Player Watch #50 Marlion Pickett Retirement

Thanks for the heads up Grockadoc and West Aussie Tigers about Pickett,that name has alot of pedigree.

Our team,lots of West Aussies that play in the W.A. origin strip when away.

Now to get Tim Kelly with his mates.

No worries mate. Always happy to provide info when I can.

Welcome to the club Marlion , we will be like the Harlem Globetrotters once Edwards Rioli Stack Bolton & Pickett are all on the field together

I'd like to see a forward line of:

HF: Rioli Edwards Stack
F: Bolton Riewoldt Pickett

Even if it was in next years JLT games, the skills and X factor would be amazing to watch

New Richmond draftee Marlion Pickett says football saved him after walking out of a two-and-half year jail sentence in 2017 and signing up for South Fremantle.
The Tigers provided the jaw-dropping moment of the mid-season draft when they signed Pickett despite his troubled past and an 8-10 week finger injury.

Pickett spent 30 months in jail for a string of minor burglary offences but has been open with clubs about how he has changed his life through football.

He told the Herald Sun on Monday night from Perth that everything he did now was for his partner and four young children.

“This means a lot for my family. Everything I do is for my kids and partner so they don’t have to worry about growing up like I did. Everything I do is for them,” he said.

“I have been out since 2017, so the first week I go out I walked into South Fremantle.

“I have been honest with clubs. The past is the past and I can’t change what I have done but I can change who I have become.

62c2cd82243bf92c5d95956641858721

“(Jail) was hard but it was a learning curve. If I didn’t go in there I might have got into worse trouble.

“My older brother was in there and he gave me a talking to. He said you shouldn’t be in here, he gave me a little clip. (To play an AFL game) would mean a lot, to represent my kids and my partner.”

Richmond recruiting manager Matt Clarke said the Tigers would put the right support structures around Pickett as a long-term prospect.

“We are pretty happy to embrace all types of people and cultures and personalities at the footy club. They have still got to fit our mould at the footy club. We think he does,” he said.

“We have liked his talent for quite a while. He has been in the system playing really good senior footy

“Going into the midfield last year with South Freo was a big step up for him and that gave us a bit more confidence to give it a crack. We think he can add to our mix.”

d404be350717850ab0841f7025bccfac
Pickett is unlikely to play this season after injuring his finger in the WAFL. Picture: Daniel Wilkins
Richmond’s determination to pick him despite the likelihood he won’t play senior football this year shows how much they believe in Pickett.

His manager Anthony Van Der Wielen said he believed Pickett’s hopes had been dashed by Saturday’s injury.

“We have had a lot of interviews with Richmond in the last few weeks and when he went down on Saturday with the finger, we really thought it might have been hard for them,” he said.

“I knew it was a great opportunity for him to get to Melbourne and go through the induction process.

“He is fit as a trout and with his finger he can train really hard. (List manager) Blair Hartley didn’t tell me until 15 minutes before the draft and I still didn’t want to tell Marlion (until his name was read out).”

Remember the days when we only had a half indigenous player (Shedda) and Essendong would wheel out about 5-6 indigenous players in the dreamtime games?

How times have changed.

Not to mention KGI and Laguntas. Will be interesting to see how our NextGen Academy program goes

Clarkey says he hasnt been banged up in the afl system so thinks he has a fair amount of footy left in him , would be happy with 3-4 good years
Could end up like podsiadly played 6 years of AFL when he was picked as 28years old for Geelol...

theres a few of em melting ? wtf? no other supporter group melting but them

they are obsessed

I’ve never seen a supporter base sook so much. No wonder they’re called the handbaggers

Player Watch #50 Marlion Pickett Retirement