Mega Thread Adam Goodes starring in Lord of the Flies - The only place to post Goodes stuff - Read the OP

Sport and Politics don't mix. End of story. IMO there are no winners in this saga, and now a great (begrudging admiration to a player who is not in brown and gold), is contemplating walking away from the great game, that for three 3hrs every weekend, unites us as one. To Adam Goodes, I will not boo you the next time our sides meet, however if you snipe, duck, dive or do anything unsavoury to one of the Hawthorn team, I will call you out on that act, and bronx cheer you, just like I would any of the other twenty one players on your team if they did the same. At the end of the game, I will walk away win, loss or draw, with no ill will towards you, your fellow team mates and supporters.

What is your issue with people wanting the booing of Goodes to stop? What is your issue with people not liking the idea of booing football players in general?

Good Question.

Booing to me is an emotional form of self-expression, & last I checked it never hurt anyone. (Aside from Goodsey's feelings of course, which seem to be the ONLY thing that matters in the current state of our game, if you believe the sports journoso_O)

As a form of emotive disapproval, it is also commonly found to occur at sporting events. (Surprise, Surprise). It represents but one aspect of our freedom of expressions, which also extends to speaking our mind, letting our feelings out & showing them, breathing, choosing of our own free will.

These freedoms we're won & fought over by our ancestors, who thought that such things we're worth dying over to preserve for future generations.

If we allow a supposed free-society corporate conglomerate like the AFL to dictate to us over such freedom of expression, then where do we draw the line next?

This is about principles & values which are the corner-stones of our society....And wherever they are threatened we must identify & address them.

The saddest & most shocking aspect in all this, is that it is the very institution: The 4th estate, being the Press. (which is supposed to lie at the forefront of both championing & defending the right of free expression) which is both supporting & pushing this most disturbing campaign.

And the fact that so many people have allowed themselves to be swept up in this 'madness' under the guise of supposedly fighting 'racism' is truly shocking.

I agree with a lot of what you've said. I liked the dance, but it should not have been directed at the Carlton fans. It lead to some crowd violence and could have turned a lot uglier than it did.

A mate's daughter drove up to Sydney to watch the blues that night. The Carlton fans were mostly confined to a small area of the ground. The vast majority were Sydney supporters. She says there was no booing of Goodes at all during the game. The Swans were well ahead and the heat was out of the game.

She was in the group of less than a thousand that that Goodes aimed the dance at. As soon as he finished, feral Swans fans on each side of the Blues supporters began to taunt and shout abuse at them. Scuffles broke out and a few people were arrested and escorted from the ground by police. My mate's daughter was absolutely petrified. It was the most frightening thing she had experienced in over fifteen years of following her team.

I have never booed the guy and tend to feel uncomfortable whenever I hear it at any game, but that sort of stupidity doesn't deserve my respect.

As I said, I quite liked the dance at the time. But it was just plain stupid to aim it at the supporters.
Agree. The Flying Bommerang's war cry (like the Haka) is not directed at spectators, rather at the opposing team prior to the start of a game.

Yes....a major difference.

Glad the Hawks boys let their footy do the talking.

Look out Tiggers....we are coming for you.....oops wrong thread.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

I agree with a lot of what you've said. I liked the dance, but it should not have been directed at the Carlton fans. It lead to some crowd violence and could have turned a lot uglier than it did.

A mate's daughter drove up to Sydney to watch the blues that night. The Carlton fans were mostly confined to a small area of the ground. The vast majority were Sydney supporters. She says there was no booing of Goodes at all during the game. The Swans were well ahead and the heat was out of the game.

She was in the group of less than a thousand that we'd that Goodes aimed the dance at. As soon as he finished, feral Swans fans on each side of the Blues supporters began to taunt and shout abuse at them. Scuffles broke out and a few people were arrested and escorted from the ground by police. My mate's daughter was absolutely petrified. It was the most frightening thing she had experienced in over fifteen years of following her team.

