Mega Thread Adam Goodes starring in Lord of the Flies - The only place to post Goodes stuff - Read the OP

Is there any irony in the fact that part of Goodes' ancestry are the "invaders" and "rapists" he chooses to denigrate?

No, none. Here's a thought for you:

If what you do isn't racially motivated and other people do that same thing that is racially motivated, and the person on the receiving end thinks it is racially motivated; don't do that thing anymore. Especially if it doesn't affect your life, but does there's, even if you think you're right, because stopping won't impact you but it will them.

Firstly....Goodes is not the first player to be roundly booed nor targeted in the history of this competition....Most especially at Subiaco....So what makes him so special in the eyes of the AFL/Media to be 'marked-out' for special attention?
The fact that they know, as I have come to realise, that there a fair amount of racism behind some of the booing.

This may have once been about booing a player some people just don't like, but it's clearly gone way passed that now.

Jimmy Krakouer use to cop it mercifully from the crowd week after week, but you didn't see him running, bitching & moaning about it to AFL house/the press.
That you firstly say Krakouer had to cop this same rubbish 30 years ago, but then intimate that if he had of said anything he would have been "bitching and moaning" says it all.

No one is arguing about racists/bigots being in the crowd....Always has been, always will be....It's the nature of football & the 'circus maximus' in general to illicit both positive & negative emotions from the crowd....But that has always been policed by the crowd themselves, the police & security....So again, why the 'special' treatment here simply over booing?
Because it's 2015, and it's become really embarrassing that people think it's A-ok to boo a player because he has to audacity to stand up to being racially vilified.

The AFL's agenda is simply to paint itself as at the forefront of combating racism for political gain, & has used both Goodes & the media as the vehicles by which to enact it's agenda....Regardless of the facts I have pointed out above to the contrary.
This is the biggest load of shit I have read on bigfooty for some time, and as someone who has seen the great work the AFL have done with communities like Rumbalara and those of the Murray regions I am absolutely and utterly dumbfounded that you can sit there and write it with any sort of conviction.

The AFL have been leaders in the pursuit of equality and fairness for the indigenous people of this land for decades, and they are now red-faced at the sheer number of fans in the outer who obviously think it's perfectly fine to tell an Aboriginal male that he shouldn't be having an opinion about how his people have or are treated....and that has become exceedingly clear to me over the last few days of reading the opinions of those who carry on about his AOTY speech and the girl who he rightfully pointed out.

You don't & shouldn't use power/influence to push politics through sports....You just don't....This entire episode is a disgrace & a disgusting spectacle on behalf of the AFL & it's affiliated media in pandering to the NSW Govt & market-place.
The only thing that is disgraceful about this entire saga is that amongst those who once thought this was all about not liking a bloke who staged, sniped and dived(myself), there's actually a large number of people who are using it as a vehicle to say "Hey Aborigine, we'll applaud you when you kick some goals and run down the wing, but you better not 'bitch and moan' when someone vilifies you....and don't dare make us question how we've treated you and your people over time or we'll come crashing down on top of you in a second!"

This is the biggest load of shit I have read on bigfooty for some time, and as someone who has seen the great work the AFL have done with communities like Rumbalara and those of the Murray regions I am absolutely and utterly dumbfounded that you can sit there and write it with any sort of conviction.

You mustn't be getting around the Big Footy boards much of late then.

So a proud Aboriginal man, who is a 2x Brownlow medalist and AOTY, being ridiculed into hiding is not really worthy of the media....it's just being overblown?

But could it have been overblown to where it is now without media interest and participation?

I've read through so much, and I simply can't quote everyone's post I disagree with...

You can reference people like Lebron all you like, but the situations are markedly different. For starters- Lebron was booed by Cleveland Fans because he left them to play with Miami. Hardly booed every night, unless they play miami every night. And if you know anything about the US, you would know that Cleveland is a massively struggling city, with a lot of working class people, a lot of poverty, a big african american population, and when a symbol of hope leaves--- their reasons for booing are rooted in their hearts being broken. The same people, who when Lebron went back, decided to welcome him with open arms- because, well, forgiveness is an amazing human quality.

