Autopsy A great effort is when you win. (vent)

Don't actually remember typing that last night. Anyway you call me a blow in and others like to call me a troll. No worries to me I don't lick anyones bum cracks like you blokes seem to.
You are wasting your typing skills arguing with some of these blokes.
It is an argument that can never be won and by hell I tried too.
Best to sit back and read the board and say nothing.:)

Our fitness edge is beginning to show its potential in the dying moments of the game. If we can further work on fine tuning that advantage by upping our intensity during key moments in the game, we would be a good chance for progressing to a level that not many teams can match.

We were doing that earlier in the year. We'd be the dominant side on the ground, opposition teams would come at us and we'd lift a gear. We need to do it for the whole season.

next year we will steam roll them, they weren't better they just had a bit more experience
Not just experience IMO ... the Hawks (and Sydney) had something we lacked ... I killer forward target. Roughhead won them the game yesterday, and Buddy blew away North .... Did Schulz actually play yesterday? Or was that him up forward disguised as Neade? ... Sorry being facetious. I love both those guys for what they add to our team, but to be a genuine flag contender (which IMO we have now truly become) we HAVE to throw the farm at a big name forward for 2015, and then over the next two years throw everything at developing Harvey as a future KPF star as well.

This. We're all falling into the common trap already of assuming natural progression and improvement with a young list, which would obviously mean at least a GF appearance. The top three clubs of the past decade who have all won at least two flags and played off in multiple prelims during that time, have done so because of their resolve and willingness to work so hard. Under Hinkley we have shown the will and capacity to do so too.
We must use this disappointment, not to pat ourselves on the back for coming so close, but to work harder and longer to build a dynasty of success.
I want multiple, consecutive prelim and GF appearances similar to but more than Sydney, Hawthorn and Geelong.
The Port Adelaide of old.

Yes. As much as it is easy for all us supporters to say that losing is unacceptable and how we went about it yesterday wa snot good enough, we have to say it. Yes we are proud of our turnaround but I do not want us to be a club that reflects in a few years and regret we didn't make the most of our time at the top. WE MUST MATURE AS AN AFL CLUB and BE THE BEST.

Not just experience IMO ... the Hawks (and Sydney) had something we lacked ... I killer forward target. Roughhead won them the game yesterday, and Buddy blew away North .... Did Schulz actually play yesterday? Or was that him up forward disguised as Neade? ... Sorry being facetious. I love both those guys for what they add to our team, but to be a genuine flag contender (which IMO we have now truly become) we HAVE to throw the farm at a big name forward for 2015, and then over the next two years throw everything at developing Harvey as a future KPF star as well.

Exactly. Look at the premierships since 2010, every team has had an elite key forward:
Collingwood had Cloke in 2010
Geelong with Hawkins in 2011
Goodes in 2012
Franklin and Roughead in 2013
And now in 2014 it's Franklin/Tippett vs Roughead/Gunston.

A key forward who can play in the ruck is exactly what we need and imo, would enable this team to go to another level again. In that sense, Ryder is the perfect fit.

Agree with a lot of that scorcho.

I was a poster praising the group and being proud- not necessarily on last night- but the last 2 years they have given me. 2 years ago there were serious discussions being had concerning our future, and I had lost all hope, much like our playing group. Enter Kochy, KT, Ken and Trav.

I am proud- these 4 picked up a crestfallen group and gave them belief, gave them a dream, and gave them direction and unity. In turn they gave me back my pride and enjoyment at watching my club play footy. Going to the footy is now an exciting experience again.

Scorch- you're spot on mate. We have no-one to blame but ourselves. 3.9 just doesn't put the champion sides away in finals, and we learned another important lesson- disposal efficiency and conversion rate are hugely important in big games. That is the area we need to focus on in preseason, as well as a lift again in fitness.

Ryder for me is the white hope in trade period. Snare him and I feel our flexibility grows. Might just be the missing piece to the puzzle.

We know we can match it with the best- the line in the sand will be drawn. Our time is now.

That is why I so want Mitch Harvey to step up next year. He's 196cm and 100kg and 19yo. He's a strong mark and long accurate kick for goal. His work in the ruck this year show he's ready to take on a challenge and big workload. I'd have him watching footage of Roughead all summer. I was really impressed with Roughead's athleticism for such a big bloke and Harvey is even bigger!