I have never booed the guy and tend to feel uncomfortable whenever I hear it at any game, but that sort of stupidity doesn't deserve my respect.

As I said, I quite liked the dance at the time. But it was just plain stupid to aim it at the supporters.

Sorry, but that says more about the supporters than it does about goodes directing something at the crowd (over the other side of a boundary).

I live in Sydney, and i have been to many swans games- crowd behaviour like that is par for the course. Anyone who has been to a game in Sydney would know it is one of the more unpleasant experiences as a fan. It is in no way incited by a single player. It's ludicrous to suggest as much. You are putting a condition on this form of self expression which was a tribute, and something to be embraced. You don't have the right to do that. Just let him do it and appreciate it and anyone who wants to act like a clown afterwards- well call them to account for being fukwits.

Had we all had more education and connection to the true history of our indigenous people, this may not have been as big a surprise for people as it seems to have been. Perhaps you could direct some of your passion towards asking our minister for indigenous affairs why we don't know more about indigenous people, instead of placing a condition on his celebration.

He did not incite people to that behaviour, that behavior is inherent in people who think football is the place to fight and be aggressive. It isn't.

For me the bottom line is Goodes and others are offended. Time for it to stop. It is about respect. Show some and some class.
I agree that it's time to stop. It is offensive.

But one of the reasons this issue has gone on so long is that the booing of Goodes is not the only offensive thing happening. Many fans are offended because they believe they are being wrongly labelled as racists by various commentators.

Good Question.

Booing to me is an emotional form of self-expression, & last I checked it never hurt anyone. (Aside from Goodsey's feelings of course, which seem to be the ONLY thing that matters in the current state of our game, if you believe the sports journoso_O)

Yes booing can be an emotional form of self-expression it can also be the baa of a sheep, it can be angry, sad, playful and spiteful

Obviously you haven't checked recently because at least one person has said this is hurting me and I'm sure plenty of others haven't based on our toughen up princess culture in the country

These freedoms we're won & fought over by our ancestors, who thought that such things we're worth dying over to preserve for future generations.

If we allow a supposed free-society corporate conglomerate like the AFL to dictate to us over such freedom of expression, then where do we draw the line next?

This is about principles & values which are the corner-stones of our society....And wherever they are threatened we must identify & address them.
Who is grandstanding and pushing propaganda now, booing is a cornerstone of our society? We do not have a constitutional right to free speech in this country either, you can debate the worth of that but our constitution is very outdated and not particularly fair or liberal and I wouldn't be expecting either major political party to be doing anything about that anytime soon

The saddest & most shocking aspect in all this, is that it is the very institution: The 4th estate, being the Press. (which is supposed to lie at the forefront of both championing & defending the right of free expression) which is both supporting & pushing this most disturbing campaign.

And the fact that so many people have allowed themselves to be swept up in this 'madness' under the guise of supposedly fighting 'racism' is truly shocking.
I would say the saddest thing in all of this is the number of people who think that the feelings of the person they boo shouldn't matter, that people who play sport shouldn't have views on the world outside of their sport. That it is more righteous to bully someone they were asked not to than consider the either the feelings of that person or the message their actions send to the players of the club they claim to support and other members of the community including children.

Take politics, the media, race, Goodes himself, all of the excuses you and others are using here and answer this question.

Would you want a Hawthorn player, any Hawthorn player to be subjected to this sort of extended campaign of disapproval and aggression from a large number of supporters every week? Would you want a friend or family member to be harassed at work or school for standing up for something they believe in however poorly they deliver that message?

Do you think that people should keep there mouths shut when they feel hurt or have been abused? Do you think someone talking crap deserves to be put in hospital by someone who doesn't agree with what they said?

I live in Sydney, and i have been to many swans games- crowd behaviour like that is par for the course.
I have no doubt. And many of those feral Swans fans were reacting to Goodes when they started abusing and directing violence at the Carlton fans. Goodes was stupid to direct the dance at them.

Good Question.

