Ablett senior versus Ablett junior

Jun 11, 2007
[redacted]
Ablett versus Ablett

Peter Hanlon | April 25, 2008

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/ablett-versus-ablett/2008/04/24/1208743155630.html

MANY stupid things are said in the name of football, but here's the sort of statement to get you committed in a flash — vacancies permitting — to the great footy asylum: Gary Ablett jnr is already better than his father.

Ah, that wasn't so hard after all. Now, all we have to do is mount a case …

Billy Brownless is laughing the laugh of someone who has just heard something ridiculous. Really ridiculous. After a long silence, he speaks in a slightly wounded tone.

"No. No, you can't say that now," Brownless says. "We forget too easily just how good some people were. His old man was a superstar."

Brownless calls it "the classic drip-tray question over the bar", but admits he's probably in the large camp for whom this particular argument will always be a waste of breath. Those who, like the man who saw Ablett's feats from a prime vantage point in the Geelong forward line, will never forget.

Of course, no formula exists for ranking greatness and even the Cats' long-time historian and AFL stats man Col Hutchinson says this is an instance where the picture painted by statistics is incomplete.

"If you look at the number of matches each had played at Gary junior's age now (23 years 11 months)," Hutchinson says, "obviously, he's well in front (130 for the son, 41 the father).

"Individual honours at the same point, he's ahead (a club best and fairest each — junior's in the premiership season his old man never had — and an AFL Player's Association Most Valuable Player award for Gary the younger; Dad won one, too, but not until he was 31. Each had also topped the club goalkicking once)."

Hutchinson thinks it's "like comparing pavlova and caviar".

Another Geelong devotee this week described Gary junior as having "traditional genius", in that it looks no different to your other, garden-variety genius.

His father, however, had "an otherness" that would set him apart in any gathering of footballing Einsteins.

What is hard to dispute is that the No. 29 is getting better, and is closing the gap on No. 5.

Brenton Sanderson had the privilege of playing with both — sharing Dad's last two-and-a-bit seasons, and the son's first four. While the issue is not discussed around the football club water cooler, assistant coach Sanderson says they know just what they've got.

"We have review meetings on Mondays and there's been plenty of times we've come in and we're reviewing the game, we'll look at each other and say: 'Thank Christ he's playing for us.'

"Some of the stuff he does is just freakish, almost non-human. He's just so calm and it's almost like the world's in slow motion when he's got the ball."

A bit like … who was that bloke again?

Oh yes, his Dad.

Brownless' initial reaction to the "the Earth is flat" proposition that son could better father is mirrored by pretty much anyone with a memory. No one before or since has been able to conjure such magic, they say.

Interestingly, he was also not alone in coming around to the idea (a little, anyway) when their various faculties are lined up.

Yes, Billy admits, you could argue that Gary junior is a better team player — "but that's the culture he's been brought up in, whereas we probably weren't brought up like that".

And yes, he's certainly a great kick — "but it would be hard to be a better kick than his old man".

Yes again, he's fitter than Dad was — "but that's the era he's playing in, too". Junior's ability to "win his own ball" is, for Brownless, his biggest improvement; 17 of his 35 possessions against Sydney last weekend were hard-won. But Dad, he of the pack-splitting mark, wasn't bad in a contest, either.

"That's where they're similar, they're so strong around the thighs and the core. If the ball's on the ground and they really want to get it, nine times out of 10 they get it."

Only four men have kicked more goals than Gary senior's 1030 and nobody expects his son to boost his 172 majors into such stratospheric territory, even if he plays another decade. But he will spend more time up forward, and few doubt his threat.

One fan with a permanent reminder of the older Ablett's greatness at his fingertips is Dene Macleod, whose devotion to getting his career on tape — from replays to single-camera World Of Sport footage to television news bulletins — has left him with 12 hours of Ablett highlights on VHS. Taping the lot for a mate recently, he found himself shaking his head all over again.

"What he did was unbelievable," Macleod says. "You tend to forget just how good they were, and get caught up in the hype of today's football — how quick they are now, how fit, how long they can kick.

"(But) you just have to look at how many kids run around now with No. 29 on the back, that next generation. They don't know who Gary Ablett snr is."

Another viewing reminded Macleod of another side to Ablett's game, illustrated in the days he played as a ruck-rover. In a game in Perth, he several times took possession across half-back, bounced his way through the centre and unloaded with torpedo punts into the forward line, ignoring the pleas of his teammates. "It was just ridiculous. The torps didn't even come off. You'd look at it and say: 'This bloke just plays footy as if it's an individual sport.' "

You could argue the team he played in made him that way. Macleod watched many times as Geelong players streamed forward at Kardinia Park as if wearing blinkers, passing up free options to kick to Ablett. "He'd be up against three — and half the time, he'd get it anyway."

Former Tiger and footy pundit Barry Richardson said that while Ablett's 1989 heroics had singlehandedly almost won Geelong a premiership, it was possible he had cost them two, so efficiently did opponents work out that everything was going through him. As different as they are as players, the teams of the two Abletts are another roadblock to comparisons.

Sanderson was young when he played with Ablett senior and says all at the club knew they were running out with one of the all-time greats — "if not the greatest". "I found I was nervous talking to him, and even now, when he comes into the rooms after a match, it's the same." Gary junior, he says, is very much one of the boys.

Brownless notes how well they look after him, the little bumps in close from the likes of Jimmy Bartel, Joel Corey, Joel Selwood and Paul Chapman that leave opponents knowing they've been in a bruising contest, as Swan Kieren Jack did on Saturday. "The chop-out he gets from the boys is fantastic. If you want to argue that point, Gary senior did a lot of that on his own."

Sanderson says there is no question Ablett jnr is playing in a great side, "but wherever he was playing, he would be one of the elite players in the AFL at the moment". Brownless is most pleased with how he continues to add something to his artillery.

Already, there's less resistance to the notion they are the best father-son combination ever, but junior's continued improvement begs another question: if the boffins were to pick an updated all-time best VFL/AFL team in 10 years, could it include two Gary Abletts?

Brownless is again hesitant, wondering who he would tip out, but reckons it will take only five years for both to feature in Geelong's greatest 22. Sanderson, however, has no doubt. "For sure, without question," he says.

"He's not just a one-way player, Gaz, he has that balance of attack and defence. A lot of the great players can attack but are a little bit slow to find their opponent. Gaz's ability to influence the game defensively as well … we're talking different sports, but Michael Jordan wasn't only recognised for his ability to score points, he was a fantastic defender as well. A little bit like Gaz."

OK, so he's not as good as his Dad. Yet. He's only as good as Michael Jordan.

Re: Ablett vs Ablett: Father vs Son

Great Article:thumbsu:

My lasting impression of Gary Snr's awesome talent is how his game style changed after coming back from knee surgery.

He'd gone from taking freakish high marks with seeming ease and contempt of gravity on a regular basis, to becoming one of the strongest low marking body playing style full forwards I've been privileged enough to watch play.:eek:

His one handed marks whilst holding off some of the eras stockiest full backs were truly a sight to behold.

I shake my head watching Gary Jnr weave his magic, but going back and watching his Dad at his best and he becomes the Sorcerers Apprentice.

I think myself lucky to have seen both play in the Blue and White Hoops but would lean towards Billy Brownless' opinion if pressed.

Jnr not in the same league as Snr yet.
However, in another 5 years, we may well be debating this quite forcefully here on BF.

Most definitely:thumbsu: I know I'll be giving this a mega-bump in five years time! But as for now, Billy's right. Surprised they didn't track down Peter Riccardi for the article - he played with both Gary Abletts as well.

From memory only Ted Whitten who retired in 1970, and son Edward (Ted Jr) debuted in 1974, did a son play so soon after a father. There are several players who have been in a unique position to play with both father and son, and gleaning these from finalsiren.com, this is the list of players who played with both Abletts.

Steven King

Peter Riccardi

Brenton Sanderson

Tim McGrath

Aaron Lord

Brad Sholl

Ronnie Burns

David Mensch, Darren Milburn and Glenn Kilpatrick were at Geelong in 1997 and 2002, but that year Gary Sr played just the opening reserves game (Which in retrospect saw a costly loss to Gary Sr's bunnies in Richmond in Rd 1) before injuring a knee. He retired toward the end of the season, and never recieved a farewell from memory, although he has been invited to have one in more recent times.

P.S Mitchell White would have played against Gary Sr, and was at Geelong in 2002.

He retired toward the end of the season, and never recieved a farewell from memory, although he has been invited to have one in more recent times.

P.S Mitchell White would have played against Gary Sr, and was at Geelong in 2002.

It was a bloody tragedy that a player of Gary Senior's calibre never got a proper send-off from the club, although rumours abound of bad blood between him and then-coach Gary Ayres. Anyone know more about this?

And yeah, I'd say Mitchell White remembers Gary. I think Gary put White in hospital during the 'payback' match against the Eagles in 1995, where we smashed them at KP.

It was a bloody tragedy that a player of Gary Senior's calibre never got a proper send-off from the club, although rumours abound of bad blood between him and then-coach Gary Ayres. Anyone know more about this?

And yeah, I'd say Mitchell White remembers Gary. I think Gary put White in hospital during the 'payback' match against the Eagles in 1995, where we smashed them at KP.

