the hilt.

Blicavs got about 10 touches for the game.
PS: 13 touches in the first half when the game was at it's hottest.

If Ellis plays with the confidence and attitude that he did last week in the GF he will not be found out. His confidence takes a battering when he starts making mistakes and second guessing himself. Should take a fair bit of confidence into this weeks game.
Dimma should just show him his last quarter bee line for the ball when Tim Kelly was about to burst through, a twelve point swing in a nineteen point game.

Do you know why he was a bit quiet after his early touches? Because he was on the bench!

And yeah that blister bloke and Ablett late had no impact

Do you even watch the games?

Do you know why he was a bit quiet after his early touches? Because he was on the bench!

And yeah that blister bloke and Ablett late had no impact

Do you even watch the games?
Brando is our best defensive runner to those that may not realise
he has been one of Hardwicks unsung heroes.

Dimma often lets him off the leash early... we like to set up a lead and hold it and draw away in the last.......gives Brando his pine time mid 2nd and mid 3rd. often plays 88+ mins GT which is obscene.

Early or sometime in the second and all of 3rd he's on he gets Brando into a more dour, spare back, block outside avenues to oppo goals etc etc... go into lockdown in dangerous space 60 metres boundary side of the play so oppo teams are forced to risk the corridor where our hyenas are in pounce mode etc etc...very similar pattern most weeks and part of our system getting/keeping the game on our terms .... and in the last it usually, get on his bike again with your superior endurance and gut run and link and run from back pocket to forward 50 like a man possessed mopping up and monitoring dangerous Gaff, Cluggage and Ablett types like a quiet achiever....Naish, Balta, Pickett, Stack, Ross, Turner may end up handy or even stars but won't be a Brando in 2020 unless he goes.

Brando is our best defensive runner to those that may not realise
he has been one of Hardwicks unsung heroes.

Dimma often lets him off the leash early... we like to set up a lead and hold it and draw away in the last.......gives Brando his pine time mid 2nd and mid 3rd. often plays 88+ mins GT which is obscene.

Early or sometime in the second and all of 3rd he's on he gets Brando into a more dour, spare back, block outside avenues to oppo goals etc etc... go into lockdown in dangerous space 60 metres boundary side of the play so oppo teams are forced to risk the corridor where our hyenas are in pounce mode etc etc...very similar pattern most weeks and part of our system getting/keeping the game on our terms .... and in the last it usually, get on his bike again with your superior endurance and gut run and link and run from back pocket to forward 50 like a man possessed mopping up and monitoring dangerous Gaff, Cluggage and Ablett types like a quiet achiever....Naish, Balta, Pickett, Stack, Ross, Turner may end up handy or even stars but won't be a Brando in 2020 unless he goes.
No they won't have the running ability or know the patterns that is for sure, but I'd put money on Stack being a star wingman next year, Pickett maybe likewise and Ross will be a gun centre square midfielder. Lambert and Edwards could easily do the job. McCluggage is 21 years old an a star wingman. Ellis is a role player that's for sure, but give me a McCluggage type any day.

or Rayner if he gets a tank. holy cow

Player Watch #5: Brandon Ellis - off to GC pick 39 as compo