Mega Thread Adam Goodes starring in Lord of the Flies - The only place to post Goodes stuff - Read the OP

I'm asking is booing the best way to communicate that you don't like how he dealt with the issue with the 13 year old girl? A yes or no will do.
If that is what you are asking, then you have unjustly zeroed in on a single point in his post. He was saying a lot more than what you have seemed to have understood.

This whole issue is about whether he should be booed or not isn't it? If people are critiquing the way he dealt with the 13 year old girl is it not reasonable to ask the question I asked given that the thread is about him being booed?

It is not reasonable to focus on that single event as the reason for booing him.

I have watched this thread with anger, disappointment and now despair, growing up with aboriginal family i like to think i have a reasonable grasp of the issue at hand. To me Adam Goodes is just another footballer capable of making a dick of himself like any other, but he voices a message many don't want to hear because in the backs of their minds they fear he may well be right.
Boo him by all means when he snipes or plays up but not from siren to siren simply because he is there in front of you and exists as a person with a different voice and you don't like what he has to say.

Go **** yourselves.

Wow, you seem pretty extreme. Tell yourself whatever u like.
Ok.

The only point I was exploring was whether booing was the best way for a person to communicate that someone thinks Goodes should challenge racism in different ways from how he has been challenging racism. If that makes me extreme you need to get out more often o_O

Your post was looking into whether he went too far with the 13 year old girl and perhaps was insensitive to the attention she received at a young age (a point I don't necessarily have an issue with). I even think Goodes was a little ambivalent about it later stressing that people should respect her and understand that she was young and that she had called him to apologise etc.

Your post then directly referenced booing at the end.

My question is about whether a mass of booing is the best way to communicate ones dissatisfaction with him on this issue. This doesn't mean EVERYONE is booing for this reason

I don't know why you're taking it personally. Your and Arupists's reactions are overly defensive and a bit weird tbh

Ok.

The only point I was exploring was whether booing was the best way for a person to communicate that someone thinks Goodes should challenge racism in different ways from how he has been challenging racism. If that makes me extreme you need to get out more often o_O

Your post was looking into whether he went too far with the 13 year old girl and perhaps was insensitive to the attention she received at a young age (a point I don't necessarily have an issue with). I even think Goodes was a little ambivalent about it later stressing that people should respect her and understand that she was young and that she had called him to apologise etc.

Your post then directly referenced booing at the end.

My question is about whether a mass of booing is the best way to communicate ones dissatisfaction with him on this issue. This doesn't mean EVERYONE is booing for this reason

I don't know why you're taking it personally. Your and Arupists's reactions are overly defensive and a bit weird tbh

I am not being defensive about anything. I have not made any comment regarding whether or not Goodes should be booed, for whatever reason.

What I have done is take you to task for trying to elicit some sort of position on racism by focussing on a singular statement made in a post that covers a whole lot more.

If you want a specific answer, then ask the right question.

I am not being defensive about anything. I have not made any comment regarding whether or not Goodes should be booed, for whatever reason.

What I have done is take you to task for trying to elicit some sort of position on racism by focussing on a singular statement made in a post that covers a whole lot more.

If you want a specific answer, then ask the right question.
You're the one misunderstanding then mate. I'm not trying to elicit a position on racism. I'm asking about ones method of communicating what might otherwise be a valid point. There are even some Indigenous people who have questioned Goodes handling of Indigenous issues. My question is about whether booing is an effective way of delivering political commentary.

Honestly, is his thread still going FFS!

Give it a rest, Goodes is a FLOG, simple as that...I used to enjoy watching him play and have found that as he has aged, he has decided to stage for kicks, tripping/dirt against other players and being a general all-round flog on the footy field.

whatever the reasons are that people may 'boo' him, the above certainly does squat to endear him to the masses...

take your sh8t out of your footy 'Pea Brain' and perhaps all this angst would abate quicker than the way he falls via a fly swat on the footy field...

I have watched this thread with anger, disappointment and now despair, growing up with aboriginal family i like to think i have a reasonable grasp of the issue at hand. To me Adam Goodes is just another footballer capable of making a dick of himself like any other, but he voices a message many don't want to hear because in the backs of their minds they fear he may well be right.
Boo him by all means when he snipes or plays up but not from siren to siren simply because he is there in front of you and exists as a person with a different voice and you don't like what he has to say.

Go **** yourselves.
Well said!

I've posted something similar to this before, but here goes again.

If you do something and don't mean it to be racist, but other people do that exact same thing and do mean it to be racist, and the person on the receiving end can't tell one from the other, don't do that thing.

Simples.

Honestly, is his thread still going FFS!

Give it a rest, Goodes is a FLOG, simple as that...I used to enjoy watching him play and have found that as he has aged, he has decided to stage for kicks, tripping/dirt against other players and being a general all-round flog on the footy field.

whatever the reasons are that people may 'boo' him, the above certainly does squat to endear him to the masses...

take your sh8t out of your footy 'Pea Brain' and perhaps all this angst would abate quicker than the way he falls via a fly swat on the footy field...

Well said. Early in his career, I used to admire him, the same as I did Hird, early in his career. But as Kip says, Goodes became obsessed with staging, and became a sniper as time went by. If I still went to the footy, there are some players to whom I would show I don't like the way they play. How would I do that?

In the usual way.

Fork the politically correct, bum kissing media person/people who suggested that booing an indigenous sportsperson is racist.

As has already been said....I would suggest that the "media person" with this mentality is possibly the most racist having such an "exclusive" and irrational mindset in making such a ridiculous statement in the first place.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Well said!

I've posted something similar to this before, but here goes again.

If you do something and don't mean it to be racist, but other people do that exact same thing and do mean it to be racist, and the person on the receiving end can't tell one from the other, don't do that thing.

Simples.
THAT is racist.

You just said it is OK to boo white people but not OK to boo black people.

Because I pretty sure no white person has ever thought "I wonder if they are booing me for the colour of my skin"

Booing in and of itself should stop. It has nothing to do with the bullshit latent racists hanging around trying to protect the feelings of anyone.

Race is always was irrelevant to this debate until some media moron thought it might have been.

How stupid are people? No one else of any race gets booed regardless of any stance they may or may not make. So a person gets booed and they have a particular concentration of melanocytes in their epithelium, unless everyone else gets boooed under the same conditions the result is an experimental outlier.

Stop it. All of you. This is NOT a race issue.

THAT is racist.

You just said it is OK to boo white people but not OK to boo black people.

Because I pretty sure no white person has ever thought "I wonder if they are booing me for the colour of my skin"

Booing in and of itself should stop. It has nothing to do with the bullshit latent racists hanging around trying to protect the feelings of anyone.

Race is always was irrelevant to this debate until some media moron thought it might have been.

How stupid are people? No one else of any race gets booed regardless of any stance they may or may not make. So a person gets booed and they have a particular concentration of melanocytes in their epithelium, unless everyone else gets boooed under the same conditions the result is an experimental outlier.

Stop it. All of you. This is NOT a race issue.
How did this poster in ANY way say what you apparently read

You're the one misunderstanding then mate. I'm not trying to elicit a position on racism. I'm asking about ones method of communicating what might otherwise be a valid point. There are even some Indigenous people who have questioned Goodes handling of Indigenous issues. My question is about whether booing is an effective way of delivering political commentary.

What has it got to do with political commentary. It is a game of football. If people are booing his politics on a football field that would be just weird.

But some are. You been listening to any talk back or gone on the main board? Some are booing for "footy reasons" and some aren't. Fact

Well lets keep booing and get politics out of footy. Booing has always been part of the game, unlike overt politics.