Ablett Reported

The media defence around this was just embarassing.

Started the minute it happened and didn't stop. Even heard Kevin Bartlett say he immediately apologized and that shows he didn't mean it.

Uh ok, he turned around and gave Shiel a look of "C'mon mate, get up", he also jumped at him after he already disposed of it.

Meanwhile Cousins last week immediately bends over and checks of Petrevski-Seaton, but he is a nobody so who cares right?

Ablett got off solely based on his reputation, not a good look for the AFL, this was the closest we've come to consistency for years and they just throw it out at tribunal.

Do you think Shiel feels any better with the knowledge that Ablett has been a fair player in all his OTHER games? I don't think so. I listened to talk-back radio conversation today about the Ablett incident, and after 10 minutes I realized Shiel's name hadn't been mentioned once. The victim seemed to be forgotten. Christian forgot him too in seems. So I sat down and composed a little ditty in honour of all the forgotten victims at AFL house, and it goes something like this.... (sing along if you feel it)

gary ablett you little s**t
finish what you started at the suns selfish prick
when you elbowed shiel it was a deliberate hit
when it comes to afl, might as well quit

religious nut homophobic git
if I had you in sight, upon you I would spit
next to the old man's hospital bed you should sit
when it comes to afl, might as well quit

View attachment 669415
Shiel is a victim in the same way every player tackled slightly high is a victim. It was a free worthy incident only.

Should Ablett have gotten time off?

Yes of course.

This is a classic example of why the review and tribunal process should be replaced with a chook wheel.

An outcome like this would be much easier to accept if it came from a chook wheel.

Started the minute it happened and didn't stop. Even heard Kevin Bartlett say he immediately apologized and that shows he didn't mean it.

Uh ok, he turned around and gave Shiel a look of "C'mon mate, get up", he also jumped at him after he already disposed of it.

Meanwhile Cousins last week immediately bends over and checks of Petrevski-Seaton, but he is a nobody so who cares right?

Ablett got off solely based on his reputation, not a good look for the AFL, this was the closest we've come to consistency for years and they just throw it out at tribunal.
Great post, spot on. The G-long fans can talk all the shit they want, their thugs have been getting away with it forever, so they are used to it. I like Ablett, I do think he’s a fair player, but for this one he should have copped the week, and the moment I heard he only got a week I thought of the swan thug getting a week before the grand final, they knew darn well he would contest, and they gave him an out. So so much bullshit from the AFL, NOTHING NEW THOUGH.

Cousins didn't appeal. This makes your entire whinge pointless.

AFL's always been about punishing the outcome, not the incident. If they gave a stuff about protecting the head this and plenty of other incidents would get weeks.

This is NOT a thread regarding homophobia, take it to the SRP board if you want to discuss it. Continue to troll with the tripe and you’ll be sanctioned.

Or cousins could have appealed.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Who gives a stuff about Cousins? He hit a bloke in the head too. Copped his whack. Question is do you want players hitting others in the head or not?

AFL loves suspending players for legal game actions like tackling, but a forearm to the head is fine. This is the 'jumper-punch is OK' BS all over again.

Who gives a stuff about Cousins? He hit a bloke in the head too. Copped his whack. Question is do you want players hitting others in the head or not?

AFL loves suspending players for legal game actions like tackling, but a forearm to the head is fine. This is the 'jumper-punch is OK' BS all over again.
There was nothing in the ablett hit. Stop sooking.

He hit a bloke in the head with his forearm when he didn't need to. The AFL's either for protecting the head or not, current outcomes suggest the latter with the facade of the former. If you're serious about protecting players you police and punish the action rather than the consequence of the action.

Imagine if we started punishing the consequences of the action in society. Exploring hyperbole, hypothetical bloke A gets a month in jail for murder because he only stabbed hypothetical bloke B once and the crime scene was much cleaner.

GAJ is generally a clean bloke, but the game doesn't need this stupid shit in it, and players don't need lifetime consequences because someone pushed the envelope a little.

He hit a bloke in the head with his forearm when he didn't need to. The AFL's either for protecting the head or not, current outcomes suggest the latter with the facade of the former. If you're serious about protecting players you police and punish the action rather than the consequence of the action.

Imagine if we started punishing the consequences of the action in society. Exploring hyperbole, hypothetical bloke A gets a month in jail for murder because he only stabbed hypothetical bloke B once and the crime scene was much cleaner.

GAJ is generally a clean bloke, but the game doesn't need this stupid **** in it, and players don't need lifetime consequences because someone pushed the envelope a little.
Fine at best. Move on pal. Good result

Shiel is a victim in the same way every player tackled slightly high is a victim. It was a free worthy incident only.
Can’t compare the two.. Ablett leaves the ground with a raised arm after Shiel has disposed of the ball. Should be intentional solely on the choice to jump and make contact. Doesn’t matter if he wasn’t aiming for the head.. he got him in the head. Gaff can argue he was aiming for the chest but it doesn’t change the fact he clocked someone square in the mouth. The stupid thing is, if Gary jumps and braces for a bump and goes high it’s probably a week or two but an elbow gets cleared.. there’s definitely something wrong with the order of those two situations and why the players are confused about how to attack contests.

Can’t compare the two.. Ablett leaves the ground with a raised arm after Shiel has disposed of the ball.
Shiel was also past him, GAJ had two other options other than to leave his feet: tackle and give away a free, or step behind him and play on.

The stupid thing is, if Gary jumps and braces for a bump and goes high it’s probably a week or two but an elbow gets cleared..
That's the other thing. He doesn't have to hit him with a shoulder or forearm either. He can brace with his hands and absorb impact or hit him with his chest, but that's not how players are coached because there's limited consequence for the options that are dangerous to the other player.

Cousins didn't appeal. This makes your entire whinge pointless.
Doubt it would’ve made a difference for Cousins really. The AFL preach “duty of care” and “potential to cause serious injury” and are happy to make a statement when it’s the average player (or a non Vic).. but get caught out when one of their choir boy stars or Brownlow favourites do something identical later in the season.

A day on I reckon we can all confidently say the correct decision was reached in the end. Got a bit dicey there for a second, but after three minutes of hard deliberation justice prevailed. Amazing to think that even after all these games Ablett Jnr still has such an impeccable record. One of the cleanest 300+ game players of all time.

Ablett Reported