Player Watch #50 Marlion Pickett Retirement

No joke, is in all Australian form.
would be leading our b and f by some margin ahead of d Rioli.
Think he uses super glue instead of grippo, clunks his marks as good as anyone

I didn’t know there were any spots for wingers in the AA team….😉

Comms said today he is the second ranked winger in the comp this season. I would definitely consider some inside midfield time for him. But he is going beautifully on the wing.

Someone needs to go through this thread and shame-quote every clueless whiner who said he was no good and should be sent back to Perf. (I nominate you.)

Absolute gun, best winger in the comp. Coulda used him on-ball today when they were flogging our third-stringers.

Love marls , how could you not , good,lord has he got talent , if I was a kid I’d have his number on my jumper . Hope we sign him to a contract he deserves and he can set himself up
Some revisionist history being written about this bloke.

Surely you're aware of the disbelief and downright fury (as recently as this pre season) by so many on this forum when Marlion was signed on a 2y deal for $500k per year (which the club came out and said at the time was to help him and his young family) and reward him for his high quality play and work ethic and his future value.

There were plenty of pretty ugly comments by so called supporters of the club, even after Marlion (through his manager presumably) had to apply to the AFL for a hardship allowance during the early Covid era in 2020 when everyone had to take salary cuts and he was on a rookie wage.

Thankfully the club supported him and he is, yet again proving his worth by repaying the club with stellar performances, showcasing his class, skill and toughness.

A true Richmond man who's story continues to inspire and game continues to evolve. Good to see so many on his bandwagon now at least.

Someone needs to go through this thread and shame-quote every clueless whiner who said he was no good and should be sent back to Perf. (I nominate you.)

Absolute gun, best winger in the comp. Coulda used him on-ball today when they were flogging our third-stringers.
There were plenty too.

Surely you're aware of the disbelief and downright fury (as recently as this pre season) by so many on this forum when Marlion was signed on a 2y deal for $500k per year (which the club came out and said at the time was to help him and his young family) and reward him for his high quality play and work ethic and his future value.

There were plenty of pretty ugly comments by so called supporters of the club, even after Marlion (through his manager presumably) had to apply to the AFL for a hardship allowance during the early Covid era in 2020 when everyone had to take salary cuts and he was on a rookie wage.

Thankfully the club supported him and he is, yet again proving his worth by repaying the club with stellar performances, showcasing his class, skill and toughness.

A true Richmond man who's story continues to inspire and game continues to evolve. Good to see so many on his bandwagon now at least.
100% Correct

The guy pretty much got jack sh!t in his first 2 years at probably 200k before tax and deserves the 500k for the next 2 years averaging out to $350k a year over 4 years which is average AFL salary

Then when you add in his 3 boys that literally have footy's super glued to their hands , Who knows how valuable this will become
and Marlions family atleast has a decent start and home when he retires

I will always love the fact he played in 3 flags in his first 25 or so games at the club. 2 AFL and 1 VFL flag to go with his Norm Goss Medal and Norm Smith votes. It is astonishing the way that all unfolded.

But even better is the strong improvement he has shown since coming to the club. It must have been so difficult for him to come from playing brilliant instinctive footy to playing seamlessly within stringent system. He must be an excellent learner and it speaks to the faith he has shown in his coaches and fellow players as well.

I am sure plenty of us would be happy for Marlion to be awarded another two year deal, perhaps on $450k plus good incentives. To watch him accelerate into D50 now with nothing but 100% team first intent is magnificent as a Tiger supporter. He is an on field leader now, by his footballing conduct alone. He epitomises Richmond.

I thought he'd struggle to improve, if at all, in his career at RIchmond. He's been incredible. Had a brilliant game yesterday.

Wasnt a fan of him in the side till this year. Very impressed with his improvement. Has had a fantastic season despite a couple of interruptions. A great story and a great reward for the club for taking the chance on him.

Hmm prob up there with dropping short to vfl for stack lol that one gets me every time

We have a sub these days , We will get him to 100 games even if he has a leg amputated
afl will get rid of it so we dont get access to his father sons

If he hadn't have missed that block of games he'd comfortably be leading our BnF. What a phenomenal bargain pickup must be carried to 100 games no matter what even if he loses a limb. I hope the club really looked after him his last contract. Was a disgrace that in 2020 after his covid haircut he was barely on $70k, which was less than the marquee AFLW players were getting. Reckon he could go for another 5 years since his body wasn't beaten up for majority of his early 20's. Hopefully he has a couple more sons in him too would be an awesome return on investment. Think his mate Parker will be let go end of year though.

Player Watch #50 Marlion Pickett Retirement