Traded 6. Jordan Clark (2019-2021)

Reckon it will be more than that. I can see Taylor, Smith, S.Selwood, Buzza and possibly Henderson all leaving.
Henderson won't retire for a few more years yet.

So we haven’t been deterred from recruiting west Australians then? :tonguewink:
*Had to be said*

Clark made it known he wanted to move to Victoria to play footy, when asked about how he will go being away from home.

why should we ... until its shown that its a on going issue .. traditionally we have a great tie in with wa and sa kids.

perhaps we need to be more aware of older players and their entourage ... I guess it will be assessed once we look at the total trip start and finish ..

I have seen J.Clark play a few times - was very pleasantly suprised that he fell to our pick. Played some really good WAFL games - has pace, takes a grab, tackles hard and is an elite kick. Has improved enormously this year and hopefully will continue to do so. Comparisons are unfair - he'll be his own player.

I saw he had 10 marks in a WAFL league elimination final, he must read the game extremely well.

That’s right. I forgot about the recently established “Josh Cowan scholarship program”. Should give him another 5 years.
C'mon mate, this is the first season he didn't play a large chunk of games for Geelong. He played 41 of a possible 50 before this year. Injuries happen.

Continuing the proud tradition of having a Clark at the cattery.

His got alot to live up too

Yep, Mitch Clark was a superstar at the Cats.:rolleyes:

I would have liked a forward or a mid. Think we have no shortage of defenders.
Agreed but he was clearly best available with where we selected him and Tuohy isn't getting any younger. I'm happy with this selection. We lack elite foot skills so hopefully he can become the player that I hoped Thurlow would become.

why should we ... until its shown that its a on going issue .. traditionally we have a great tie in with wa and sa kids.

perhaps we need to be more aware of older players and their entourage ... I guess it will be assessed once we look at the total trip start and finish ..
See this ---> :tonguewink: that means it is a joke ;););)

3 way battle coming up Taylor, Henderson and Kolo for one spot down back.

I agree. I’m no fan of Kolo but he’d probably be my pick as I want to be playing a team for the future, not so much the now. We won’t win the flag in 2019 so see whether Kolo can cut it as a key defender.

We need to be drafting a KPD next year in my opinion.

I agree. I’m no fan of Kolo but he’d probably be my pick as I want to be playing a team for the future, not so much the now. We won’t win the flag in 2019 so see whether Kolo can cut it as a key defender.

We need to be drafting a KPD next year in my opinion.
I don't think we will win the flag in 2019 either but that won't have any bearing on Scotts thinking early on and shouldn't,we have a tough start to the season and he'll be chasing early wins to set up the year,all thing being equal injury wise the wily old fox Taylor is my pick for the early games,still one of the best at reading the ball in flight coming in and a safe pair of hands,can he hold the spot all season?

On quality Taylor is clearly the best. But another year older, I have doubts as to whether he can keep up with the pace these days. Similarly Henderson. Both looked very old last season.

Can anyone shed light on when Jordan had glandular fever? During the combine?

"GEELONG is confident a bout of glandular fever won't have too much of an impact on the pre-season of its first-round draft selection Jordan Clark.

Clark was diagnosed with tonsillitis and glandular fever recently, with clubs only informed about his condition late last week.

Cats list manager Stephen Wells said the club did not take into account the prospect of its No.15 pick having a delayed start to the pre-season when they decided to choose him, believing the issue to only be a "short-term thing"."
http://www.geelongcats.com.au/news/2018-11-23/wells-delighted-to-land-clark

On quality Taylor is clearly the best. But another year older, I have doubts as to whether he can keep up with the pace these days. Similarly Henderson. Both looked very old last season.

Can Taylor play the role Lonergan made his own?

Lock down, win the contest, chip to a smaller defender who can run, carry,and kick?

No more lobs down the line as we have seen the backline deliver for the recent past several years.

What a thrill to have Boris present your guernsey.

639911-tlslargeportrait.jpg

"Clark is an attacking half-back who sets up the play with his daring ball use and smart decisions.

It's been a fruitful year for Clark, who gave away dreams of playing cricket for Australia to instead focus on his football.

“He’s a traditional half back flanker, a really attacking half back flanker. He backs his decisions to read the ball, come off the man, and when he gets the ball in his hands he really takes the game on,” Selwood says.

“What we really liked about Jordy throughout the year was his ability to rise to the level at every occasion. Whether it be the U18 Champions or WAFL reserves and then into the WAFL seniors at the end of the year.”

POS: Half-back
Ht 182cm, Wt 78kg, DOB 16/10/00
From Claremont/Western Australia
http://www.geelongcats.com.au/news/2018-11-22/pick-15-

Can Taylor play the role Lonergan made his own?

Lock down, win the contest, chip to a smaller defender who can run, carry,and kick?

No more lobs down the line as we have seen the backline deliver for the recent past several years.
Is day both blitz and HT can do that lock down tall defender roll - which is why I see HT making it thru the year ok. Hendo is only a 3rd tall.
Clark I see eventually 2e up the ground once he’s had a years Undet his belt - or replacing him altogether

Go Catters

Traded 6. Jordan Clark (2019-2021)

Write your reply...