Mega Thread Adam Goodes starring in Lord of the Flies - The only place to post Goodes stuff - Read the OP

The dumbest thing about booing Adam Goodes is claiming you boo him because he is an attention seeking sook, yet you give him attention :confused:
My favourite is people who boo him because he throws imaginary spears which is not a good way to bring attention to Indigenous issues. So of course a whole bunch of guys booing a black bloke gets this sophisticated racial dialogue right back on track (yes I know everyone isn't booing him for this reason).

I remember a player by the name of Gary Sidebottom who played for Swan Districts in the WAFL (he may of played at the Saints?) anyway he was booed constantly his whole career and I certainly remember him having cans thrown at him when he exited the field many times.

He was Anglo-Saxon and a dirty thug, my point is, you could just imagine how something of that nature would go down nowadays and I always remember Gary putting his finger up in defiance as he was being pelted with cans....I am not a booer, but for the flipping life of me, people need to stop wasting time on this bs and let it pass, if he gets booed, who gives a rats, the FLOG should have enough intestinal fortitude to let it wash over him and consider his on-field actions are a direct result of the crowds feeling towards him..

Yeah maybe 1% of the booers? but the reality is that his on-field actions have resulted in people booing him...
Do you think that the booing intensified and increased after either the spear throwing incident, his Australia Day Speech or the 13 year old girl? I reckon the spear throwing incident certainly pushed it up.

I've said this for a while - people forget this guy has played for years and has dealt with booing probably for a long time.

Did the booing get far more full on this year NOTICEABLY?

Do you think that the booing intensified and increased after either the spear throwing incident, his Australia Day Speech or the 13 year old girl? I reckon the spear throwing incident certainly pushed it up.

I've said this for a while - people forget this guy has played for years and has dealt with booing probably for a long time.

It did, but only because everyone in the media was talking about it and condemning it which was like waving a red flag at a bull.

Everyone made up their mind about Goodes a long time ago. It is just what happens, same with Ballantine, Milne, Tredrae, Cornes, Akermanis or any number of other maligned players.

And everything Goodes has done since has just confirmed peoples views. Just like Akermanis flogging it up at the dogs confirmed peoples view about him.

And the more people are told they have to like him, the more they will react with the opposite.

There has been way too much dialogue. This would have been over a long time ago without that dialogue.

It did, but only because everyone in the media was talking about it and condemning it which was like waving a red flag at a bull.

Everyone made up their mind about Goodes a long time ago. It is just what happens, same with Ballantine, Milne, Tredrae, Cornes, Akermanis or any number of other maligned players.

And everything Goodes has done since has just confirmed peoples views. Just like Akermanis flogging it up at the dogs confirmed peoples view about him.

And the more people are told they have to like him, the more they will react with the opposite.

There has been way too much dialogue. This would have been over a long time ago without that dialogue.
How come when people talk about "the media" they don't mention the right wing media's role in this? Surely it's not just the "media who condemned it" who are to blame.

I've always said that it was wrong for anyone in the media to say that everyone that booed was racist and probably caused this to get worse. It was always more complex than this

Right wing media players have pounced on this to prop up their "freedom of speech" arguments about questioning Indigenous rights etc. Like I said the main board was chock full of proto fascist racist crap. Shock jocks have loved this issue as much as "the politically correct" media at Fairfax etc

Well, I have seen him live limited times....and personally, none of those incidents effected me, I mean he called the girl out...big deal, anything to highlight racism is a good thing (I feel sorry for the girl but there is a lesson for many right there). I personally think nether of those incidents but that is my view, as it is vexed.

earlier in his career, I can't remember him being booed as his on-field actions were the ball...

Maybe? is it just a culmination of one's own perceptions combined over time?

How come when people talk about "the media" they don't mention the right wing media's role in this? Surely it's not just the "media who condemned it" who are to blame.

I've always said that it was wrong for anyone in the media to say that everyone that booed was racist and probably caused this to get worse. It was always more complex than this

Right wing media players have pounced on this to prop up their "freedom of speech" arguments about questioning Indigenous rights etc. Like I said the main board was chock full of proto fascist racist crap. Shock jocks have loved this issue as much as "the politically correct" media at Fairfax etc

No one pays any attention to Alan Jones or the Bolt report except Dawn Fraser.

The AFL talking about it and the footy media asking Goodes about it, etc. gave the shock jocks the oxygen to run with it.

Still no one can even say why the booing is happening. Yes there are some racists, lots of sheeple, some people who just hate the AFL, people who are probably just bored at the footy, people who just don't like him, people who might genuinely believe he is a sniper or protected and so on. I would say half the people booing have no idea why they are.