So is empathy. For some reason there are a lot of people who only seem to be able to see this from their own immediate world view. I would urge everyone to look at the concepts of power and privilege and just try and have some empathy for those people who are left behind. The media did the worst job imaginable after the swans carlton game, and created the entirely wrong conversation. For starters- it was a Sydney home game- yet apparently Carlton Fans were booing and aggrieved at Goodes war cry... really? I watched that game, and a very sh%t carlton side had heck all supporters at the SCG, but there were 30,000 swans fans there. Who could hear or discern booing over the dance???? I couldn't, and I still can't when I watch replays of the event. But none the less the media said Goodes had created a controversy, clearly placing him against fans around the competition. They created a narrative of him versus you, in essence. This is a common practise of media organisations, run by elite people like Murdoch, in helping to subjugate a minority and stop them from having a voice. Instead of us all embracing learning about culture, Indigenous culture is our culture, we are squabbling over our right to boo and trying to paint Goodes as a dickhead. That is utterly illogical. The more Adam gets booed, the more people play into the hands of the powers that be, and the less we progress forward as a society- and at the end of the day, the people not having a voice suits the establishment. Because then you will just go and vote liberal or labor and think you've done the right thing, when in fact you're just making your own life immeasurably harder.

Stop getting offended. Think about what other indigenous players are saying. This booing of Goodes is having a far reaching affect, and indigenous people around the league, in other codes, and in other fields, are telling you that it is more than booing, that it is a slight on them and their culture. If you choose to boo him knowing that, then yes, it does make you a bigot. Because despite the information you have been presented with, despite someone pleading with you that what you are doing robs them of their identity and their voice, despite you being told that booing is helping to keep indigenous people subjugated in a position of lesser power- you have completely ignored that and booed anyway- because you put some mythical right of yours to boo whoever you want, above the facts you are being presented with. Yes- if you choose to boo now knowing what you know- it makes you a bigot. It's your choice as to whether you become that or not.

Take into account what our own HFC boys are saying publicly, and not so privately. Listen. Learn. You know what- if we were invaded by an alien race and all made to live in detention centres, and then made to work for the aliens and live in their culture- you would not be happy. Then imagine if someone told you just to get over it, even though in doing so it meant that you had to accept being a lesser person in their eyes. It is possible to try to begin the process of understanding the pain of people who have been oppressed for so long, but you have to realise your own role within that system, which is to be complicit and say the way things are is ok. It is not ok. Children getting r*ped in detention is not ok. Abbott passing laws making it illegal to report that is not ok. Indigenous youths committing suicide is not ok. Taking Children from their parents when they have done nothing wrong is not ok. YOU FUKING WANT TO TALK TO ME ABOUT PROPAGANDA???? The lie of the system is that we blindly accept the conditions with which we live as long as we are ok. You have been so socially conditioned that you would rather boo Adam Goodes, than ask why we don't teach Indigenous history at every school in the country? Or why we take money out of education or health care? It is laughable that instead of choosing to help, you'd argue til your dying breath that it's ok to boo this guy now, despite everything presented to you- even the players who play for your club.

As to the war dance. How, in any way, is that making something about race? One race versus another... Why aren't you interested in learning about culture? That Dance was taught to him by the Flying Boomerangs, an u16 indigenous representative team who play in the div 3 national champs each year. Why don't you care about the fact that these kids taught goodes that dance, and he was paying tribute to them during INDIGENOUS ROUND. Further more, why don't you bother to investigate what these kids do before their games? Did you know that they perform their own war cry prior to games? Not unlike the Haka in terms of what it represents. Amazingly- everyone seems to love the Haka- is that because it is in New Zealand most of the time? Why are you so much more accepting of Maori culture, than Indigenous Australian culture? You're offended by someone expressing themself, and paying tribute to their indigenous brothers who happen to be 16yr old kids... it is just ludicrous. Not to mention a slap in the face to indigenous kids growing up around the country who would have LOVED seeing Adam recognise them in such a fashion. WHY DOESN'T THAT MATTER TO YOU? why do you won't to boo and piss on the dreams of a people who are just trying to be heard and find a voice? It's like turning around to a kid at a fun park and telling them their not allowed to smile again- it makes you a complete a-hole, doesn't it?

That isn't political. That is Adam's version of giving a high 5 to a kid in the crowd. You just can't see it that way because of your bias. I urge you to try and understand. I also urge everyone to try and understand it is not for you to tell Indigenous people what is and isn't racist. Just try and listen to someone, what they go through, start from that place.

Institutional and systemic racism must be dismantled and broken. Try and help.

Jimmy Krakouer use to cop it mercifully from the crowd week after week, but you didn't see him running, bitching & moaning about it to AFL house/the press.

You are embarrassing.

It is depressing there are so many Hawthorn fans keen to continue doing something that is plainly offending indigenous people.

I've read through so much, and I simply can't quote everyone's post I disagree with...

You can reference people like Lebron all you like, but the situations are markedly different. For starters- Lebron was booed by Cleveland Fans because he left them to play with Miami. Hardly booed every night, unless they play miami every night. And if you know anything about the US, you would know that Cleveland is a massively struggling city, with a lot of working class people, a lot of poverty, a big african american population, and when a symbol of hope leaves--- their reasons for booing are rooted in their hearts being broken. The same people, who when Lebron went back, decided to welcome him with open arms- because, well, forgiveness is an amazing human quality.

