Mega Thread Adam Goodes starring in Lord of the Flies - The only place to post Goodes stuff - Read the OP

http://m.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news...s-legend-jason-akermanis-20150728-gime0z.html

Aker thinks we are beatable, which is fair enough - entitled to opinions and all that. I do find it amusing though that he thinks a potential Hawks threepeat wouldn't be a fair comparison based on free agency. We've signed one player via free agency (he also mentions McEvoy which he must have forgot was a trade) - against how many players they could retain due to salary cap concessions? Come on Aker, be fair now!
He is...has....and always will be a me me me..self opinionated tosser.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

I can't stand booing in general, but in his case I make a very strong exception, as he came on MY television, sullied MY loungeroom and told MY son to come to the SCG and Boo a Roo. He and Paul Kelly actively told CHILDREN specifically children "Come on Kids, get yourselves down the SCG this saturday and Boo a Roo."

The irony is just so gestalt.

This post should headline this thread!

Just another example of the media and A.F.L. siding with Goodes. They cannot remember this, but can remember Mitch's bad intentions from 2008.

Wake up Hawk supporters. The media are trying to split us on this issue.:rolleyes:

Was just trying to be as kind as possible, because some on here may get a little upset. I don't think I can write what I really think of the %^%$# **&^%%^ on here.........
I wish I could say more too, apparently the sook has been given two days off training to consider his future.... Poor sniper prob use that time to sip lattes down at bondi with judas and jetta ... What a get together that would be .. Who can sook the most ... Goodes crying into his latte, judas texting Jesinta while pretending to listen to sniper... Geezus cola really are the limit!

Silence.....really....while the media put everyone in the one category......RACIST.

I think not.

This is perhaps one of the biggest statements ever made by an AFL crowd about an individual....rightly or wrongly.

The AFL and the media have resorted to putting all footy supporters in the one category to give their argument/position more weight. A totally biased and self serving position for sure.

If booing is racial discrimination and villification.....PROVE IT!!!!

Just as you would have to in a court of law if you wanted to challenge someones alleged law-breaking behaviour.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Rebbecca Wilson saying she is ashamed to be Australian and that middle class Australians booing are all racists, seriously, it is some of the most incompetent and outrageous commentary that I have witnessed, comments like this are just going to make it worse for Goodes because it is rubbing people up the wrong way much the same as Goodes abrasive behavior has done in the past.

I thought one of the best things about not following League all that closely any more was not having to listen to Rebecca Wilson ever again. Love that Derm gave it to her - she's a classic 'speak first, think last' type of commentator.

There's been signs of our scrappiness in all 3 of our most recent games - but we'd be foolish not to be somewhat concerned about peeking too early. I'm a very panicky person though - hell I was stil nervous halfway through the last quarter of last year's Grand Final.

Our defence isn't our weakness - and particularly if Chips is back I think it's even stronger. Our biggest problem is slow starts. If we have one of those in the finals then anything could happen.
Since Round 8 we are 7-1 for winning first quarters and the one we lost was by one point, so I'm not so worried about coming out slow every week now

It's definitely improved as the season has gone on - but I think it's been an ongoing issue the past few years. It seems this year our defence has improved in leaps and bounds so the one thing that would really worry me going into a finals game would be whether we are switched on or not.

Anyone in any doubt about this sordid media 'beat-up' need look no further than the front page of todays Age website AFL sports headings.

6 OF THE first 8 stories are all about 'Goodsey'....

'You can't blame Goodes if he quits'
'Heart-wrenching' for Goodes' mother
Hawks no certainty for three-peat: Aker
Goodes considering retirement
Players look to stop Goodes boos
Clubs free to trade future picks
Booing 'extreme bullying': Goddard
Swans give Goodes a break

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl#ixzz3hEmpon00

What a gigantic cluster-heck this has all become....'Mind-boggling'!....In the meantime, no chance of talking about the footy?

Anyone in any doubt about this sordid media 'beat-up' need look no further than the front page of todays Age website AFL sports headings.

What a gigantic cluster-heck this has all become....'Mind-boggling'!....In the meantime, no chance of talking about the footy?
Akers a piece of shit.. Hope we show him ... Like he knows anything ... Snipers mum has weighed in, now we could all do without that what is he? 40?

