Retired #6 Jordan Lewis - 300

I'm struggling to think of a player I liked less that I now love.

Wonder if he'll continue his regular gig on AFL360? (He did it last year yeah?)
He did yeah. Would be good if he does continue ... I think they'll be keen to as well, given the groundswell around us at the moment.

Yeah I'm with you.
I reckon it's funny how you see how good a player is when he plays for you as opposed to when he played for his previous club.
Don't get me wrong, Lewis was great at Hawthorn but I just find myself thinking the things I've seen him do for us are better.
I was exactly the same as Vince.
Was neither here nor there when I heard he was coming but after seeing him play for us I value him much more.

Will be huge this year.

I think our decision making has improved across the board. In one scoring chain one of our young players, I think it was Billy Stretch, could have taken the easy option and hand balled short to Lewis, instead he shot a big handball into the middle of the ground which set up a chain that ended in a goal.

Melbourne juniors of old would have taken the easy option and let the experienced player deal with it. Loving the confidence they are playing with.

There's always the * that it's preseason but there looks a really solid game plan in place and everyone seems to be on the same page
Option 1 handball to someone running past. Option 2 handball to the back of the stoppage and look to kick into the corridor to start option 1
Option 3 player kicks down the line and our inside players swarm together until we can execute option 1

Players know what they are doing now

How long did it take you? I went from "you're kidding" to "wow! No kidding? Awesome!" in just under 24 hours.

Will be a huge help for the coach and playing group when it comes to dealing with expectation. Having a four-time flag winning player with a bit of footy left in him might be what separates this group from the pack. The fact that he's not a front running flog like Steve Johnson helps too.

There's always the * that it's preseason but there looks a really solid game plan in place and everyone seems to be on the same page
Option 1 handball to someone running past. Option 2 handball to the back of the stoppage and look to kick into the corridor to start option 1
Option 3 player kicks down the line and our inside players swarm together until we can execute option 1

Players know what they are doing now

Yep I noticed that outlet player at the rear. Should reduce how often we are scored against from turn overs.

Article in the Sun on Sunday quoted Lewis as saying he already feels really at home and is loving it at the Dees.
Sees many similarities between us and the young Hawthorn list pre flags.

The similarities thing is such a load of shit lol, Rhys Palmer said the Carlton list reminded him of a young GWS. Unless he ment literally because it's GWS reserves in a blue jumper

How long did it take you? I went from "you're kidding" to "wow! No kidding? Awesome!" in just under 24 hours.
It was very sudden. I remember quite vividly the day it seemed to become certain that we would land him (think someone broke it on SEN?) I was in the car with my partner to go camping and refreshing our trade thread constantly. I wanted it to happen before I lost phone reception haha.

Will be a huge help for the coach and playing group when it comes to dealing with expectation. Having a four-time flag winning player with a bit of footy left in him might be what separates this group from the pack. The fact that he's not a front running flog like Steve Johnson helps too.
Liked for the completely unnecessary dig at Steve Johnson.

The similarities thing is such a load of shit lol, Rhys Palmer said the Carlton list reminded him of a young GWS. Unless he ment literally because it's GWS reserves in a blue jumper
I reckon he means more the attitude and maybe raw talent comparison.
Who the f*** is Rhys Palmer and Carlton stink

Yeah but I've heard Treloar say it about Collingwood, Prestia about Richmond etc it's a shit line
I don't disagree.
I just reckon Lewis has a few more credits in the bank than Treloar, Prestia (who is actually operating on single figure brain cells) and Palmer and wouldn't go throwing lines around like these blokes.

I don't disagree.
I just reckon Lewis has a few more credits in the bank than Treloar, Prestia (who is actually operating on single figure brain cells) and Palmer and wouldn't go throwing lines around like these blokes.
Agreed, Treloar and Prestia are dumped in front of a camera they can't say, i only came for the money, or just to return to victoria. It is a cliche but with Lewis you can actually buy it

One of the more amusing things I've heard this pre season was when Prestia was being interviewed on SEN and asked what made him choose Richmond.
His answer was something along the lines of "I was drawn to their strong midfield and blokes like Cotch, Dusty......Miles.............yeah I just reckon it's a really strong group"
Haha, the bloke battles.
Doesn't mean he can't play but he certainly can't talk.
He also went on to say that Deledio should be in the leadership group :drunk:

Its amazing how quick a player can come up with good reasons to go to a club.

Prestia - 5 year contract, no other team offered close to that.
Lewis - 3 year deal, if had same at Hawks he wouldn't have left.

All spin.

But I am glad to have Lewis in the side. It adds some level head (like Vince) to the team and you can already see it rubbing of on the kids.

Even Jones looks to have tried and replicate Lewis's kicking action.

I just assume players say these nice things on arrival because the clubs tell them to because fans love to hear it.

Lewis I've never minded so much, yeah he plays on the edge (as much as you can these days) but he's been a gun for a long time. Melksham and Lumumba though are a different story. Lumumba I never warmed too (other than the brief lalalalamumba moment), but I think I've already eased on Melksham, maybe because I can see some potential having his slipper at half back, but he was one of the few players I really didn't like.

Can't wait to watch Lewis play this year. Interesting he was almost the last man in defence on a few occasions against Carlton. I wonder if it's a licence to roam or an actual position.

Palmer is on his 3rd Football club?
Somthing like that
He gives me a chuckle does Rhys.

Won the Rising Star because he managed to find a lot of the ball, completely ignoring his inability to use it. You could be forgiven for still expecting big things from him on that potential alone, but he never got much better, and now is at the point where he's still a horrible user of the footy, but now struggles to find it as well.

If it wasn't for the fact that Carlton seem happy to act as GWS' septic tank, he'd be lucky to be playing State League footy this year.

He gives me a chuckle does Rhys.

Won the Rising Star because he managed to find a lot of the ball, completely ignoring his inability to use it. You could be forgiven for still expecting big things from him on that potential alone, but he never got much better, and now is at the point where he's still a horrible user of the footy, but now struggles to find it as well.

If it wasn't for the fact that Carlton seem happy to act as GWS' septic tank, he'd be lucky to be playing State League footy this year.

Agree with all of that, but he's a surprisingly good shot for goal for someone with so little field-kicking ability.

Yeah you're right, 95.67 from his 122 games, which isn't too bad a return really, he's averaged over a goal a game the last 3 years at GWS.

Meanwhile, he averaged 23.1 disposals across his 20 games in his first year at Freo, and that average has steadily declined each year since to sit at 13.9 last year.

Lewis will do your young team wonders. Watch Viney take a step-up with Lewis being a bit of a mentor too.

I think Viney will end up mentoring Lewis.

Retired #6 Jordan Lewis - 300