As a form of emotive disapproval, it is also commonly found to occur at sporting events. (Surprise, Surprise). It represents but one aspect of our freedom of expressions, which also extends to speaking our mind, letting our feelings out & showing them, breathing, choosing of our own free will.

OK, I understand you think that the media are responsible for beating this up, but to say that booing Adam Goodes doesn't hurt anyone is a bit of a stretch. Your idea that not being able to boo Adam Goodes is limiting freedom of expression is stoopid...I don't feel that not walking around Berlin doing a Nazi salute is restricting my freedom, I think it's common sense because it will offend some people. You don't need to behave like that; even if your intention isn't racist, if the person on the receiving end feels it is; then why not do the decent thing and not do it?!

Take right or wrong out of it and look at it from the perspective of whether it is constructive for the game or not?

I agree that the media are surely going to morph this into something stupid by virtue of some player doing something dumb and getting booed in the heat of the match, as opposed to a coordinated approach as it is for AG.

11825689_10207082780609594_8633543785328974513_n.jpg

Warren Drew
making his way onto that perfectly manicured stadium lawn, I suggest he take a deep, slow breath and reflect upon the reality of his life. Rather than having to emerge from the sheds for the ‘coloured people’, kept separate from the white folks playing beside him, he will run out after being supported by his entire team, not kept to the back. When he is thirsty, he doesn’t have to take a drink at the appropriately labelled drinking fountain, set aside for only folks with his racial identity, but rather will be served like a prince, with a special servant whose only job is to provide refreshments for the thirsty players, regardless of their skin colour or heritage. As he drives his brand new sports car to training, where he looks around at the other players arriving in their equally expensive vehicles and stops to realise he is paid just as much as them, if not more, he should perhaps pause a moment and wonder about whether he is fighting a war that has already been won, and instead of complaining from his position at the top, realise how those on the bottom rungs might be sick of hearing him whinging and would much rather he just got on with life."

As the media constantly remind us - footy is entertainment. Booing the villain when they play that role, is part of audience participation. Booing incessantly, without reason - is bullying. It shouldn't be tolerated.
But before Swans supporters get too high and mighty, they should have a look at their behaviour at the conclusion of their round 5 game against the Bulldogs. Fantastic game, brilliant win by the Dogs against the odds, "best ever" according to Bob Murphy in the post-match, but when the siren went, what did Swans fans do? Check it out.

I agree that it's time to stop. It is offensive.

But one of the reasons this issue has gone on so long is that the booing of Goodes is not the only offensive thing happening. Many fans are offended because they believe they are being wrongly labelled as racists by various commentators.
Agree mate. So many complexities a lot of media voices think it is straight forward but far from.

The other thing for me is the rise of A League and the culture of booing there which has.come.from overseas.

Regardless of any justification any individual may give for booing Goodes, agreeing with the booing, understanding the booing etc etc All of this is occurring in the week after some redneck bozo shouted "get back to the zoo" and was ejected from the arena and still does not understand that this is wrong :confused:

Racism, whether it is the motivation for the booing or not, is alive and well and cannot be denied.
There are clearly plenty whom think it without yelling it out as they were apparently on hand to give a hard time to the "dobber' of the person who made the zoo comment.

Bottom line at the moment is that the booing of Goodes is buying into the racism of others and breeding it further.

If you are a Hawk fan whom thinks its ok please note that the club doesn't.
Note that the club and all of its fans are painted in a bad light when you do it.
Note that you are personally hurting our indigenous players when you do - whether you mean to or not.

We have had plenty of players over the years commit far dirtier acts over the years than Goodes has committed against our players.
Time to move on.

Umpires have been booed from year dot. They will be booed whether they be white, green or beige. They are maggots, their colour is irrelevant. While I don't tend to boo at the footy, I am tempted whenever Goodes takes the field. It has nothing to do with colour (white, green, beige, whatever... ), it has everything to do with his boots-first tackling style, his knee drops, his fakery, his holier-than-thou attitude. He gets my usually well-behaved goat. It is that simple, really.
Umpires get booed when they make a bad decision or make a decision that is disagreed with by parochial fans.
They, as individuals, don't get booed every time they touch the ball week in week out by fans of every team.