Good to see common sense has seen all clubs able to trade future picks.

I wonder what our good friend Erin Reilly thinks about all this

Speaking as someone who has no qualms in being defined as progressive on most social issues - I find flogs like Erin so damaging to the cause that I hope she's working herself into a frenzy of typical counter-productive left-wing outrage. The biggest hindrance to most progressive issues is myopic left-wing campaigners like her.

Ohh yeah the booing over a week or two for that lot really compares to the two years of constant, childish booing of Goodes.
Grow up.

Good call bugalugs I'm with you

Shaun Burgoyne and Cyril Rioli have both openly stated they don't like the booing of Goodes as has Jordan Lewis - if three stars of our back to back premiership team state they don't like it could we not stop - for them if nothing else

Could the boos be replaced with ironic cheers?

ANy chance Slobbo will ever apologise to Goodes for building this booing issue into a media frenzy?

Slobbo should apologise for being him in general and resign. I'd rather his resignation be the one to come out of all of this.

I do love that in defence of why its not ok to boo Adam Goodes its mentioned that he's a two time brownlow medallist and multiple all-Australian winner

So... if you think that Goodesy gets a good ride from the AFL, the umpires and the football media in general (like Gerard Healy and his mates on the AA selection committe)... that'll convince you...

If you compare how the media treat Adam Goodes and Sam Mitchell... well...

Of course Sammy hasn't been awarded the Brownlow in 2012 yet because another often booed player hasn't handed it back yet

I don't care either way about all the Goodes BS.

That being said, the one thing that has me stumped is that all those who are claiming it's racist, none of them have actually given a detailed, good answer to the question, "Why is it racist?".

Without having paid much attention to it, it seems as if one media flog has claimed it was racist and everyone has jumped on it (moral high ground and all that) yet no one has been able to accurately explain why without rambling and using vague reasoning.

OK I'm going to have a go at answering your question.

A player is getting booed every time he goes onto a football field.

Now a lot of people say it is because he is a flog.

There are a lot of flogs playing football if this was the case then most of what you would hear at a football ground would be booing.

Stevie J is a flog but he doesn't get booed like he's knocked out a player every time he touches the ball.

People say that it's because he was a dirty player - Chris Judd was suspended you eye gauging and a chicken wing tackle. Dustin Fletcher doesn't get booed and has missed over 20 matches through suspension. As Hawthorn we are known for playing "unsociable football" and we love it. The dirty player thing doesn't wash with me - there are dirty players who don't get booed.

The Boos that Goodes receives are the sort of boos a player gets when they've knocked out an opposing player and then get the ball. Goodes hasn't done that but he still gets like that everytime he goes out to play.

but let's go back to why people boo Goodes.

A lot of people on here have stated they boo Goodes because he is an unworthy recipient of the Australian of the Year award. - An award that an independent committee have chosen him for - he didn't ask for it and once the decision was made he could either accept it or reject it (could you imagine the outcry if he rejected it).

So people are going to boo him because he got this award?? I don't understand why that would prompt someone to boo him - even if you did think he shouldn't get the award (for the record I think people in fields that don't get much public attention like science and medicine should get the award ahead of entertainers - but I don't see anyone booing Geoffrey Rush, Allan Border, John Farnham, Pat Rafter or Lee Kernigan - all winners of the Australian of the year. I don't get this one and if you think about...

The other reason people say they boo Goodes is that he singled out a 13 year old girl. This is true and something he says he has some regrets
about BUT he was calling out racism - a term that has a long historical racist association - black people are more like apes more like animals (actually up until the 1967 referendum indigenous Australians were classed as flora and fauna) so he felt a duty to call that out. SO if this is your reason for booing him then yes you are racist.

There are 72 indigenous players in the AFL and only one of them gets booed. Maybe co-incidentally only one of them have publicly questioned the overall treatment of indigenous Australians over the course of history.

for the record Cyril and Burgers have both openly said they hate the booing of Adam Goodes - both have publicly commended him on his stance and on his dance. This is a fact that seems to wash over many people here.