So is empathy. For some reason there are a lot of people who only seem to be able to see this from their own immediate world view. I would urge everyone to look at the concepts of power and privilege and just try and have some empathy for those people who are left behind. The media did the worst job imaginable after the swans carlton game, and created the entirely wrong conversation. For starters- it was a Sydney home game- yet apparently Carlton Fans were booing and aggrieved at Goodes war cry... really? I watched that game, and a very sh%t carlton side had heck all supporters at the SCG, but there were 30,000 swans fans there. Who could hear or discern booing over the dance???? I couldn't, and I still can't when I watch replays of the event. But none the less the media said Goodes had created a controversy, clearly placing him against fans around the competition. They created a narrative of him versus you, in essence. This is a common practise of media organisations, run by elite people like Murdoch, in helping to subjugate a minority and stop them from having a voice. Instead of us all embracing learning about culture, Indigenous culture is our culture, we are squabbling over our right to boo and trying to paint Goodes as a dickhead. That is utterly illogical. The more Adam gets booed, the more people play into the hands of the powers that be, and the less we progress forward as a society- and at the end of the day, the people not having a voice suits the establishment. Because then you will just go and vote liberal or labor and think you've done the right thing, when in fact you're just making your own life immeasurably harder.

Stop getting offended. Think about what other indigenous players are saying. This booing of Goodes is having a far reaching affect, and indigenous people around the league, in other codes, and in other fields, are telling you that it is more than booing, that it is a slight on them and their culture. If you choose to boo him knowing that, then yes, it does make you a bigot. Because despite the information you have been presented with, despite someone pleading with you that what you are doing robs them of their identity and their voice, despite you being told that booing is helping to keep indigenous people subjugated in a position of lesser power- you have completely ignored that and booed anyway- because you put some mythical right of yours to boo whoever you want, above the facts you are being presented with. Yes- if you choose to boo now knowing what you know- it makes you a bigot. It's your choice as to whether you become that or not.

Take into account what our own HFC boys are saying publicly, and not so privately. Listen. Learn. You know what- if we were invaded by an alien race and all made to live in detention centres, and then made to work for the aliens and live in their culture- you would not be happy. Then imagine if someone told you just to get over it, even though in doing so it meant that you had to accept being a lesser person in their eyes. It is possible to try to begin the process of understanding the pain of people who have been oppressed for so long, but you have to realise your own role within that system, which is to be complicit and say the way things are is ok. It is not ok. Children getting r*ped in detention is not ok. Abbott passing laws making it illegal to report that is not ok. Indigenous youths committing suicide is not ok. Taking Children from their parents when they have done nothing wrong is not ok. YOU FUKING WANT TO TALK TO ME ABOUT PROPAGANDA???? The lie of the system is that we blindly accept the conditions with which we live as long as we are ok. You have been so socially conditioned that you would rather boo Adam Goodes, than ask why we don't teach Indigenous history at every school in the country? Or why we take money out of education or health care? It is laughable that instead of choosing to help, you'd argue til your dying breath that it's ok to boo this guy now, despite everything presented to you- even the players who play for your club.

As to the war dance. How, in any way, is that making something about race? One race versus another... Why aren't you interested in learning about culture? That Dance was taught to him by the Flying Boomerangs, an u16 indigenous representative team who play in the div 3 national champs each year. Why don't you care about the fact that these kids taught goodes that dance, and he was paying tribute to them during INDIGENOUS ROUND. Further more, why don't you bother to investigate what these kids do before their games? Did you know that they perform their own war cry prior to games? Not unlike the Haka in terms of what it represents. Amazingly- everyone seems to love the Haka- is that because it is in New Zealand most of the time? Why are you so much more accepting of Maori culture, than Indigenous Australian culture? You're offended by someone expressing themself, and paying tribute to their indigenous brothers who happen to be 16yr old kids... it is just ludicrous. Not to mention a slap in the face to indigenous kids growing up around the country who would have LOVED seeing Adam recognise them in such a fashion. WHY DOESN'T THAT MATTER TO YOU? why do you won't to boo and piss on the dreams of a people who are just trying to be heard and find a voice? It's like turning around to a kid at a fun park and telling them their not allowed to smile again- it makes you a complete a-hole, doesn't it?

That isn't political. That is Adam's version of giving a high 5 to a kid in the crowd. You just can't see it that way because of your bias. I urge you to try and understand. I also urge everyone to try and understand it is not for you to tell Indigenous people what is and isn't racist. Just try and listen to someone, what they go through, start from that place.

