This is literally the least of our worries.
You cannot be this stupid thinking this was somehow a mistake.
Edit: Kane is this stupid.
You cannot be this stupid thinking this was somehow a mistake.
Edit: Kane is this stupid.
It was pointed out at half time but I think the inclusion of Short really helped helped his game overallRichmond were slightly ahead on expected scoring tonight and 1.5 v 5.1 from similar chances final term was the difference. And Hopper and Taranto were fabulous tonight when you look at what they were up against including dominant oppo rucks, and what those Dees mids have done to us in recent clashes.
Taranto butchers some kicks but he seems to be improving his use a little week by week and it will only get better.
We get a run of easier opponents now so let's see what they can do.
This will further improve once we have Sonsie , Banks in the team playing regular games going fowardIt was pointed out at half time but I think the inclusion of Short really helped helped his game overall
It gave us (and Taranto) that handball release option to short who is great at setting up kicks out of the middle
Meant Taranto wasn’t forced to throw it on the boot as much simply due to having no one to pass it to
In time guys like Sonsie will develop into Mids who can also be that outside player to help set up the play as well
Like the week after when the Lions annihilated the flag favourites. I love a bigfooty over reaction. I rather enjoyed last year. Every game we were in it with a chance to win. We had some frustrating losses. (I was at the GC loss) but for the most part we were in games and more the competitive. We got smashed around the ball so we went a way to remedy the situation.
I’m not naive enough to think we are going to win it every year as the AFL cycle won’t allow that. But as a form of entertainment if my team is competitive every week with a genuine shot of winning that what more can ask for. Who knows when our next flag will come 2-5-10-15 years? That why you enjoy the ones you do get. These 2 guys were exactly what we need to build the next crack at around so it can possibly fall within that 2-5 year bracket.
You're on drugs champI think the performance of these guys has been on song to what we expected.
What we didn't expect is that those future first round picks all might be based on a team that finishes as low as 13th, with some realities where it could get lower. If this team has even a speck of the 2020 dust, it needs to come out now otherwise this could me an absolute disaster. If the floor falls out & we just traded 2 x top 5 & 22 selections, then we have just overpayed by about $2 for every $1 of value. That trade for a team about to rebuild from the bottom 5 could potentially set you back several years. The risk was always there though, I felt the need to get both was reckless, club should have settled for the best one and moved on to other needs or just kept hold. We were always more than a midfielder away last year, we were literally playing at 100 all year and had no gears left to elevate to with finals
If the future first ends up being pick #1-5 , which is looking likely , people may then understand we grossly overpaid .You're on drugs champ
View attachment 1669508
2 x pick 5's? LOL At the moment it's pick 3, won't be pick 3 by round 23.
I think the performance of these guys has been on song to what we expected.
What we didn't expect is that those future first round picks all might be based on a team that finishes as low as 13th, with some realities where it could get lower. If this team has even a speck of the 2020 dust, it needs to come out now otherwise this could me an absolute disaster. If the floor falls out & we just traded 2 x top 5 & 22 selections, then we have just overpayed by about $2 for every $1 of value. That trade for a team about to rebuild from the bottom 5 could potentially set you back several years. The risk was always there though, I felt the need to get both was reckless, club should have settled for the best one and moved on to other needs or just kept hold. We were always more than a midfielder away last year, we were literally playing at 100 all year and had no gears left to elevate to with finals
Exactly. TT and JH are known quantities. Picks are a gambleI think there is this fallacy that Taranto and Hopper were recruited ONLY for this season.
That is not the case. The club sees there is the makings of a core already there (Bolton, Balta, Graham, Baker, Rioli, Short, Soldo) and with a bunch of developing players already (five top 30 picks in 2021, MRJ, Ryan, Ross, Cumberland) the risk in making both moves were always there. There could be other hits also currently on our list. But Taranto and Hopper set your midfield for the next five plus seasons.
Getting success this season was always going to be a bonus. Personally, I don’t think it’s fair to judge ‘value’ of such trades one season after the move, let alone six rounds into a season.
Even if we finish in the bottom five (which I doubt), one top five pick isn’t going to suddenly change the direction of building on the already established core. Let’s not forget, Taranto himself was a pick 2. Hopper a pick 7. Young players take time to develop. We also draft five players in the top 30 in 2021, so it’s not as if the club has totally abandoned drafting high end talent over last few seasons. Any risk is offset.
Lastly, you can always trade back into drafts, and first round draft picks themselves are not immune to being traded. Since 2018 I think the number is 12 or so that have been moved. That includes players selected in the top five.
Would I rather have 12 & 19 or this version of Taranto, potentially for next five seasons? Give me Taranto every time.
Would I rather have a top 5 pick or this version of Hopper potentially for the next five seasons? I’m still taking Hopper.
Won't be pick 1-5. We are 2 points off being pick 7. People just like to complain and sook. We play with the effort we did last night we will beat most if not all those teams around us atm.If the future first ends up being pick #1-5 , which is looking likely , people may then understand we grossly overpaid .
Big footy is a funny place. Everyone here sooks about the media but then believe everything they say by repeating itWon't be pick 1-5. We are 2 points off being pick 7. People just like to complain and sook. We play with the effort we did last night we will beat most if not all those teams around us atm.
Also, my reply to the post was we sold multiple top picks to get these guys. That is a massive furphy and just highlights which of our supporters listen to the media clowns suggesting it.
These guys were recruited for 2026 when the club feels it can atrack again
Don't get sucked into media rubbish they were a bang or bust for this year
Club is well aware next 3 years is not even in our thoughts these blokes are here to protect our younger guys and he'll keep three side completive as we say by to our champions
We are tracking beautifully
It is amusing "Our midfield is terrible we need to fix it" now it's "We paid too much and shouldn't have gave away our picks".We paid sfa for 2 of the Top 5 players in the JDM for the next 5 years. I'm glad we didn't take a punt on the picks.
If we were winning those same clowns would be saying Taranto and Hopper would be the reason. It's laughable how those turkeys get good coin to make up stories.Taranto had game high disposals, clearances, contested possessions, tackles and score involvements against the best midfield in the comp and without a ruck. He's also leading us for disposals, tackles, uncontested possessions, contested possessions, tackles, ground ball gets, clearances and score involvements to name a few.
.....and he's still getting better each week. Been a seriously good pickup despite what some shock jocks might say....
Plenty on this board take it and believe itIf we were winning those same clowns would be saying Taranto and Hopper would be the reason. It's laughable how those turkeys get good coin to make up stories.
Not to mention they were not actually #12 - #19 - #31You're on drugs champ
View attachment 1669508
2 x pick 5's? LOL At the moment it's pick 3, won't be pick 3 by round 23.
Easy Tiger.I told eveyone that Taranto was a clanger king but no one wanted to listen.
And yet where would we be without him. We'd have another couple of hit and miss drafts picks sitting in the magoos while we got absolutely obliterated out of the middle every game for the next 3 years. I reckon we made the right call. We've proven we can find talent outside the first round.I told eveyone that Taranto was a clanger king but no one wanted to listen.
He had 32 last week at 80%I told eveyone that Taranto was a clanger king but no one wanted to listen.