Traded 6. Jordan Clark (2019-2021)

You obviously don't have two Guthries penciled in back there like me,you need to get over your prejudices:D
Haha, on a serious note I expect Zac to be a big improver next year. I still think that he's going to be a very good player.

Cam? Well he has the talent but does he have the drive? I won't be holding my breath unfortunately... The coaches need to be tougher on him!

Haha, on a serious note I expect Zac to be a big improver next year. I still think that he's going to be a very good player.

Cam? Well he has the talent but does he have the drive? I won't be holding my breath unfortunately... The coaches need to be tougher on him!
It all starts at the top!

I'm hoping he gets a massive haircut. Will enhance his speed

I'm interested Henderson is being basically written off.....people have short memories. Prior to his knee injury there was no talk of it.

A full pre-season and Henderson will be a lock in the backline.

Agreed but he was clearly best available with where we selected him and Tuohy isn't getting any younger. I'm happy with this selection. We lack elite foot skills so hopefully he can become the player that I hoped Thurlow would become.
I wonder Stan, with Selwood, Ablett, Danger and Hawkins approaching the end, are we drafting defenders so that we avoid potential floggings in the future? We are getting to the point where a good defensive unit will be all we have.

We've drafted and traded for 5 forwards in this period ... Kreuger, Jarvis, Dahlhaus, Rohan and Tarca and bought in another 3 in Miers, Buzza and Ratugolea in the last few draft periods. We're hardly ignoring the forward line.

True, but it's all about quality, and we can only choose the best available for our selections. That is the issue, quality. Of those named, there would hardly be one where other teams would be spewing they missed out on him. Of course, we need to give these recent selections time.

I reckon we've done well with Kreuger, Jarvis and Ratugolea as tall prospects given where they were taken. Kreuger could be anything. Time will tell of course.

Midfield is where some attention is needed now. Kennerley will help with that outside run we desperately need. But we are staring down at a life pretty soon without J.Selwood, Dangerfield (has a few more granted) and Ablett (albeit he has only been back one year) and Kelly. We need to get some young elite mids into the club soon. I wonder whether we will look to trade one of our high picks next year (assuming we get something of value for Kelly) for a youngish mid with an inside game ie. Cerra? Comes out of contract at the end of 2019 and not interested in re-signing apparently.

Cerra is a ripper. Will be like Pendlebury.

As will 17 other clubs. He was worthy of being #1 pick 12m ago, but for shoulder surgery.

If he wants back to Victoria then that rules out half. Then Blues and Pies won't really need him. North never land anyone of note. Bombers definitely as they will want to add to their mids. Bulldogs are probably out as they have a good crop of mids already. Hawks and Tigers will come for him. Tigers may struggle to get him in their cap though. So I reckon it will come down to only 3.

We will have heaps of space to get him - Kelly, Taylor, GAJ all gone- may need to offer Duncan or someone like him.

I don't think it's that. I just think that we took the best available. In the past Wells has been criticized for reaching which I think has been a valid argument and I'm a massive fan of Wells by the way.

On this occasion rather than reaching for needs he's been more conservative and I'm ok with that. Besides, Clark has elite foot skills which is something that we seriously lack. Also, who's to say that Clark won't move into the midfield in the future? I'm not saying that he will. I honestly have no idea cos I haven't seen enough of him but I'm not going to rule it out either.

I'm not concerned about the future of our midfield. It's the forward line that has been neglected for too long so hopefully there is a talented young forward available at our first pick next year that we can draft and invest some time in but there is no point in reaching too far IMO... particularly on a consistent basis. Every now and again it might pay off but you can't just keep doing it in the hope that you'll get lucky. Sometimes you just need to take what's there IMO and it looks as though that's what we've done on this occasion.

Those teen picks seem to be really hard cos by that stage all of the pillar type players are gone and if you reach for the type that you're looking for you can end up missing out on a pretty handy player in the process. I totally see where you're coming from though.

Cerra signed with Freo until 2021 late in the season

I don't think it's that. I just think that we took the best available. In the past Wells has been criticized for reaching which I think has been a valid argument and I'm a massive fan of Wells by the way.

On this occasion rather than reaching for needs he's been more conservative and I'm ok with that. Besides, Clark has elite foot skills which is something that we seriously lack. Also, who's to say that Clark won't move into the midfield in the future? I'm not saying that he will. I honestly have no idea cos I haven't seen enough of him but I'm not going to rule it out either.

I'm not concerned about the future of our midfield. It's the forward line that has been neglected for too long so hopefully there is a talented young forward available at our first pick next year that we can draft and invest some time in but there is no point in reaching too far IMO... particularly on a consistent basis. Every now and again it might pay off but you can't just keep doing it in the hope that you'll get lucky. Sometimes you just need to take what's there IMO and it looks as though that's what we've done on this occasion.

Those teen picks seem to be really hard cos by that stage all of the pillar type players are gone and if you reach for the type that you're looking for you can end up missing out on a pretty handy player in the process. I totally see where you're coming from though.
I agree with you Stan.
I don’t think that’s the way the clubs thinking, (recruit defensively to avoid beltings) I think they are looking for best available, however... free agency has changed everything and no one will nominate a club that’s constantly getting belted by 100+ points. It may be a happy coincidence that we have managed to get a good defensive group together.

I think we’ll be trading for an elite MID.

Traded 6. Jordan Clark (2019-2021)

Write your reply...