Ryder would be a nice bridge playing as a third tall/second ruck and get some games into Harvey too.

That is why I so want Mitch Harvey to step up next year. He's 196cm and 100kg and 19yo. He's a strong mark and long accurate kick for goal. His work in the ruck this year show he's ready to take on a challenge and big workload. I'd have him watching footage of Roughead all summer. I was really impressed with Roughead's athleticism for such a big bloke and Harvey is even bigger!

Ryder would be a nice bridge playing as a third tall/second ruck and get some games into Harvey too.
To Ford and others who get to watch the Maggies in full and on a regular basis, what are your realistic expectations for Shaw and Harvey's development in 2015 and 2016.
I'm assuming neither is going to emerge as quickly as Tex Walker did as a definite AFL prospect. Are we looking at best case scenarios of mid 2016, early 2017 for really good AFL form?

I love Ken as much as the next guy, but I hope the board ask him to explain that forward set up.

Kicks to wrong players followed by wide entry.

We so blew that game

Should have won by 6 goals

To Ford and others who get to watch the Maggies in full and on a regular basis, what are your realistic expectations for Shaw and Harvey's development in 2015 and 2016.
I'm assuming neither is going to emerge as quickly as Tex Walker did as a definite AFL prospect. Are we looking at best case scenarios of mid 2016, early 2017 for really good AFL form?

There are a few here that would have seen them all season, I've only caught a handful of games but it's been interesting because I can compare between wider intervals. Harvey is the one who has improved the most. He's rucked a lot during the year and really improved. He is a big unit, has a bit of mongrel and plays with pride in the guernsey. He's upped his workload over the year handsomely.

I rate Harvey ahead of Shaw and Butcher at the moment. Shaw has potential but is a bit streaky in effort, Butch could be ... but has to overcome the goal-kicking demons. Shaw looks to me more like a Schulz replacement in time while Harvey fits in the current hole in our forward line.

Harvey can play next year, fitness was the question mark on him this year. I can't say he will be a big goal kicker like Walker but he gives us another option that improves the forward set up which is what Ken wants. He wants goals to be able to come from anywhere.

Port are not a better team than Hawthorn, OP. If you believe that after last night's game, you have conveniently forgotten the previous 100 minutes before the comeback (the very first ten minutes were pretty good!). Still much to learn, young ones. All I saw last night, as I thought would happen all fortnight, was a patient Hawk gameplan of rebuttal, strangulation, the regulation 100 points per game or close enough, and outlasting the opposition with a view to the big one. The comeback was an enjoyable (eventually) bonus, but comebacks hide weakness. If I was a hard nosed Port fan, I'd be annoyed with the lack of capitalisation of early chances, and the way Hawthorn were able to relatively easily hold Port at bay most of the game. The better team won, and the losers made the game look closer than it really was...

Having said that, pumping the chest, getting narky when you lose a big one, expecting success, and for your team to put in that type of effort when they really should be curling up and dying after tough weeks on the road travelling through elimination finals, like everyone else has in the past (like North) bodes well. The rest of us should have Port back up our hate lists in no time...! For now, I would have most certainly barracked for Port if they'd made it next week, and not just because I hate Sydney...! Respect.

This is a fan post for your board, and pure insult trolling on our board.

Afaik that's an instant red card.

Mods, I'm sick of hearing from Hawthorn supporters, and I don't want to listen to their smart assed Sh!t about how good they are

Red please

This is a fan post for your board, and pure insult trolling on our board.

Afaik that's an instant red card.

Mods, I'm sick of hearing from Hawthorn supporters, and I don't want to listen to their smart assed Sh!t about how good they are

Red please
OK, dude, it's gone. The post was honest, non inflammatory, fair, respectful, and didn't violate any of the terms on the guidelines board. I won't say what I think of your opinion, because that's covered in the guidelines too.

I do apologise if any Port fan was offended.

OK, dude, it's gone. The post was honest, non inflammatory, fair, respectful, and didn't violate any of the terms on the guidelines board. I won't say what I think of your opinion, because that's covered in the guidelines too.