But if you want it to go away don't give it oxygen. The most expansive comment by the AFL should have been "we don't know why it is happening but it is all a bit silly, so how about those hawks hey". Tell their complicit footy media to drop it and the thing would have been over in a day.

Instead they keep giving it oxygen. It is dumbfounding.

THAT is racist.

You just said it is OK to boo white people but not OK to boo black people.

Because I pretty sure no white person has ever thought "I wonder if they are booing me for the colour of my skin"

Booing in and of itself should stop. It has nothing to do with the bullshit latent racists hanging around trying to protect the feelings of anyone.

Race is always was irrelevant to this debate until some media moron thought it might have been.

How stupid are people? No one else of any race gets booed regardless of any stance they may or may not make. So a person gets booed and they have a particular concentration of melanocytes in their epithelium, unless everyone else gets boooed under the same conditions the result is an experimental outlier.

Stop it. All of you. This is NOT a race issue.

Even if the booing intensified after the spearing incident, it still doesn't mean that it's racially motivated. It may have just increased the flog view that they already had of him

Undoubtedly.

Hasnt done himself any favours.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

I love how the definition of a shock jock on this forum seems to be anyone that's not from Fairfax or the ABC. There are times where reading a thread on bigfooty would make you think you had accidentally logged on to some sort of bleeding heart leftie forum devoted to the spread of PC ideology for all. Seems that the ones that are quickest to scream Racist are the biggest bigots of all. They have no tolerance for any opinion other than their own and are quick to judge the motives of others in order to feel good about themselves and dictate how we should all behave. And that, in a nutshell, is what I hate about this booing business. It has gone way beyond Adam Goodes and has become a slanging match between holier than thou media types, self righteous forum members and talk back radio callers and those who are accused of being something they are not.

This is where Australian society is at now. An ever growing segment of professional offence takers just looking for a reason to be offend and throw around labels and accusations, ably aided by left wing propaganda outlets like the ABC And Fairfax. No doubt there are racists booing Goodes at the footy which is shameful, but guess what? The majority of society is not racist and doesn't need to have this stuff shoved down their throats day after day.

I love how the definition of a shock jock on this forum seems to be anyone that's not from Fairfax or the ABC. There are times where reading a thread on bigfooty would make you think you had accidentally logged on to some sort of bleeding heart leftie forum devoted to the spread of PC ideology for all. Seems that the ones that are quickest to scream Racist are the biggest bigots of all. They have no tolerance for any opinion other than their own and are quick to judge the motives of others in order to feel good about themselves and dictate how we should all behave. And that, in a nutshell, is what I hate about this booing business. It has gone way beyond Adam Goodes and has become a slanging match between holier than thou media types, self righteous forum members and talk back radio callers and those who are accused of being something they are not.

This is where Australian society is at now. An ever growing segment of professional offence takers just looking for a reason to be offend and throw around labels and accusations, ably aided by left wing propaganda outlets like the ABC And Fairfax. No doubt there are racists booing Goodes at the footy which is shameful, but guess what? The majority of society is not racist and doesn't need to have this stuff shoved down their throats day after day.
So have you listened to Alan Jones and talk back callers on this issue? Is it possible both sides of politics have exploited this issue? What's wrong with drawing attention to it?

Maybe the issue lies with you - Fairfax and the ABC is biased and everything else is neutral ?

I don't like debate being closed down. But some people just don't like being challenged for what they think.

I think that's a bit...weak.

Undoubtedly.

Hasnt done himself any favours.

But that's my point. Goodes was doing something political on the football ground I'm not saying it was the right thing to do or even the best way to do it but he was. If the booing increased after that it has a political dimension - "I don't like how he aggressively shoves his politics down my throat etc". I think Echols was right in very early posts in saying he is an unfortunate spokesperson for the cause as some people already didn't like him.

This forum (bigfooty) is a better place to voice stuff about Goodes than some ambiguous unaccountable sea of weak booing.

My favourite is people who boo him because he throws imaginary spears which is not a good way to bring attention to Indigenous issues. So of course a whole bunch of guys booing a black bloke gets this sophisticated racial dialogue right back on track (yes I know everyone isn't booing him for this reason).

You are bringing racial politics into it again. I am 100% sure most people go to the footy to watch the game not be immersed in racial dialogue (whether that involves made up war dances, invisible spear throwing or booing) which Adam does not seem to understand either.

This.

Footy is footy.