Institutional and systemic racism must be dismantled and broken. Try and help.
Fantastic post mate very well said

Comments like yours & herd-instinct posters like you, are the real embarrassment.
What is your issue with people wanting the booing of Goodes to stop? What is your issue with people not liking the idea of booing football players in general?
I would suggest the herd mentality is the large group of people booing one person at footy matches, whether that be Goodes who is in the spotlight, Mitch who you like to point out as making Goodes fair game, Watson who Robbo wants protected or any other player from a club that the majority of the opposition don't like.
Maybe if we didn't boo Goodes the booing of Mitchell would stop.

Now I'm not suggesting that there would be no booing at footy matches or no booing of players just that crowds might go back to venting their displeasure at events from that match not perceived issues or grudges from previous matches.

Would that be so terrible? Are people that want that poor supporters because they want to celebrate the good in footy not the bad?

You are embarrassing.

It is depressing there are so many Hawthorn fans keen to continue doing something that is plainly offending indigenous people.

I haven't detected too many insisting that they will be booing AG or anybody else. Lets be clear about one thing....the act of booing in itself is not racist, offensive or divisive. But it can certainly be offensive when done inappropriately and with cruel intent.

While there are mutually exclusive discussions about this group or that group..as opposed to inclusive discussions....Australia will always have division as there are rules for this and laws for that because of the diversity in the community.

It is a nice cuddly idea..but it is really just another platitude to think that we can iron out all the social ills of this life. Having said that we still need to continue to strive to make things better for all Australians.

I do not condone the poor treatment of any human being. I take people as I find them...regardless of who they are and where they have come from.

As to the war dance. How, in any way, is that making something about race?
I agree with a lot of what you've said. I liked the dance, but it should not have been directed at the Carlton fans. It lead to some crowd violence and could have turned a lot uglier than it did.

A mate's daughter drove up to Sydney to watch the blues that night. The Carlton fans were mostly confined to a small area of the ground. The vast majority were Sydney supporters. She says there was no booing of Goodes at all during the game. The Swans were well ahead and the heat was out of the game.

She was in the group of less than a thousand that that Goodes aimed the dance at. As soon as he finished, feral Swans fans on each side of the Blues supporters began to taunt and shout abuse at them. Scuffles broke out and a few people were arrested and escorted from the ground by police. My mate's daughter was absolutely petrified. It was the most frightening thing she had experienced in over fifteen years of following her team.

I have never booed the guy and tend to feel uncomfortable whenever I hear it at any game, but that sort of stupidity doesn't deserve my respect.

As I said, I quite liked the dance at the time. But it was just plain stupid to aim it at the supporters.

I just threw up in my mouth a little bit at both of those statements tip rat was never poor, some would say he was an example of how being rich can change how you are treated by the legal system

Sorry..I should have used the sarcastic emoticon :rolleyes: I would never believe Milne was treated unfairly much like I do not believe Goodes is being treated unfairly either..

Roddy that is a fantastically articulate post.

What has stood out to me when people voice their opinion about this issue is that everyone who has an opinion thinks they are right from bigfooty scribes to Caro Wilson. It shows how incredibly complex the issue is. There is very little unity on views and whilst it is an open wound now Adam Goodes will ultimately move Australia forward on the issue which is great. Might take years and by the look of things will but we are all being forced to consider the issue and understand its complexities.

For me the bottom line is Goodes and others are offended. Time for it to stop. It is about respect. Show some and some class.

News just in.. Luke Bruest considering retirement. His whole football career he has been boo'ed. "I'm sick of being boo'ed everytime I go near it, I have had enough of the bullshit. Not once has anyone just cheered, they always boo."

Roddy that is a fantastically articulate post.

What has stood out to me when people voice their opinion about this issue is that everyone who has an opinion thinks they are right from bigfooty scribes to Caro Wilson. It shows how incredibly complex the issue is. There is very little unity on views and whilst it is an open wound now Adam Goodes will ultimately move Australia forward on the issue which is great. Might take years and by the look of things will but we are all being forced to consider the issue and understand its complexities.

For me the bottom line is Goodes and others are offended. Time for it to stop. It is about respect. Show some and some class.

When Adam apologises for calling us racists, I'll start to respect him.

Not for me. I have done nothing wrong. My conduct at the footy is fine thanks.
The biggest issue with have at the moment is we have a its all racist vs none of it is racist argument going on in the media and on this and other boards at the moment. People are over simplifying it or projecting their reasons or views on the whole situation.

I'm not suggesting your conduct is anything other than fine at the footy btw just that this whole issue is not as simple are people are making it.

News just in.. Luke Bruest considering retirement. His whole football career he has been boo'ed. "I'm sick of being boo'ed everytime I go near it, I have had enough of the bullshit. Not once has anyone just cheered, they always boo."
Wha what..... I thought he was getting Breusted not booed....silly me.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk