He’ll fit right in then.Absolutely butchered the ball at times
Not eligible until the 2025 draft, Georja Davies was a dominant presence for Queensland. The youngest sister of already AFLW-listed trio Giselle (Sydney), Fleur (GWS), and Darcie (Gold Coast) worked her way through the ruck, into the midfield, and offered support across the backline. Davies' 24 disposals, 15 hitouts, and nine marks were all game highs.
#18 Archie Hill
Defender/Midfielder | 182cm | 04/03/2008
Stats: 36 disposals, 6 marks, 10 rebound 50s
Hill was again prolific for the Suns, storming off half-back with his patented running game and driving kicks. On top of taking the kick-ins, he accumulated possessions with ease as his side’s designated playmaker, launching several counterattacks in the face of GWS’ 58 forward 50 entries. Hill sometimes chose the low-percentage option by foot but got good purchase on his kicks and was given a run in midfield after half time, to provide the same dash and creativity.
#16 Jake Callinan
Midfielder | 188cm | 18/08/2008
Stats: 27 disposals, 7 tackles, 11 clearances
Callinan provided plenty of grunt work with 19 contested possessions and 11 clearances, proving one of the key factors for the Suns’ ascendancy in that area. He was strong amongst the inside circle and tended to dump the ball long when clearing, but could hardly be faulted for his contested craft. At 188cm, his size and frame will be difficult to combat at Under 16s level.
#31 Harry Heathcote
Tall Forward/Ruck | 193cm | 03/08/2007
Stats: 17 disposals, 10 marks, 2 goals
Heathcote was the Suns’ spearhead forward and put on a marking clinic with 10 while also rotating through the ruck. He presented nicely up the ground and was nimble enough to follow up his competitive aerial work. Heathcote gave the Suns an unlikely lead to start the second half, snaring consecutive set shot goals on the end of his side’s surge footy out of the centre.
#7 Leroy Kaesler
Midfielder | 175cm | 19/12/2008
Stats: 15 disposals, 6 clearances, 4 inside 50s
The majority of Kaesler’s contribution came at the contest, where he won six clearances – including three clean snares at the centre bounces. Later in the game he could have spread a little harder from the restarts, but was prepared to go when his name was called and produced some strong efforts to win the ball in dispute. Ethan Johnston‘s hitout dominance certainly helped.
Ethan Read is probably a great example of that. Wasn't on anyone's radar until his 17th year when he had a massive growth spurt and suddenly began getting plenty of opportunities to develop into a high quality tall prospect. Even going into his draft year he was still considered unlikely to be taken in the first round. So to go #9 by the end of the year is pretty remarkable given 24 months earlier he wouldn't have even been selected in the rep teams and goes to show you don't necessarily have to be a standout at the U16 level to make it.Kall Burns doesn't expect any of these U16 to be top end players in 2026. Of course they still have 2 years to keep developing so things can change.
The stats look fantastic, but Leo had his struggles in this game. He was dynamite at stoppage especially early in the contest, but repeatedly turned the footy over with sloppy disposal and was caught holding the ball a couple of times.
Wouldn't take much notice of Kall's projections.Kall Burns doesn't expect any of these U16 to be top end players in 2026. Of course they still have 2 years to keep developing so things can change.
Why would he say yeah we have heaps of talent coming through? Gives Vic clubs more ammo to whine about "unfair systems"Wouldn't take much notice of Kall's projections.
Agreed, and a lot of the time the best kid in the academy will be a midfielder, and you only need so many of those.I reckon it's not the worst thing to not have to pick a bunch of academy kids every year. If they are not elite, or we just have too many of the same type of player then it's ok to let them ply their trade somewhere else.
Just watching this kid Lawson Humphries picked in the 60s - you need to have list spots available to take talented kids across the whole country and not just out little pocket of the world. Especially if you can get talented kids that actually fill an identified future list need.
The stats look fantastic, but Leo had his struggles in this game. He was dynamite at stoppage especially early in the contest, but repeatedly turned the footy over with sloppy disposal and was caught holding the ball a couple of times.
Agreed, actually. Not saying not to take him, but if we had open draft we might try and take a different type of player.My thoughts on this may be controversial- but he isn’t really the player the suns need. We have enough midfielders who hack kick it forward. We need a high level exquisite kick in our mids.
Lombard has tied for the Larke medal for the mvp in the champs. Alongside Langford from Vic country
Do we know much about Archie Hill? I remember hearing he was unlucky to not be named in the U15 AA team last year.
Generel word of mouth is that Archie's about it for this crop of kids. Not as strong a group but guess we'll see.Do we know much about Archie Hill? I remember hearing he was unlucky to not be named in the U15 AA team last year.
A bit like this year with Lombard being the only guaranteed draftee from our academy. I know a lot was made of our academy quartet from last year, but I very much doubt we'll ever see anything close to that ever again and we'll probably be lucky to have just one standout a year from here onwards. Seems like this is the production line of academy standouts at the moment:Generel word of mouth is that Archie's about it for this crop of kids. Not as strong a group but guess we'll see.