You have the right to say, do and believe whatever you want (I guess that what makes Australia such a great place) but others have the right to view those in how they interpret it.

Not sure why people can be bothered booing. I'm sick of hearing both sides view to be honest. I think a very small minority would have underlying racial connotations, but the majority of people just think he is a flog. Be happy if I never heard about it again.

Good post by killerspud.

I don't think everyone who has been booing Goodes is racist. But isn't the critical issue that he, and other indigenous players do? So by booing you are just increasing the discomfort of not only Goodes but other indigenous players who perceive it as a mass form of racism. Not to mention the audience or broader indigenous community. It is not for non-indigenous people to tell indigenous people what is and is not offensive. Offence is being taken. It needs to stop. It is embarrassing.

My own view is that it probably did not start (predominately) for racist reasons. Looking at Hawthorn games specifically I think it started for the same reasons Selwood or Bartel get booed against us. For the same reasons Mitchell and Boomer Harvey and Crowley get booed by other clubs. People don't like Goodes as a footballer and that is not racist.

The media whipped it up into a frenzy and thousands jumped on the bandwagon. The bandwagon of idiots has grown with each week that has gone by and with every media personality throwing fuel on the fire. I accept that a large number (probably the majority) of those who jumped on the bandwagon have done it mindlessly. Simply to join in with the pack and boo an opposition player to help create a hostile environment. Some just for the kick of watching media people complain about it.

But there is without doubt a significant number (and you only need to read all the threads on this forum) who boo Goodes for reasons relating to the Australian of Year (over which he had no control), his response to racism on and off the footy field and what is perceived by non-indigenous people as "sooking." The people who boo Goodes for those reasons are racist. And everyone booing him because they don't like his diving or sniping or just to join in with a pack are providing cover for racists who can no longer abuse an indigenous footballer without punishment but can safely sit back with thousands of others and boo.

If you boo Goodes, whatever you motivation, you now know that it is not only offensive to Goodes but other indigenous footballers. It is like using a phrase that you never thought was offensive to a certain race but learning that it is. If you continue to use such a phrase despite that knowledge, you are a racist. And anyone who now continues to boo Goodes after seeing the reaction of Goodes, his family, Jetta and other indigenous footballers and leaders - is a racist.

Good post by killerspud.

I don't think everyone who has been booing Goodes is racist. But isn't the critical issue that he, and other indigenous players do? So by booing you are just increasing the discomfort of not only Goodes but other indigenous players who perceive it as a mass form of racism. Not to mention the audience or broader indigenous community. It is not for non-indigenous people to tell indigenous people what is and is not offensive. Offence is being taken. It needs to stop. It is embarrassing.

My own view is that it probably did not start (predominately) for racist reasons. Looking at Hawthorn games specifically I think it started for the same reasons Selwood or Bartel get booed against us. For the same reasons Mitchell and Boomer Harvey and Crowley get booed by other clubs. People don't like Goodes as a footballer and that is not racist.

The media whipped it up into a frenzy and thousands jumped on the bandwagon. The bandwagon of idiots has grown with each week that has gone by and with every media personality throwing fuel on the fire. I accept that a large number (probably the majority) of those who jumped on the bandwagon have done it mindlessly. Simply to join in with the pack and boo an opposition player to help create a hostile environment. Some just for the kick of watching media people complain about it.

But there is without doubt a significant number (and you only need to read all the threads on this forum) who boo Goodes for reasons relating to the Australian of Year (over which he had no control), his response to racism on and off the footy field and what is perceived by non-indigenous people as "sooking." The people who boo Goodes for those reasons are racist. And everyone booing him because they don't like his diving or sniping or just to join in with a pack are providing cover for racists who can no longer abuse an indigenous footballer without punishment but can safely sit back with thousands of others and boo.

If you boo Goodes, whatever you motivation, you now know that it is not only offensive to Goodes but other indigenous footballers. It is like using a phrase that you never thought was offensive to a certain race but learning that it is. If you continue to use such a phrase despite that knowledge, you are a racist. And anyone who now continues to boo Goodes after seeing the reaction of Goodes, his family, Jetta and other indigenous footballers and leaders - is a racist.

that's sort of what I was trying to say but you are far more succinct and articulate - thank you