Leave your racial and political bents/bias at home and go and enjoy what is an Australian icon......Aussie Rules Football.

One of the best team sport spectacles you can possibly see anywhere in the world.

Things I can't understand.

We can't boo Adam.
We can boo Buddy.
Port supporters can boo Burgers.

The AFL will probably explain that Bud and Bugers get booed because they changed clubs. Then. why don't we boo Ellis, Kennedy and Mc Glynn? They all changed clubs, but we don't boo them?

I believe we boo individuals because of their integrity, not the colour of their skin. However, what I think is irrelevant, I am not a minority, nor do I belong to a minority group, just an average Aussie who has followed footy for more years than I can remember. I used to boo Mopsey Fraser, and Ray Poulter when they played.:confused:

THAT is racist.

You just said it is OK to boo white people but not OK to boo black people.

Because I pretty sure no white person has ever thought "I wonder if they are booing me for the colour of my skin"

Booing in and of itself should stop. It has nothing to do with the bullshit latent racists hanging around trying to protect the feelings of anyone.

Race is always was irrelevant to this debate until some media moron thought it might have been.

How stupid are people? No one else of any race gets booed regardless of any stance they may or may not make. So a person gets booed and they have a particular concentration of melanocytes in their epithelium, unless everyone else gets boooed under the same conditions the result is an experimental outlier.

Stop it. All of you. This is NOT a race issue.
Can you let me know how what I said was racist? I'm a wee bit confused...You don't per chance think that diversity is an old, old wooden ship, do you?

This thread makes for interesting reading in light of the final quarter doco.
I’m watching the last quarter and it absolute lefty identity politics crap.

Ps. I like Adam Goodes and I don’t think I ever booed him. I don’t boo anyone.

Pps. It always shitted me that some saw that racism was the only reason people booed Goodes. Popular media, and Communist AFL, looked for logical reasons other than racism as to why he was booed. They never factored in that he was a champion. Some champions, particularly those who seek public attention (Ablett, Hodge, Mitchell, Sicillt) get booed. There is no logical reason for it. Given - some did boo because racism. Hence it should have stopped however the doco’s treatment of the booing is intellectually bereft lefty bull twadle. Repeat the dock is absolute crap

Pps. It always s**tted me that some saw that racism was the only reason people booed Goodes. Popular media, and Communist AFL, looked for logical reasons other than racism as to why he was booed. They never factored in that he was a champion. Some champions, particularly those who seek public attention (Ablett, Hodge, Mitchell, Sicillt) get booed. There is no logical reason for it. Given - some did boo because racism. Hence it should have stopped however the doco’s treatment of the booing is intellectually bereft lefty bull twadle. Repeat the dock is absolute crap
Why bring up left or right? Acknowledge there is a clear problem in Australia

Pps. It always s**tted me that some saw that racism was the only reason people booed Goodes. Popular media, and Communist AFL, looked for logical reasons other than racism as to why he was booed. They never factored in that he was a champion. Some champions, particularly those who seek public attention (Ablett, Hodge, Mitchell, Sicillt) get booed. There is no logical reason for it. Given - some did boo because racism. Hence it should have stopped however the doco’s treatment of the booing is intellectually bereft lefty bull twadle. Repeat the dock is absolute crap
That's the problem I have with everyone saying that the booing was racist. No doubt there were a fair few that booed due to racism but I think it's discounting the amount of people who booed him because he was a flog on the field.

I am absolutely not a fan of Adam Goodes though I thought his calling out of the girl was fantastic & rightly he should have. But I couldn't stand him before that & the whole Australian Of The Year (which wasn't his fault) just added to other people disliking him.

That's the problem I have with everyone saying that the booing was racist. No doubt there were a fair few that booed due to racism but I think it's discounting the amount of people who booed him because he was a flog on the field.

I am absolutely not a fan of Adam Goodes though I thought his calling out of the girl was fantastic & rightly he should have. But I couldn't stand him before that & the whole Australian Of The Year (which wasn't his fault) just added to other people disliking him.

Why on earth would him being named Australian of the year result in people disliking him

Why bring up left or right? Acknowledge there is a clear problem in Australia
Because that’s where the left has gone. Instead of supporting the worker they look to label and then react to perceived Victims. How patronizing is it that I must acknowledge there is a clear problem in Australia? Must I? Is that your commandment?

What if I hold a different view. Does that make me evil or bad? And how do you know I don’t hold your view.

Classic lefty shut down attempt. You must agree with me or you’re out.

Pravda lives on.

Peace and love and say no to racism.

Oresar