I'd say there was bad blood between nearly everyone and Gary Ayres.

yes Gary Ayres really stuffed the club up,he helped finish off the career's of
ablett snr,brownles,couch,barstow,These players were a big part of geelong
l feel that they never got a good send off,Thank god for bomber to come in to build a great side out of the dust Ayres left behind

They are both magicians in their own ways but senior was such a solid irresistable force. I saw senior get bumped into the fence in a reserves game in sydney and the whole ground shook! He just got up and jogged away as if nothing had happened. I wonder how junior would have come up?

Ablett versus Ablett

OK, so he's not as good as his Dad. Yet. He's only as good as Michael Jordan.

I Am A HouseCat Stuck in Launceston the only Game i got to watch live in Launceston was last year.The Hawks vs the Mighty Unstoppable Cats.... The Cats were winning from the start to the 4th then i watched in horror as the Hawks ended up winning the Game and here i was with my little Bro chris (Hawks Fan) giving me shi* about it. and most of the people sitting around me Hawk Fans... all game with the cats in the lead i was Running my gob of... and loving it!!!! then we lost and all the people around me didn't let me forget it! i walked out that day with my head in my hands.... Very shi**y day... I watch EVERY!!! and i mean EVERY game of footy the cats play but only on the box... anyway getting to the point Gary Jr and Gary Jrs Dad are Both the best in the AFL at what they do in there own times.. Garys Daddy was the best FF ever!! and his Son is the best mf of all time!!! And thats all i got to say about that.... ps Wish i Could go to Every Game and see the Mighty cats.. From the Cradle to the Grave i Will never stop being a Cats fan. I, Don't like anyother side in the AFL and even if tassie gets a team in the AFL i would go to watch the Mighty CATS SMASH them.. 07/08/09..... Years Of The Cat.....:cool:

Ablett Jnr better than Ablett Snr

That's what they're saying on Triple M

BT - "Jnr; More consistent, playing better at this stage of his career, poised to surpass his father by the end of his career!"

Big call, he's a star but surely no-one will surpass the Great Gary Ablett Snr:thumbsu:

Re: Ablett Jnr better than Ablett Snr

Ablett Jnr. needs to see out his career before being compared to his old man. I think it's under-selling how good Snr. was, by comparing a player who's only in his 2nd season of being elite. But Jnr is a freak no doubt.

I don't know mate, watching the game last night I realised that he was just at another level than everyone else on the ground. He is an absolute freak. Best player in the comp without a doubt and I do believe will be as good if not better than his dad.

Not there yet. Just more proof of how lacking the Triple M commentary team have of football knowledge. In saying that he is rapidly becoming the best player of the decade...

Come back to me if he keeps it up for a decade.

Well put. It's amazing how selective and short the media's memories are.

Gary junior has now played about 130-odd games I think, and the improvement has been consistent over his whole career, but he's only really been top drawer the last 2 years. His Dad was elite from his very first game.

The one proviso is Ablett senior was 22 when he started for Geelong, so he was already mature, junior was 17 so naturally took a bit longer.

But at the same time in games Dad had already kicked about 500 goals, won a B&F, represented Victoria multiple times, won a Norm Smith medal and so on. Gary junior's getting there, but he's not level with the old man. Just yet anyway. :D

The one thing I am now completely convinced about however, is that there has never been a father/son combination this good.

hahahahaha - Junior is good but lets not forget how truly amazing his father was.

Perhaps a brownlow and another 5-7 All Australia selections he MAY surpass, at this stage, no chance!

You cant really compare them. 1 was a key forward and the other a dominant midfielder.
Then you have to take into account the eras that they played in. Today the game is soft and Ablett Snr would have played in a rougher environment where alot of cheap tactics were used to try and hold him at bay.

I think if Ablett Snr played in todays game in his prime he would have been even better because of the rules that help todays forwards Eg. The new hands in the back rule

You cant really compare them. 1 was a key forward and the other a dominant midfielder.
Then you have to take into account the eras that they played in. Today the game is soft and Ablett Snr would have played in a rougher environment where alot of cheap tactics were used to try and hold him at bay.

I think if Ablett Snr played in todays game in his prime he would have been even better because of the rules that help todays forwards Eg. The new hands in the back rule
Did you see Ablett Senior play before 1993?

That's typical media hype from BT. Gazza senior kicked over 1000 goals and a lot of those were kicked from non-forward line positions

If anyone has any questions get on youtube and search for gary ablett. Watch the bloke taking incredible pack marks and slamming goals through post high from over 60 metres on the run and on an angle

Gaz jnr has a long way to go

Ablett senior versus Ablett junior