Your idea that not being able to boo Adam Goodes is limiting freedom of expression is stoopid...I don't feel that not walking around Berlin doing a Nazi salute is restricting my freedom, I think it's common sense because it will offend some people.
Not trying to pick an argument, but the Nazi Salute and booing can't be in the same universe.

The Nazi Salute was one part to signify nationalist Germans from German Jews who were racially discriminated and ultimately worse (along with wearing the sawstika and making Jews wear the Star of David sewn to their clothes). It's then been adopted by other far right wing parties, again, as a sign of intolerence against Jews, Blacks, Asians, Middle Easterns etc, in recent times.

It has only ever had one meaning.

Booing is a sign of disapproval used for centuries back in the Roman Colosseums in gladiatorial days, through to theater performances when not up to scratch, in parliaments through history to show disagreement on political argument, through to the sports field when supporters disagreed with umpiring decisions or disapproved of a player's conduct.

I'm not arguing the 'to boo or not to boo' point, everyone would know my opinion on that now, but sorry, Booing and the Nazi salute = not even close.

Not trying to pick an argument, but the Nazi Salute and booing can't be in the same universe.

The Nazi Salute was one part to signify nationalist Germans from German Jews who were racially discriminated and ultimately worse (along with wearing the sawstika and making Jews wear the Star of David sewn to their clothes). It's then been adopted by other far right wing parties, again, as a sign of intolerence against Jews, Blacks, Asians, Middle Easterns etc, in recent times.

It has only ever had one meaning.

Booing is a sign of disapproval used for centuries back in the Roman Colosseums in gladiatorial days, through to theater performances when not up to scratch, in parliaments through history to show disagreement on political argument, through to the sports field when supporters disagreed with umpiring decisions or disapproved of a player's conduct.

I'm not arguing the 'to boo or not to boo' point, everyone would know my opinion on that now, but sorry, Booing and the Nazi salute = not even close.
You're off topic.

I think it's unfair to equate Gladitorial battles of life and limb to a modern day sporting spectacle...

Let's agree that anyone who didn't boo Nazi's should be put into a cage match with a young Cecil the lion and mauled to death, even if they didn't boo because they were worried Goodes thought it was racist.:p;)

As the media constantly remind us - footy is entertainment. Booing the villain when they play that role, is part of audience participation. Booing incessantly, without reason - is bullying. It shouldn't be tolerated.
But before Swans supporters get too high and mighty, they should have a look at their behaviour at the conclusion of their round 5 game against the Bulldogs. Fantastic game, brilliant win by the Dogs against the odds, "best ever" according to Bob Murphy in the post-match, but when the siren went, what did Swans fans do? Check it out.
Yep....double standards all around from some.
In particular some of the ones making the most noise in this whole debate.
I dont believe that the responsibility for this situation getting way out of hand lies with just one party.....as in the people doing the booing. It is a bit more complicated than that and there is more than 1 "party" that have contributed to the "issue" getting bigger than ben hur.

People are just being stubborn now, it doesn't really matter anymore what it started as, Goodes and a large segment of the population are now perceiving it as being racially driven so the way i see it that should really be the end of it. It doesnt matter the supposed part the AFL, media or government played in it anymore.

Its a shame it had to come to this for people to stop (at least I think it will stop) rather than people weighing up whether our right to do what we want at the footy out weighs swallowing our pride and making a small gesture to the Aboriginal community and recognising the enormity of what was done to their culture and ancestors.

Its a very sensitive issue and compromises need to be made from all angles to really affect any change and i reckon this is one of those times the compromise is worth being made.

And rapists
And what of this invader shit.

Does he want all of Australia for himself and his people?

A very divisive statement and inflammatory to say the least.

I shudder when I see someone in a position of privilege and responsibility and they start grinding their axe.

Never going to end well.