Player Watch #9: Trent Cotchin is an obscenely good 3 x Premiership Captain, Victorian Captain & Brownlow Medalist

Best Captain : Tex Walker lol

I'll bet my nut Cotchin gets it next year
Only if we replicate this year and not fall down the ladder. Cotchin should have at least made the top 5 this year. A shit captain does not lead his team to a premiership after finishing 13th the year before.

If the mods don't change the title ASAP to "obscenely good premiership captain" then I demand new mods!

Bumping my own post to draw attention to the cause. I'll be calling for a spill of mods ala Focus on Footy if they don't add premiership captian to the thread title within a week

Only if we replicate this year and not fall down the ladder. Cotchin should have at least made the top 5 this year. A shit captain does not lead his team to a premiership after finishing 13th the year before.

But we still haven’t beaten anyone good , yet and we are a team full of spuds and we fluked a flag lol

Indeed.

We finished 3rd at the end of the home and away, won by 51 points in our first final, 36 points in our Prelim, then 48 points in a GF.

We had a Brownlow Medalist and Norm Smith Medalist.

We had the number 1 rated defence in the league. We only had one KPF for most of the year and we were handed the worst frees for/against ratio for the year by the umpires as well.

And we are Premiers.

Clearly we're NO GOOD !!!

Wow I was so wrong about cotch. I said he was not suitable as a captain because he was too quiet and reserved and didn't like the limelight. He has learned so much along the way and he's been able to discover a really effective leadership style that he feels comfortable with. I think having Jack, Rance and other genuine extroverts to help with all the media stuff has further freed him up to be a genuinely fantastic captain and role model. Since that 2012 season he has always been my favourite player, just love his skills and quick thinking on the field. Now I'm happy that he can shine in unencumbered fashion.

Bumping my own post to draw attention to the cause. I'll be calling for a spill of mods ala Focus on Footy if they don't add premiership captian to the thread title within a week

You could have used the report post function on the OP with the request and it would have happened faster ;).

Am I the only one who is sick and tired of the extreme underrating of Trent Cotchin?

On-field:
The man is a fantastic inside mid who fights like a wolverine to win the ball. He provides a touch of class all over the ground. He can provide a great target up forward when resting. He is a Brownlow medallist and a Premiership Captain.

Off-field:
He is extremely professional. He has great work ethic. He provides immense support to his team-mates (like Dusty). He provides excellent leadership. And he is the perfect face of a football club - hard-working, clean-cut, family man, humble and positive. Not to mention he took on the difficult job of being the captain of a huge football club starved of success at a young age. And consequently he has had to deal with heaps of criticism and personal scrutiny. All of which he has handled with nothing but class.

Yet the above doesn’t seem to mean anything to the general public. They call Trent soft. They call him a poor captain. They call him the worst Brownlow medallist. I just don’t get it.

To me, Trent is an A grade player, an A+ grade captain and a A++ person. I feel privileged to have him at Tigerland.

Pretty sure nobody will be calling him soft after his finals series, in fact his whole season. He was ****ing unbelievable. Still remember the day when my mate and I both said that we reckon we can go big this year and it was all because of his manic intent in an otherwise unforgettable Brisbane game at Etihad, and he never missed a beat from then on.
And if that’s the template for a poor captain, give me a poor captain, a premiership captain at that any time.
Yeah Dustin was unbelievable, Rance was amazing and Jack took his game to a different place, but Cotchin set the benchmark for why we are all still smiling.

Pretty sure nobody will be calling him soft after his finals series, in fact his whole season. He was ******* unbelievable. Still remember the day when my mate and I both said that we reckon we can go big this year and it was all because of his manic intent in an otherwise unforgettable Brisbane game at Etihad, and he never missed a beat from then on.
And if that’s the template for a poor captain, give me a poor captain, a premiership captain at that any time.
Yeah Dustin was unbelievable, Rance was amazing and Jack took his game to a different place, but Cotchin set the benchmark for why we are all still smiling.
Absolutely. I love Dusty. However, the media hype him up so much and forget how good Cotchin is. Captain Cotchin is an absolute champion in my books.

Pretty sure nobody will be calling him soft after his finals series, in fact his whole season. He was ******* unbelievable. Still remember the day when my mate and I both said that we reckon we can go big this year and it was all because of his manic intent in an otherwise unforgettable Brisbane game at Etihad, and he never missed a beat from then on.

Imo cotch should have won the medal for best player in finals he was immense over all 3 finals

I just hope Cotch knows how much the Tiger army values and appreciates him. Love you skipper!!!

I think when the crowd roared in the last few minutes of the granny when he marked the ball he was aware.

Imo cotch should have won the medal for best player in finals he was immense over all 3 finals

He was immense although his granny was quieter but for pure impact it was always dusty. His 5-10 minute either side of 3/4 time in the qualifying and prelims would have to be some of the highest impact per possession Football ever played and he broke both teams in those moments.

And his granny was immense, the more I watch it the more I’m in awe of what he did in a very different way to normal. Edwards was probably next best (another with huge impacts per possession) and then Rance who was unfortunate we ended the game after half time and it limited his ability to impact the game. Houli and Graham round out the top 5.

The fact Cotch is the first player almost every draftee or recruit mentions in their initial interview suggests he has a massive and immediate impact on his fellow players.
The acknowledgement from Shane and Dustin for the work he has done for Dustin is another example of the respect he has from the players .

Let the idiots be idiots. The Tiger faithful know that he is our captain, that without him Dusty would never have bloomed, that without his leadership and hardness the team would never have dominated that finals series in the way that it did. Our appreciation is all that counts - the appreciation of the yellow and black army.

64a189c37430f2935ee3e7066280aa55.jpg

cf9f9b2178dcb138dd1d5c60e31c4c8c.jpg

a6929390cf30bf1e42619b61f1e196d0.jpg
13ed6581949e8d495a172ec5ee6a2c25.jpg
96a09fbd2eaad99afe81ab2e3827bc66.jpg
f33f048c759737ed643647637672b120.jpg

Some nice testimonies to Cotch for his 200th tonight.

You hear so often about junior prodigious talents...

‘will win a brownlow’
‘future captain’
‘will be a 200 gamer’
‘will lead a team to the promised land’

Some are lucky to live up to and achieve at least one, this bloke has done it all.

Truly a great leader and player for our club and will be fondly remembered as such.

Congrats Cotch on 200.

Player Watch #9: Trent Cotchin is an obscenely good 3 x Premiership Captain, Victorian Captain & Brownlow Medalist