I think we just would like to vent and dissect in our own way.
Be gracious in victory. A lot went right for you to win that game. You may have deserved to make the GF, but many of us feel that we weren't done many favours yesterday - either by letting ourselves down at different stages in the first three quarters or by a string of strange umpiring calls around the stoppages and ground ball contests that started in the second quarter.
As supporters on this board, we are entitled to mourn the result as we see fit.
I've been surprised at the lack of humility of Hawthorn supporters at my work. Some posters have come here with terrific goodwill and we appreciate that.
If you want to enter into subjective debate though better take it to the autopsy thread on the main board.

Think you are allowed to be proud of a side who leaves nothing left in the tank and gives you an opportunity to win.

Sometimes you will fall short but you can still congratulate them.

El_Scorcho wondering, did you jump on any electronic media that players might read and hang shit on them for not winning?

Or do you hold your head up high, congratulate the victors and look forward to next season.

I for one hold my head high thank the players for their efforts and look forward to 2015.

If we're going to compare the clubs slipping it'd be 2013 Adelaide and 2008 Port. Both clubs at that stage just got too arrogant and relied on natural progression. In confident under Ken that it will not happen though.

Port 2008 were emotionally destroyed from the events of the previous GF and had a lot of ageing stars aswell. In fact most of that team were retired/delisted in the following 3-4 years.

Port 2015 will not be that team. Right now they are Collingwood 2007 and Hawthorn 2011. A young team that was should've won the PF but didn't, and is mighty pissed off about it. They will be back with a vengeance.

Respect

Just don't come in a day after we feel like we got effed over, tell us how good you are and ask for a kiss

I wasn't offended. Maybe it came across as a bit patronising but I thought overall you were congratulatory in tone.

Emotions are still a bit raw here. I mean I don't like Kenny being continually criticised for forward set ups when he's built a high-scoring, brutally competitive team from smouldering wreckage to one that finished within a kick of a grand final. But I bit my lip (until now ;)).

I think everything has been said.

Roll on 2015 - as long as we can pick up a tall FF we will go further next year and I will be there for every bit of the ride.

Oh and I AM very proud of this group of players, they will mature and they will take us further.

Bookmark it.

So many times you see a club hang their hat on an honourable finals loss only to drop down the ladder the next year.

I don't want this to be us. So proud of the players and the club - but we are nearly there, we can't forever be nearly there.
There's something about this group that makes me feel this won't happen, they won't allow it.

Western Bulldogs were always a kpf and kpd short of a premiership a few years ago.

At the moment we just lack a bit of depth - especially talls up forward. If we recruit well and for our deficiencies with good reliable players we will have a shot.

I hate this time of year, we missed our chances but have hope. However there are 17 other teams building for 2015.

How many regulation goals did we miss? I'm talking, 0 - 40m, 30 degree angle? I remember a lot of shots pushed up against the boundary, or outside 50. You can't kick everything. I'm not saying it is excusable, but I am saying we need to find a better way to give our forwards a better chance (like those guys in poo and wee). We need to stop kicking to Neade 2 vs 1.
Port kicked every bloody one of them against Richmond a fortnight ago in swirling conditions. Could not miss on that day from any angle. Not that inaccuracy would have changed the result.

Awesome effort Power boys but I can understand those that feel bummed at yesterday's result. Would have been a fierce match against the Swans. The way Port move the ball so quickly when in possession and also the discipline to have men back defensively too is a spectacle to watch. Scary good side.

I don't get the "if you are good enough then umpires can't influence" line.

Yeah if you are way better than your opposition that will be true, but if the fact is we are talking about the top level of australian rules football. It was a preliminary final against a very, very good opposition. We were never going to be far and away better than them, so we need a bit of luck to win. The reason I was so ropeable was that the luck they recieved was by way of the umpires, most particularly stevic who noticebly affected the game when near the contest.

Outside that it was an amazing effort, and I am proud of the players and what they achieved. Hawthorn played amazing, but we were still better which is a brilliant effort, and does deserve a lot of credit. The fact is that losing is losing, and as much as I would like to be able to say "I'm proud of that loss" I just can't bear it. It was awful, and I feel cheated and can't believe our season is over.

I do wish our players didn't have so many shots from the pocket, as quite frankly it was lower percentage than kicking to the top of the square. I also wish Brad Ebert hadn't played on at the end there. But to say our players lost that game is just delusional. They played every bit as well as Hawthorn and got unlucky, which unfortunately means we lost.

And you know what, losing ****ing sucks.

Autopsy A great effort is when you win. (vent)