Player Watch #51 Jacob Blight

Next Alex rance.. wa boy too

great debut. Everyone please stop posting like our next premiership backline is already on the list. It isn’t, not even half of it.

These guys like Miller and Blight, with size, strength, speed and decent skill levels, that can handle a wideish range of key forwards, they are not always that easy to find. They are not Rance and Grimes level high speed, high agility, high class desperados, but they are likely to stop the most efficient way to lose footy matches happening too often - getting dominated by big key forwards.

Mind you I thought Young looked locked in after 2023 so long way to go yet before we can be super confident, but you couldn't help but be encouraged by Blight's debut, he looks AFL worthy.

Watched him closely and I loved the fact he played like an old fashioned defender. Was watching and tracking McKay all afternoon and this was getting under McKay's skin. Was really only beaten once by McKay fair and square (his last goal). The second goal was really touched and so McKay shouldn't have been payed the mark.

He will learn a lot form this game and is keen to learn.

Great debut Jacob!

What people also need to remember is when you draft a KPD in the draft at 19 years old it usually takes 2-3 years before they have the body strength and defensive skills to handle a 203ck KPF beast coleman medal winning foward
so they are 22/23

We got there without the grooming with blight

Watched him closely and I loved the fact he played like an old fashioned defender. Was watching and tracking McKay all afternoon and this was getting under McKay's skin. Was really only beaten once by McKay fair and square (his last goal). The second goal was really touched and so McKay shouldn't have been payed the mark.

He will learn a lot form this game and is keen to learn.

Great debut Jacob!
He wore him like a glove , was very focused and clearly did t wanna embarrass himself , as his belief and confidence grows we will see the offensive qualities come out , well done tho McKay is a gun and he’d chop up a dud like liver

He did, but it's easier to find decent ones of them with the late picks Clarke always had than KPP types.
Gray nobody even mentioned and he is promising. Players are out there and you need to have the knowledge and the eyes to spot them. Toce is better than most in this caper. Just hope he can now jag us some gun midfielders in the draft who have speed, excellent disposal and at least 190cm.

The guy was pooing his pants with nerves before the game and during so therefore to do what he did was amazing and one to hold us in good stead. Miller with all the bagging he gets was amazingly good and i hold no fear with those two we can fix a defense for years to come.

Nervous start, but settled in to the game nicely. Played more like an old school defender in that he tried to maintain body contact on his opponents while also trying to watch the ball. In the VFL he was backing himself in more, so hopefully as he gets more comfortable at the level he starts doing that more as that is what got him to where he is.

What people also need to remember is when you draft a KPD in the draft at 19 years old it usually takes 2-3 years before they have the body strength and defensive skills to handle a 203ck KPF beast coleman medal winning foward
so they are 22/23

We got there without the grooming with blight
He has played one game mate. There is zero indication that we will be a premiership defender calibre player yet. Good signs. With your Rance, Grimes, Weitering, May, Stewart (I could go on) you are not winning premierships. We need to keep hitting the draft hard and prey some of these rookies become the next Grimes and Lambert. Eases the pressure of having a team of entitled GWS first rounders. Club needs a balance for culture and the backline is no where near set. At least 2-3 A graders off.

Has made a couple of mistakes but has gone unpunished so far
Showing he is a real defender hope the kid keeps it up and for his 1st game at this level coming from WAFL is doing extremely well. allowing Balta to play foward

Will get better and Perfect Astbury replacement
He needs to play alongside Balta, who has more athleticism and is clearly a gun defender.

Balta, Blight, then one of Miller and Gibcus will be a solid 3-tall unit. You could almost play all 4 of them as Balta can swing forward to do some damage, but Gibcus and Miller have the speed to play a little smaller.

Great first game. He and Miller, Brown, Gibcus, Young is a pretty good tall defensive group for the future. We are similar up forward with Lefau, Balta, Gray, Bauer, Koschitzke, Fawcett. We’ll be concentrating on the midfield this draft and speed/skill off half back/wing
Agree with the backline if Gibcus can stay injury free. The forward line couldn't be much more speculative though.

Having said that, you can contend with a good backline and midfield and an average forward line. We should stack the midfield this draft 100%

Great first game. He and Miller, Brown, Gibcus, Young is a pretty good tall defensive group for the future. We are similar up forward with Lefau, Balta, Gray, Bauer, Koschitzke, Fawcett. We’ll be concentrating on the midfield this draft and speed/skill off half back/wing
I reckon Bauer will tip Young out of the side just quietly he kills it down back.
Our backline will be shit hot in the coming years. Absolutely stuffed with talent.